We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection at Jenny Lake Lodge”
Review of Jenny Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jenny Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

If you look at these reviews enough, you'll see I review a few places every year and you can get a sense of changes as they occur.

JLL is no exception. Scott Greene is the manager and now has 3 years under his belt. I'm becoming a fan. I loved Angela who was there for a number of years but now Scott is showing his skills. This season there was major staff turnover. Only one waiter, Jim Friend, returned. The concierge was familiar, I believe her name is Rosanna. In the corral, Mary Sue was still in place to make certain everyone's horseback ride was perfect. Despite the changes, JLL ran very well. The house keepers were from Jamaica and a true pleasure to deal with.

The dining experience was excellent as always. Fernando handled the dining room most nights and was usually helpful if needed. The chef, Allyson, did a fabulous job and hopefully will return next year. JLL serves a 5 course meal every night. Appetizer, soup, salad, entree and desert are the normal components. Each night you get a choice of four entrees and usually a special and a vegetarian selection. There are 5 menus, so if you stay longer than 5 nights you get to see the same menu again. That's not a bad thing in any way! My only complaint about the food would be breakfast. Years ago, the pancakes and waffles were made from a very light batter that I preferred. As such things go, not too big a deal.

Horseback riding is always a highlight for us and we rode three times and got to have dinner with Mary Sue and her husband, Marty. All the rides are interesting and a real pleasure,

This year we stayed in Lupine and it's a very nice cabin. Next year we hope to be on the other side of the cabins in a quieter location. I think we've stayed 9 times in 5 different cabins. Eventually we will see them all!

If Jenny Lake Lodge interests you give it a try. Please stay more than one night. It takes a little while to really get a feel for the place. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andyc53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 454 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at Jenny Lake Lodge for six nights at the end of September. Our opinion may have been colured by absolutely perfect weather in a stunningly beautiful place, but we would warmly recommend it. The staff are excellent and provide wonderful service, and the lodge and cabins are very comfortable. It is also very convenient both for Jackson Hole airport and all the major sites in Grand Teton NP. On the whole the restaurant was excellent, though we would echo the recent comments from another reviewer that sometimes dishes were overelaborate, and it was quite hard to eat well but simply.

Some small negatives - the cabins and especially bathrooms are more cramped than one expects, largely becuase their design is contrained by history, and it would be nice if breakfast ended at 10am rather than seated by 9am sharp. But these are niggles which would certainly not stop us going back.

One final thing, not really to do with the lodge. Jenny Lake is at 6500 feet, and if one flies in from sea level then there is a risk of mild altitude sickness. It makes you feel really rotten, and there is nothing to do but drink plenty of water and sit it out whilst you acclimatise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chimp_Watcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Pluses: location, service, view. Minuses: lighting in cabin too dim to read, dinner menu, price. Restaurant had great pretentions, but 5 course menu (included in room rate) selections were all very rich, often complex dishes that did not always succeed. Never saw a green vegetable in our4 nights there (except a tablespoon of green pea puree.)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is my second visit to Jenny Lake Lodge - first was Sept 2010 - and I hope to continue to visit for many years to come! My grandparents came to Wyoming in the last 1920's - as I grew up I loved to hear about their visits first to Jenny Lake and their later visits to the lodge. When I retired last summer, I decided to finally visit the lodge - really great choice! The setting is magnificent, the entire lodge experience - from cabins, to staff, to dining - measures up to the setting.

Room Tip: All cabins have really good locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

To be able to spend a week at Jenny Lake Lodge is a rare gift. Though the temperature dipped to 32 degrees on some September mornings I was able to be comfortable with the heater in my cabin. The ability to dine on superb cuisine while watching the sunrise and sunsets over the Tetons is a joy. The staff was gracious and accomodating at all times particularly if I needed extra assistance. I look forward to returning to Jenny Lake Lodge next year.l

Room Tip: I prefer the single cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unique50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

When you drive up, this place doesn't look like much, but the log cabin we stayed in was fantastic; it looked rustic from the outside, but the bedding was luxurious and the bed was very comfortable (unlike the beds at the lodge to the north which were lumpy with scratchy sheets). The bathroom was updated and also very luxurious. Rockers on the front porch with an incredible view of the Tetons made for a splendid afternoon reading and admiring the scenery. We didn't go on a trail ride (included) but I visited the stables and petted the beautiful, gentle horses. The dinner and breakfast were included and the food was fantastic. We couldn't believe we were in the middle of a national park eating food like that. The service was very good as well. When we arrived we were offered huckleberry lemonade, it was delicious and just the thing after a long car ride. There are sturdy bikes on the property that you can use, I rode around to the String Lake trailhead, not far at all, it was fun to take a little bike ride. We absolutely loved this place and will definitely be back to explore this beautiful park more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

With 37 well appointed cabins and extraordinary cuisine, this place is the gem of the Tetons located near Moran, WY. One needs to book reservations approximately one year in advance. The cabins are located in a pine forest and the lodge and lodge restaurant has great mountain views. The lodge is located near some great lake hike trailheads. The service and food are outstanding.

Room Tip: When making a reservation ask for a single cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
14.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
14.5 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
14.5 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Grand Targhee Resort
9.8 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#4 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
2,040 reviews
9.8 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenny Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenny Lake Lodge

Address: Jenny Lake Road, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range: $553 - $818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jenny Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bring a touch of luxury to your national park experience by staying at Jenny Lake Lodge, a AAA four-diamond resort at the foot of the Tetons. Enjoy award-winning dining with our Signature Stay Package, which includes a full gourmet breakfast and a nightly five-course rotating dinner menu. Also included are horseback riding, cruiser bicycles, and other complimentary daily guest activities. The historic cabins at Jenny Lake Lodge are elegant, private, and relaxing – a perfect blend of modern comfort and Old West charm. A stay here is unlike any other in the park. Choose between our freestanding single-room log cabins, duplex cabins, or the cabin suites that include a sitting parlor and wood-burning stove. Enjoy your morning coffee on the porch surrounded by towering pine trees and abundant wildlife. Nearby, you can walk to three stunning glacial lakes, access trails for hiking or biking, or watch for elk or moose. As a guest of Jenny Lake Lodge, the park is at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jenny Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenny Lake Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Jenny Lake Lodge Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing