We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing float trip”

Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, conducted entirely within the unspoiled natural environment of Grand Teton National Park, provide the best opportunities for viewing wildlife and the Teton Mountains in the Jackson Hole area. This protected section of the Snake River flows swiftly in places and otherwise meanders peacefully through many side channels, affording our guests an unique river experience. Our guides provide interpretation of the natural history of the park and its wildlife with a depth of experience to make every trip special.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great relaxing float trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

What a great way to experience some back country. Our group of 8 ranged from 6 to 50 and we all had a fantastic relaxing trip. The trip was very beautiful and our guide was experienced and very knowledgeable, not only about the river and its surroundings but of Wyoming, the national parks and Jackson itself. We shared some great stories and had a fantastic afternoon. This was a great experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank janmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    30
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Float”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were staying in Jackson for four days and our kids wanted to do a river activity. They really wanted to go whitewater rafting, but I did not, so we were hoping to appease them with a scenic float trip. The trip was beautiful and our guide, Jim was great. We did not see any animals, but the views were gorgeous and I felt very comfortable in the raft. Our kids had fun but were a little bored towards the end of the trip. The trip, instead of appeasing them, just made them want to do the whitewater trip more...which we ended up doing later on during our trip. Thanks to Jim for making me feel comfortable!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Firewoodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MUST DO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

They were recommended to me by someone who lives in the area. We traveled to WY for my destination wedding, where we set up the float trip as a group activity. It was very easy to set up. The staff was great! The float trip was BEAUTIFUL. Easy to find the location for pick up, easy traveling, everyone of all ages was able to participate easily. The guide was AWESOME!!!!!!! I can't say enough about how entertaining and knowledgable the guide was. The person who recommended Barker-Ewing to me stated specifically that the guides are the reason Barker-Ewing is a must and they were right! Perfect float trip and a ton of fun for everyone!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling333Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Magic on the Snake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

What a treat to float at sunset on a placid section of the Snake, through Teton Park. We took our grown kids and their kids- what a treat. Animals were out moving, and our guide Jim Stanford, did a marvelous job of navigating the challenging waters, spotting animals for the grands and keeping us all fascinated on the wonder of nature. Our son-in-law said ihe float was the highlight of his trip. A do not miss experience!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, ca
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pricey yet scenic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Overall positive experience. I thought it was a bit pricey at 70 each. Meeting place at Moose was not clear. Our guide though, was excellent. Safe and scenic trip. Lots of photo ops.

Helpful?
2 Thank Maltaman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Moose, Grand Teton National Park
 

Been to Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing