We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chimneys always interesting”

Chimneys Picnic Area
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Florida/North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Chimneys always interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Visited on my very first trip to the Smokys years & years ago - married and brought my children there. Great area to spend the day in.

Helpful?
1 Thank lauramilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    26
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Quick Picnic Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stopped at Chimneys Picnic Area, after driving the Newfound Gap Road for a quiet and quick picnic lunch. We found the area to be clean, not crowded, peaceful, and full of wildlife as we saw several white-tailed deer, while we were eating. There were plenty of places to eat, and the restroom facilities were clean and decent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lilacacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
165 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great place to relax, eat and enjoy nature. Very quiet picnic area and a creek filled with rocks which provide a lot of fun if you enjoy rock hopping.

Helpful?
Thank Thomasoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Best spot in the park for a picnic lunch and for hiking in the creek. Bring shoes that can get wet and keep a grip on slippery rock. The kids had a blast!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dcgoldeneagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have some friends that use to live in the area. The told us of this place, and how great it was to rock hop. We went with a lunch to grill, and a change of shoes. (prepared to fall in if we got to carried away) We drove to the very top of the picnic area and found a very shady quiet place to have our picnic. My wife and I took turns caring for the grill, while the kids and the other parent played near the water. After eating, we all went rock hopping and had a great time. Much bigger rocks in these creeks than we have in Indiana. This place was wonderful for relaxing and just being in nature. We will return in the future.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimneys Picnic Area also viewed

Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 

Been to Chimneys Picnic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing