We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great view of the falls

Awesome view of the falls. About 1.2 miles walking up an incline almost all the way. Wet, rocky... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
rdscottusaf
,
Burke, Virginia
via mobile
Wonderful Falls worth the hike!

Steady incline trail with lots of cool tree roots on the way and also some nice water features... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Trek666618
Read all 787 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Great Smoky Mountains National Park
from $41.00
More Info
from $41.00
More Info
from $31.00
More Info
from $39.00
More Info
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveler rating
553
192
33
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
192
33
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree roots grotto falls great hike moderate hike exposed roots easy hike beautiful waterfall miles round trip wear good shoes walking stick parking lot parking is limited watch your step parking spot flip flops year olds up hill
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 782 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awesome view of the falls. About 1.2 miles walking up an incline almost all the way. Wet, rocky with stumps. Can be done in tennis shoes but highly recommend hiking shoes. It is worth the trip

Thank rdscottusaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Steady incline trail with lots of cool tree roots on the way and also some nice water features crossing the path. The way up seems endless but the way back goes much quicker all downhill. Falls were beautiful and everyone took turns taking pictures behind the falls. Great place to take a break and wander around the falls area or have some lunch/snacks.

Thank Trek666618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a fairly easy, beautiful hike for all ages. It was cool that you could walk behind waterfall. Get there early to find a parking spot.

Thank elly952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The falls were beautiful. The trail is a workout going up because of the incline but it’s definitely worth it. There’s a few spots for good pictures, the way down is so quick since you’re going down.

Thank WanderwithT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hike to Grotto Falls was beautiful. It was also very busy. We got to the trail around 10am thinking we would be early enough to beat the crowd. Wrong. I guess you have to get out there before the sun comes up. Don’t get me wrong, we still really enjoyed the hike and the waterfall, and we would totally recommend it to our friends, just be prepared for a crowd, or go early early.

Wear good hiking shoes, not tennis shoes! The roots and rocks will kill your feet. And if it has rained recently it will be very muddy and slippery (ask me how I know). Bring water.

Thank BKFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my absolute favorite hike to do in the Smokies. The hike is an easy hike back to the falls. Once you get there, you can walk behind the falls. Very pretty!!!

Thank Aggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would go for difficulty moderate in stead of easy. The walk is not that long, but the trail is rocky and has lots of tree roots. We had to cross a small stream about 4 times. But no wet feet. I was happy to have my "nordic" walking sticks. It makes the trail just a bit easier to walk.
There is not a lot of parking close to the trail! some card were parked along side the road, cause the small parking was already full.

Nice feature is that you can go behind the falls.

Thank RinTjH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

This was a beautiful trail and waterfall, the trail was wet and has a lot of rocks and tree roots to step over so it is a bit of work. But it is a beautiful walk, and the falls are unique as you can walk behind them.

Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Several people as well as the guide mentioned this was an ok hike for beginners HOWEVER this is very steep straight up the mountain 1.5 miles to the falls. I would consider it more strenuous. It was pretty and rewarding once you got to the top but hubby and I were sore for days after. Please be prepared if you have hip, knee or leg problems... and asthma.

Thank deegeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

The hike is to be expected as your in the mountains and hiking to waterfall. It is very worth it. During the week is quiter.

Thank Brittany O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews