We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to the top”
Review of Mount LeConte

Mount LeConte
Book In Advance
More Info
$172.62*
and up
The Great Smoky Mountain National Park Tour by Helicopter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most popular hiking mountains in the park.
Lewisburg, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“to the top”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have hiked to Mt. LeConte 4 times. We have hiked all trails,either going up or coming down. I highly recommend the Alum;s Bluff traiLlThe first rime we hiked to the top we had a 4-year-old child with us, although I would not recommend this. One trail I would stay off of is the Bull;s Head, It is rocky and hard to walk. There is not a lot to see om this trail. ,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranny Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Too long for kids”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We tried to hike the 1.4 mile portion of this trail to arch rock. We hiked for an hour up and found no arch rock, we were disappointed. Too hard for little kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank blondee922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Rainbow Falls is Breathtaking!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I hiked the 5.4 mile trail in Roaring Fork Nature Trail to reach Rainbow Falls. What a breathtaking sight! We were in awe of God's creation as we stood at the foot of the falls. We had never been hiking before so this was a new adventure for us 50 somethings! The terrain was a bit rocky and challenging at times but worth every step. It took us 3.5 hours up and back. If you're up for a new adventure and a bit of a challenge, I encourage you to try it. You won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pennypbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing day hike in the Smokey Mountains”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I hiked this strenuous trail with my 8 year old and some friends on July 26th. I have been up to the top before on several occasions, and as previously, the views from the top were amazing. It took longer this time, but managed the 12 mile round trip in 9 hours! The weather was perfect. The Alum Caves Bluff trail has been maintained very well over the past 15 years.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KSavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hike and Overnight Stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I walked to the top of Mt. LeConte for the first time on July 8, 2013. We chose the Alum Trail as it was highly recommended by many experienced hikers. The weather was great - highs in the 60s and the views on the trail were beautiful. It was strenuous and steep in places, but very doable even though we are mid to late 60s. We arrived early afternoon and checked into the LeConte Lodge. (separate review for the Lodge) We spent the afternoon settling in and exploring the area at the top. In the evening, all the overnight guests walked to the west point to watch the sunset. It was awesome (I am posting photos). The next morning we walked to Myrtle Point (east side) before proceeding back down the mountain. As others have indicated, if you climb up the Alum Trail, you must go back down the same trail or you end up miles away from your vehicle. It was about an hour shorter time descending the mountain. Great experience - ready to go again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mmatpawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount LeConte also viewed

Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 

Been to Mount LeConte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing