We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.. first time stay”
Review of Jenny Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jenny Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.. first time stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed all over the world. Our first cabin assignment was abysmal and we asked to be moved. Had we stayed in The Geranium cabin this review might be one star. It was adjacent to kitchen and dumpster.... All cars pass this spot. We were moved thankfully.. I'd requested to be away from lodge but alas they took care of this.

Gratuities are not included and we tipped everyone everywhere. We were fine with this.

Dinners were great. I wore a jacket but many wore jeans and this detracted from the occasion. Ppl should know better honestly. Kids could not be controlled during 3 hour dinners. Again ppl (parents) should know better.

Riding the bicycles was great and we rode nightly to string lake and Jenny lake overlook. Amazing !! Places were deserted after 6 pm. This alone would make us return.

Cabins have bugs but what can you do? We sprayed Off throughout and had no issues. Heater was powerful, mattress amazing. Stayed in 'Forget me not. '

Hiked signal mountain, string lake, taggart, hidden falls (skip this), Bradley lake. Fav was taggart by far , deserted on a weekend. Also hiked laurel canyon which was unmarked but amazing. That we could do This from our cabin basically was amazing. Rarely had to drive anywhere.

Restaurant manager was sociable and amazing. Cordial each night. Staff all go way out of their way... Even when offduty they say hello which is telling. Was this place worth 699$ nightly? It's worth more than that to us.... 37 cabins all within walking distance of string and Jenny lake... Great food. Great guests, many of whom were NOT snobby which surprised me based on reviewers herein.

I'd surmise after wages etc the lodge makes little profit considering its location, upkeep, food, and other costs. Frankly they should charge more for what you get considering horseback riding is included... Breakfast was amazing and dinner was too... This is NOT a place for young screaming kids!!!! There were quite a few screaming kids at dinner which was stunning to us... The parents did nothing in these cases.. Most were well behaved. We also witnessed a 'repeat guest' lecture a hostess over a window seat... He almost made her cry. We got a window seat one night without asking but it seems these are reserved for repeat guests. We plan on being repeat guests without the snobby sense of entitlement.

Beware of which cabin you are placed in. Ours was fine after being moved... Otherwise we'd have heard trash being dumped, staff parking, noise at all hours . I kid not.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blah114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    67
    26
    17
    6
See reviews for
106
247
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

You can't beat the location, and the breakfasts and dinners were just right. We spent 4 nights at JLL in early July. If you want a modern resort with cable TV, hot tub and pool, don't stay here. But if you are ready to relax in a wonderful mountain cabin, savor well-prepared meals and view some of the best scenery in the world, stay at JLL. (Don't expect to be able to sit in your cabin and view the mountains, since you will need to walk outside to see the mountains and the stars.) We are active hikers, so this place was ideal. We hiked to Hidden Falls and Inspiration Point before breakfast one morning, and also hiked to Phelps Lake, Laurel/String/Leigh Lakes & Taggart/Bradley Lakes. Arranged our float trip through JLL, and had a great guide (Wayne Johnson). I prefer quality over quantity when dining, and was not disappointed. I especially loved the oxtail and soft shell crabs at dinner, and the berries and smoked salmon offered with the breakfast entrees. Everything was tasty & well prepared, and servers were appropriately friendly and attentive. At breakfast, you can split your order between 2 entrees if you can't decide on only one. Do wish we had been told that corkage fee only does not apply to overnight guests. Adequate Wi-Fi, very limited cell service. NYT, WSJ, USA Today & local paper every morning. One last shout out - to Mary Sue and her wranglers who offer great trail rides.

Room Tip: Some cabins have king sized beds, which was a pleasant surprise. Rooms have mini-refrigerators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Bonus part of staying here was the location - being centrally located in the park. We stayed in one of the premium cabins.

Our cabin was quite cold at night - the heater did not click on properly. It was 26 degrees at night, so this was a problem.

Our bathroom was ant infested, and was very unpleasant. We did NOT have food left out, and the ants seemed congregated around the soap.

The refrigerator also did not work - was not cold at all.

We did enjoy the horse back riding - the wranglers were very friendly and helpful. Probably the best part of our stay.

The restaurant was trying to be a 5-star place, but the food was heavy, and seemed to overwhelm the ingredients. It seemed like they were trying too hard. Breakfast was better than dinner in this respect.

I don't know that we would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonMomTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitmore, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

First, we paid about $670 per night for a cabin. This included dinner. The dinner is fine dining so knock $150 off that amount for the food portion of the bill and now you have $520 a night. The views from the area are spectacular. It's also uncrowded and much closer to Yellowstone. If you are considering staying in Jackson or Teton Village as you 'base camp' for a Yellowstone visit, staying at Jenny Lake Lodge will cut 80 miles off your daily 'commute' to the Southern entrance to the park. I could say more, but there are some really good reviews below that I don't want you to miss.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarletsrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a slice of heaven, Jenny Lake Lodge Restaurant is it! The beauty of the Grand Tetons surrounds the minimalist lodge dining room with wild flowers, pine trees, and a perfect view of the Tetons. Inside the tables are covered with white linens and wild daisy centerpieces. Service is impeccable with a menu that is pleasing to everyone. I had the watermelon gazpacho and Mount Moran chicken salad sandwich and chocolate cake for dessert. Reservations required.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wifeola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Jenny Lake Lodge in the Grand Teton National Park for the third time in four years. Suffice to say, this is our favorite spot in our known universe. As other reviewers have pointed out, the location is stunning, being inside the park at the foot of those magnificent mountains. The relaxed ambiance at Jenny Lake Lodge suits our temperament. The five course dinners prepared by Chef Alyson Zimmerman are superb and the understated elegance of the dining room with its magnificent mountain views adds to the enjoyment of the meals. Breakfasts are great as well. The serving staff this year, unlike in years past, functioned like a well-oiled machine, both friendly and professional, no doubt due to the training and supervision provided by dining room manager Michael Bruneer. He has done a wonderful job turning primarily college-age young people into excellent servers.

I’ve reviewed Jenny Lake Lodge twice in the past (June 19, 2010, and June 22, 2012) and readers can check out those reviews for a more detailed analysis of the lodge’s pros and cons. I do feel the need, however, to address a few points that have come up in other reviews about the lodge.

Yes, it is expensive. Is it worth it? That’s up to the visitor to decide. It is to us.

No, it is not located on Jenny Lake, although String Lake is just a few minutes’ walk away and Jenny Lake is just a bit farther. Of course, Jackson Lake Lodge is not located on Jackson Lake either, although the lake is visible from the Lodge. However, Signal Mountain Lodge sits on the shores of Jackson Lake. Go figure.

Not all cabins have a direct view of the mountains. Call the lodge and ask them to fax or e-mail a map of the property before making a reservation if this is important to your stay.

Yes, the cabins are small though comfortably appointed. It is a cabin in the woods, not a five-star hotel room. If five-star room accommodations are necessary to your enjoyment, stay outside the park. There are at least two five-star hotels in Jackson Hole.

The food is superb, the wine list is reasonably adequate and the wines fairly priced. We have traveled widely and have fairly discriminating tastes. Of course, everyone’s taste is different. A visitor should experience more than one dinner to fully appreciate the range and inventiveness of Chef Zimmerman’s cooking. Visitors may also bring their own wines to dinner, although a corkage fee will be charged.

One major improvement this year was the wireless internet service, which worked well both in our cabin and in the main lodge. We did hear that some guests had problems with their cabin wireless, but our internet functioned just fine with only one major interruption during a multiday stay.

Now to address the title of this review. We noticed after a couple of days that our housekeeping service was sub-standard, unlike past stays when it was complete and professional. Trash cans were not emptied. Dirty drink glasses were not replaced. Soap, shampoo and other amenities were not refurbished. Coffee grounds were left in the in-cabin coffee pot. When we complained to the front desk staff, they were apologetic and explained that the housekeeping staff was new and inexperienced. We accepted this because we had arrived just a few days after the lodge opened for the season. However, the poor housekeeping continued and we complained again, this time providing a list of the deficiencies for the hotel general manager. Again, we received profuse apologies, a complementary photo book of the mountains, and the promise that the staff’s most experienced housekeeper would service our room. Our housekeeping did improve for a few days but reverted back to its old substandard ways on the day before we left.

Everyone has their own measure concerning the standards they expect to be met when staying at a lodge, resort or hotel. Our standards are higher for a more expensive resort than for a budget motel, but there is a minimum level of care that we expect to receive regardless of the cost of the stay. On this visit, Jenny Lake Lodge did not meet even our minimum housekeeping standard. That was indeed a disappointment and put a bad taste in our mouths during what was otherwise a superb stay. We hope and expect that Jenny Lake Lodge will rectify the housekeeping situation before we return next year.

Room Tip: Not all cabins have a direct view of the mountains. Call the lodge and ask them to fax or e-mail a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mrmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've always wanted to stay here - and even though my expectations were high, I was not disappointed. Everything from the first check in to the last check out (with our bag lunches to go) was just superb.

The staff is amazing - friendly, helpful, kind. They couldn't do enough for us. They called us by name every time we came into the Lodge, and made us feel welcomed and wanted. They helped us with everything we asked for.

The cabins were delightful - we had a suite one night (Sunflower) which was great, but the second night we had to move and we just loved our little duplex room (Elderberry)! In fact, coming back we'd probably take the smaller room - it was cozy, clean, comfortable. Everything we could ask for!

The food is amazing! Gourmet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The portions are small, so it's possible to enjoy the five-course meal without feeling stuffed. The chef was creative and very talented. We tried all kinds of specials from Chilled Blueberry Soup, to Quinoa "Baklava" to the seared Halibut and Korean BBQ ribs. We loved it all.

The only down side is the few families who feel like they can take over the dining room and spend their time yelling for their kids to sit down. Honestly, I think that's fine at Disney World or even at some of the other National Park Lodges, but you should leave the children out of the 5-course gourmet dinner.

Horseback riding, biking, croquet, all kinds of things are included. Take advantage of all of it! The hiking and walking is gorgeous!

I so enjoy the National Parks, and my stay at Jenny Lodge was a real blend of high-end hotel service and simply stunning National Park scenery. Perfectly done!

Thank you all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
9.8 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
14.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
21.6 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
14.5 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
9.9 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 14 in Grand Teton National Park
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenny Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenny Lake Lodge

Property: Jenny Lake Lodge
Address: N Jenny Lake Jct., Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jenny Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
37 rustic log cabins located on park-service land that are both popular and expensive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Jenny Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenny Lake Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Jenny Lake Lodge Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing