We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey yet scenic”

Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips, conducted entirely within the unspoiled natural environment of Grand Teton National Park, provide the best opportunities for viewing wildlife and the Teton Mountains in the Jackson Hole area. This protected section of the Snake River flows swiftly in places and otherwise meanders peacefully through many side channels, affording our guests an unique river experience. Our guides provide interpretation of the natural history of the park and its wildlife with a depth of experience to make every trip special.
Roseville, ca
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pricey yet scenic”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Overall positive experience. I thought it was a bit pricey at 70 each. Meeting place at Moose was not clear. Our guide though, was excellent. Safe and scenic trip. Lots of photo ops.

Helpful?
2 Thank Maltaman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    30
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Snake river float trip”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

This came highly recommended and we moved forward with it even though we hadn't initially planned this. The kids thought this was the highlight of our trip. Our guide travis did and excellent job of pointing out where the wildlife would be. We saw 4 eagles and 1 moose. The kids enjoyed sitting on the carpeted bottom of the raft and there isn't a chance of getting wer unless it rains or you put your hand in the water.

It was interesting to hear about what you have to go through to be a guide for barker Ewing. On top of the 40 solo trips they have to do for the state Barker has to do an additional 30 solo trips using heavy tires as passengers to simulate the weight. Then they may only get to drive the bus only getting their chance when someone quits or retires.

Helpful?
1 Thank GoHawksAnkenyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My favorite activity on our trip...”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

and we did a lot of activities during our 3 week trip, a pack ride, a breakfast cruise, etc. But I loved being on the water! The river seemed to be moving quickly when looking at it from above, but it was very leisurely and slow-paced once we were in the raft. Our guide was Travis, and there were the 4 of us, and only one other family. I enjoyed being able to sit on the bottom of the boat which is carpeted and and lean against the side. We had a 7 p.m. ride scheduled but decided to change it to 4 p.m. due to our schedule and they accomodated us quickly and easily. And a good thing too! As soon as we pulled out of the water, it started to rain. We saw several eagles along the way, no other wildlife, but that's okay since we had seem so much in other locations. What was particularly interesting was to see the mountains from a totally different perspective. It was a bit confusing to know where to meet our guide, but once we did, we were taken up to the launch site, given our life jackets and instructions and off we went. Travis was a lot of fun, particularly with the kids, and informative about the area. It felt very safe as well. I did not take my camera because I wasn't sure what it would be like, but you do not get wet, unless you deliberately lean over and splash yourself like our kids did on the very slight rapids at the end of the trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ctonabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
225 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fun and Relaxing!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The scenic floats are a great way to see a different side of Teton National Park. It was really easy to book online with this company. They emailed directions about meeting at Moose Junction and the guides drove us upstream to Dead Man's Bar. Two hours later, we finished the tour at Moose Landing, a short walk from our parked cars.

The raft held 12 people plus the guide. It's a large raft that's very stable and comfortable, even in rocky waters. You don't get wet at all, so feel free to bring cameras. You can even bring a backpack which will stay between your feet on the raft. Remember to bring sun protection if you're out during the day.

Our guide, Grant, was friendly and knowledgeable. He kept a running commentary of the history of the area, sights to see and animals along the way. He did an excellent job. We saw several bald eagles, sandhill cranes and a young bear along the Snake River. It was a fun and relaxing way to spend the afternoon!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank fun2travel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A MUST-DO IN JACKSON AREA!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This review is on behalf of my parents who are in their early 60's that went on the evening 6:30pm float trip. They called me immediately after they arrived back at their car to tell me how amazing it was! Their guide was Grant, and he kept them interested and entertained while educating the group. Grant guided the raft expertly and softly the entire time. They appreciated his in dept knowledge of the land, animals, and habitats. They said there was not a dull moment the entire time, and he did an outstanding job. They said the raft was comfortable and they never felt nervous. They saw bald eagles, a young bear, and said the mountains and river were absolutely beautiful. A compliment to the staff as well- I booked online, and prior to their trip I was emailed to get phone numbers in case something were to happen and the float had to be cancelled. They also informed me of the construction going on where the group normally meets and provided a phone number so clients can call ahead about a meeting spot. Kudos on great customer service and wonderful float trips Barker-Ewing!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Moose, Grand Teton National Park
 

Been to Barker-Ewing Scenic Float Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing