We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful”
Review of Alum Cave Trail

Alum Cave Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most popular hikes in the park, it is the quick route to Mt. LeConte Lodge.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good day hike to the caves. Last half mile of hike is moderate to strenuous but family and kid friendly. River along the way with good picture opportunities. Take lunch to the caves and enjoy the view. Go early to beat the crowds! Trail is in decent shape until you get close to caves.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Scots3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    40
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“bring good hiking boots”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

It was a great hike to get to the cave but it started raining on the way back down. My mom ended up slipping on the way back down. Needless to say, the walk back to the car took forever. He ankle swelled up super big. We did not know it at the time but later we took her to the hospital and found out she had broken her leg. She was one tough lady to hobble down the trail on a broken leg. Just make sure you bring good hiking boots. We just did it in tennis shoes. We did not see signs giving any warnings about the terrain. I guess common sense should have told us but we did not think it was going to be as tough as it was. Great hike but make sure you are prepared. Good hiking boots and plenty of water. The hike takes longer than what you would think.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Curt Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Neither wind, nor, rain, nor snow could stop us from enjoying”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We got a late start so we only made it to the arch. It was snowing the entire hike which just added to our delight in the beauty surrounding us. I echo prior postings in that a good set of hiking boots and a pole make this an enjoyable hike. Parts were slippery due to mud or ice but if you pay attention it's not bad.
The log bridges were navigable, even with a little ice.
Just enough others on trail in case of emergency but not a lot of " tourists".
Latrine at trailhead was a welcome site at end of hike.
We will definitely return, start earlier, and go all the way up.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank merrydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun trail & breath taking views!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We took our 12 Yr old and 16 yr old in this trail, we all loved it . The scenery changed often, the surface of the trail was fun and rocky. After hiking Ramsay Falls the previous day, This trail seemed a lot easier .
The views once you get almost to Alum cave were spectacular. We want to go back when the trees are green and there aren't huge icicles threatening to impale you once you get to the overhang . Beware of this if you go anytime soon. We saw icicles crash down on the trail that could've killed someone, but only right under the bluff so hurry past it & cover yourself.
Next time we'll be prepared to go the rest of the way to Mt LeConte .

Helpful?
3 Thank Jessruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must See!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The entire first leg of the trail is lined on both sides with towering Rhododendrons. We hiked in early March so they were not in bloom but I can imagine the bountiful flowers (and bees) that spring and summer bring. There are many scenic river views, and several cute log-carved bridges. Areas of the trail are quite narrow, and can be slippery due to snow in the fall and winter or water dripping from the cave. The so-called cave is similar to Ash Cave found in the Hocking Hills region of Ohio. We did not hike to the top of Mt. Leconte because we started too late in the day and the wind was picking up. Next time we will!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank chebridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alum Cave Trail also viewed

Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
 

Been to Alum Cave Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing