We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay for the view not luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jackson Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jackson Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Stay for the view not luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at Jackson Lake Lodge in mid July for 2 nights. Our second floor Mt. view room was located in the 500 block. It was far enough away from the main lodge to avoid the crowds of people trying to catch the sunset on the lodge’s back deck. The lodge is within walking distance – IF you have the time..we mostly drove b/c we were always heading out- The cabin style room was more than adequate for our needs- It had electricity- water- and a private bathroom. The room was clean but “cabiny” if you are expecting a hotel room you will be disappointed. This is a cabin- imagine luxury camping.
Running water- 2 sinks and flushing toilet all inside your room- you even have electricity to charge your camera batteries. The bed was surprisingly comfortable-and the room was really clean. The screens had a few small holes- which let some flying guys in…but it was no big deal. The bathroom was clean but showing it’s age- the shower head in our particular room was terrible- it shot water out of the tub. But we never mentioned it to the front desk- so they didn’t have the chance to fix it.
The second floor room was great for us. Second floor though means you are carrying all your stuff up the stairs. That was fine for us…but be sure you are expecting that. There is no fridge- so have your cooler ready.
There is also no TV-or AC but we knew that and were thankful. Our balcony overlooked Willow Flats and the short trail around the flats. Though our view of the flats was slightly obstructed we still were still able to see sand hill cranes and a moose family moving through the area. WE also heard coyotes at night- what a treat! The Tetons of course, rose majestically above the trees and were an amazing sight no matter how many times we looked out the window. The trail near the cabin was closed due to bear activity while we were there; however, we never saw the bear  .
When we entered the room it was HOT- we arrived in the early evening and the room had heated up b/c the temperature that day had approached 90. However, opening the windows (don’t forget the bathroom window) and propping the front door for a while to get some cross ventilation cooled the cabin to a comfortable temperature by bed time and by the middle of the night it was cold enough to need another blanket.

I wish we had more time to stay here and enjoy the area. We had many activities planned in Jackson and found this to be too far of a drive to be able to do our activities and still return in time to just relax on the balcony.

We ate once at the Pioneer Grill for breakfast and it was fine- it wasn’t fast- but it wasn’t s-l-o-w either.
Our only complaint was that we happened to be near some really loud people who didn’t seem to appreciate the idea of a peaceful place. Going on 8:00pm and the kids were outside screaming- that is not the properties fault- but perhaps this review will help those people find a place closer to a mini golf or go cart facilities so they can enjoy the kind of vacation they might be looking for. The front desk did ask them to quiet down once…and that helped for about 20 minutes.
Our 3 kids LOVED this place- (6,9,12) in fact they say it was there favorite place of the entire trip. But our kids really love and respect nature. They never asked for their TV or their i-anything for the entire week were in Yellowstone/ Grand Teton. If we ever return we will stay again- and plan more time for just sitting and enjoying the view!!!

Room Tip: Second floor Mt. veiw was great- maybe you can ask for an un-obstructed view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugs920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    587
    235
    111
    48
See reviews for
719
709
40
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The lodge facility is in very good condition. However, if the lodge rooms are not available, go somewehre else. Do not assume that the cottages would be an ok place to stay. The room was small with old, poor-quality furnitures. The bathroom looked dirty and worn out. The carpet was dirty. Worst of all, there was a bad smell in our cottage that could not be got rid of. My experience with the cottage was so depressing that I couldn't wait to leave Grand Teton, even though the park itslef is so beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike H, Rooms Division Manager at Jackson Lake Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your stay at Jackson Lake Lodge.

It is dissapointing that you did not find your accomodations were not suitable. We take great pride in the quality and cleanliness of our cottages. The cottages have been recently updated over the past three years which have included new carpeting, beds, and furniture. We have recently made changes to our housekeeping department that will ensure that we can provide our guests with the cleanest room possible.

Once again, thank you for your honest feedback and please accept my sincere apology that your stay was less than satisfactory.

Regards,

Mike Hoover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family to a 5 night trip to Yellowstone and Grand Teton in early June 2012. I booked the trip a mere 10 days before we left and felt lucky to get one night in a park - our other 4 nights were spent in hotels outside of the parks. I knew we were paying a premium to stay in the park, I was ok with that for the convenience, but I was surprised to find, at the highest cost, the fewest amenities of all 5 properties we stayed in.

We stayed in one of the cottages, unlike some of the other cottage reviews, our room was clean and comfortable and nicely appointed. Except - no television, no wifi (only available if you stay in the main lodge) and no refrigerator. I can live with no tv, I can live with no wifi - but no refrigerator is unacceptable. I'm certain most visitors to the parks bring foodstuffs in with them - whether hotel dwellers or campers - we want to refrigerate our food! Even the cheapest motel we stayed in West Yellowstone had a refrigerator.

The main lodge is lovely with historic fireplaces and large wonderful paintings. We had dinner in the Mural Room and watched the sunset over the Tetons. We had breakfast in the Pioneer Room and enjoyed the throwback diner feel - the staff in both restaurants were exceptional and the food delicious.

Worth the stay, but if you're planning on more than one night, bring a large cooler.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main lodge - more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bestfriendtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was a return visit to Jackson Lake Lodge after a fantastic experience with the lodge a few years ago when we stayed in a room with a large window overlooking the mountains. When we booked this trip the lodge rooms were full and all that was left were the cabins or cottages. What a pit. The room was filled with flies and bugs when we arrived, and we had to request a fly swatter. We had requested a room with a view and as it turned out in our price range, the only rooms that existed overlooked the meadow, but in reality you could call it the road and parking lot. The bed had nothing but a blanket. The staff informed me that the national park service would not allow them to use the custom quilts that they advertise. Go figure that one? The most disturbing experience came the second day after we returned to our room after a long day of hiking. A vacumm cleaner was left in the main room. The bathroom was dirty, the toilet had been left with urine presumably from a worker and had not been flushed. We immediately called the front desk and they said they would send a supervisor over. The person who came to our room seemed to think the whole thing was funny. I did not see much humor in the situation. It is such a shame that the company who manages this beautiful property would let it deteriorate to this condition.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

There is a limited choice of accommodation within Grand Teton National Park and wherever you choose you will find it expensive and the Jackson Lake Lodge is no exception.

We stayed in the Lodge itself and have no complaints about our room. It was very spacious, the beds were comfortable, the shower and air conditioning both worked fine and the room was nice and clean. In common with National Parks accommodation there is no television provided but who would want to watch that anyway with the splendid vista over the Willow Flats that you have from the terrace of this hotel. Look out over the flats at any time, but especially early morning and evening and you can almost be guaranteed to see some wildlife - all this without leaving the hotel.

Whether or not you are prepared to pay the rather exorbitant charge per night to stay is a different matter. Breakfast is not included and you are basically paying a small fortune just for a room. If you are prepared to accept the expense then there is probably nowhere better to stay in the Park - certainly not if you want to be fairly central and love the wildlife.

If you do stay here be sure to take the very short trip to Oxbow Bend just a couple of miles away. Arrive an hour before sunset and watch the beavers going about their business - quite enchanting and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stopped here at the Lodge for brunch. This place has a nice historic touch with a great viewing room. We saw some moose from the viewpoint at the lodge. The brunch was also very filling and we even liked the service. Next time we will try to stay there if possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teosmom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

While they have their good points, the cottages are a poor lodging experience.

The room layout is quite good. The room is large, with attractive high ceilings. The closet space is very ample. Beds are very comfortable.

The cleanliness is very poor. One day I happened to observe the bathroom cleaning process. The cleaning guy tossed a washcloth on the floor and swirled it with his foot. That's why the bathroom had plenty of hair from prior guests pushed into the corners, and the baseboards were dripping with goo that was never touched. Counters were only partially wiped, and one day they forgot to clean our room altogether (not that it mattered much). They never bothered to stock enough towels for the number of paying guests in the room.

The noise level was unacceptable - and ridiculous for a national park. While moving into our unit, a dog was going crazy in the adjacent unit. So we moved into a different unit that we were assured was on the corner of the property and thus quiet. We discovered it's adjacent to the staff housing complex, and the park staff loves their crazy, drunken parties. One night I sat on our front porch at 10 -11 p.m., and the whole time the staff was yelling about how drunk they were, peppered with endless obscenities. Another night at 3 a.m. (when I was checking out the stars and the bird calls), the nearby staff party was again a near riot. Compared to the noise of the staff parties, it hardly mattered that conversations by adjacent guests came clearly through our room walls as we tried to fall asleep.

The hotel lacks the special cachet of a historic national park lodge. The restaurant is laid out in a counter-service arrangement, and since the wait staff serves you across the counter, the trash and food and dropped silverware build up all day on the floor on the guest side of the counter. The buffalo burger smelled like bad meat had been mixed into it. The coffee bar serves a food service brand.

The Grand Teton Lodging Company is "a brand within Vail Resorts Hospitality." The Vail brand made me confident in reserving a room at the Jackson Lake Lodge, but I have now learned that the Vail brand does not even assure a satisfactory facility, much less a high quality experience.

Room Tip: Ask where the staff housing is, and then go the opposite direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ColoTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
0.1 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
23.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
23.8 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa- A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
23.6 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson Lake Lodge

Property: Jackson Lake Lodge
Address: 101 Jackson Lake Lodge Rd., Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jackson Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a bluff overlooking Jackson Lake with the Teton Range as a backdrop, this full-service resort hotel offers lodging, dining, meeting space, and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson Lake Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Jackson Lake Lodge Wyoming
Jackson Lake Wyoming
Jackson Lake Lodge Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing