We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great idea with toddlers 3-6yrs...”

Sugarlands Valley Nature Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cumberland, Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great idea with toddlers 3-6yrs...”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Near the end of Gatlinburg, there is a parking area with a few spots you can leave your car (its near where the old N.O.C. was), there is a trolley stop right near there too. We take this trail with our young kids to the Sugarlands Visitor Center and explore. If they areup for it, we head back to our car on the trail, but if it rains or they are fatigued, we ride the trolley from the visitor center back to our car! Its perfect for the unpredictableness of kiddos, shaded, and has a place to skip rocks, and kids feel like they've done a cool trail!!Watch out for bee hives though, we were warned by others of these and saw two, but had no problems. There is also a kids badge available at the visitor center for purchase, my kids are earning trail badges so this was a nice addition to the collection.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TreehouseTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
295 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“What Made this Extraordinary was Ranger Brad”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We took a Ranger guided tour for "Jr. Rangers" and it was a highlight of our trip. Brad was an historian and knew the Sugarlands area well. He has been a ranger for 15 years and talked to some of the children of the original farmers in the area. Obviously after the National Park was formed the people had to evacuate. He showed the kids signs of prior human habitation. And did it a remarkably interesting way. He even took us into a log cabin and talked about what life was like and how many people lived there. He showed us where the dividing marker was between two farmers' property, a Sycamore tree stump! Where the original bridge in the community was first built and the Cataract Falls.

The Ranger talk was on Sunday at 10:00 am and was called, "Become a History Detective." You would really enjoy this whether you had small children or not! It's available through August 11th.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“FLAT trail!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This trail is on 441 south of Sugarlands (I originally thought it was on River Rd to the west). The trail is flat and paved (wide). It would be perfect for a stroller or wheelchair (most trails are not suitable at all). This was a nice ending for all our travels in the Smokies. It would also be a nice starter. We spent maybe a half hour here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TampaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easy but Fairly Boring”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This trail is pretty easy to walk, but doesn't have that much to it. There is an interactive pamphlet that goes with the tour, and it did have some interesting information. The trail is bordered by the road most of the way though, and you never really feel like you are submerged into the woods. This isn't a particularly pretty trail either. There are much, much better trails around the area, and I wouldn't recommend doing this one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robin818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
511 reviews
247 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Nice & Easy”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

In all our trips to the Smokies we had never stopped here. So, this trip we were doing alot of hiking and thought "why not stop and check it out". I was glad we did. It's a very nice & easy hike. My husband & I were discussing how great it was to have a nice trail for strollers or handicapped. As we were leaving the trail, two ladies were starting the trail. One in a motorized chair and one with a walker. Did my heart good knowing they could enjoy the beauty offered the same as we could!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank judy177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarlands Valley Nature Trail also viewed

Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 

Been to Sugarlands Valley Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing