We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Picnic area

This is our favorite picnic area. Big rocks to climb on I’m the creek. Bring extra shoes because... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sunshine612992
,
Louisville, Kentucky
Quiet getaway

After dealing with the Gatlinburg crowds, and summer heat, this was a paradise found. Beautiful... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
thomasmason634
,
Campobello, South Carolina
Read all 303 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Great Smoky Mountains National Park
from $196.45
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
from $80.00
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
263
35
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
263
35
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on the rocks nice table blast playing huge boulders charcoal grill family tradition trash cans little pigeon river chimney tops water flowing water shoes nature trail bathroom facilities beautiful river favorite places parking spot enjoy nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 303 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2019 via mobile

My son and I stopped at the Chimneys Picnic Area on a recent trip to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Our family typically goes to the Cades Cove Picnic Area so we wanted to try a new one. The picnic area is about 5 miles away from the Sugarlands Visitor Center on Newfound Gap Road. It is a great place to stop if you are hiking the Chimneys or Alum Bluff Cave Trail or going to see the views at Clingmans Dome. I am told it used to be a campground but is now just used as a day use picnic area.

We arrived around 12 on a Saturday so we expected it to be crowded. All of the tables along the River were taken but there were still many others available. We found a nice shaded spot near the water and one of the restroom areas. After enjoying lunch we played in and around the very cold water. Even though there are a lot of people in the area it is easy to find a secluded spot and enjoy the scenery.

We did not get the chance to do the Cove Hardwood Trail which is located here but that just gives us a reason to come back to this nice picnic area.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank GoVols79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

Love the picnic areas in the Smoky Mountains National Park. The picnic area resembles a campground with each parking area being associated with a picnic table. This area has a stream that can be seen from most of the tables. The bathrooms are very clean! The signs in the area warn you not to leave your food out and unattended. We watched the park rangers ticket the table next to us as food, drinks and picnic baskets had been left out and the family was no where to be seen.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019 via mobile

Loved it!! Its a must to come again and picnic with family and friends. Has grills and picnic tables. Also has bathroom facilities.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Courtney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

I've never felt the need to review a picnic area before, but this one impressed me. We stopped for lunch on our way to Clingmans Dome, expecting it to be just a clearing with tables. It's much larger than what you see when you first pull in. There are even restrooms available. We didn't go down to the river but could hear the rushing water as we ate our sandwiches.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank RedNailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

Beautiful river bank with large rocks. Picnic and bbq grills all around. Just gorgeous!! One of my favorite places around there.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank carolinvPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews