We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trail”
Review of Cascade Canyon

Cascade Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.00*
and up
Grand Teton Half Day Tour
More Info
$1,050.00*
and up
Full-Day Grand Teton Tour from Jackson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic canyon excellent for hiking.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Trail”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Most people stop at Inspiration point...keep going, even for a mile or 2 in and turn around. That is what we did, and loved the trail. Saw a few moose, and young grizzly across the creek which was really neat. Great trail.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coppell
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Easy hike after going up to Inspiration Point”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Canyon area is beautiful with a stream running close by the trail. This part of the hike is easier than going up to IP. Awesome view of the mountains. Not as crowded as going up to Inspiration Point. At IP we stopped to rest and some passerby told us there was a moose, and off we went. Just about everyone we passed on the way told us about the moose, I liked the friendliness. We found the moose and another one joined him. All those enjoying them were quiet and respectful. The Canyon is peaceful and beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaSaid45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent hike”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The most popular hike in the park is Inspiration Point, Keep going only a little farther, up into Cascade Canyon, you will not regret it. Sheer canyon walls tower above you on both sides, small snow fed stream runs right along the trail. If you're lucky you will see a moose near it. This will get you away from all the traffic on the IP trail.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank trinjboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Our favorite activity in Grand Teton was this hike!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hike into Cascade Canyon is unbelievable!! Scenery and wildlife galore!! We took the boat across Jenny Lake and hike to the waterfall and Inspiration Point with the crowds, but as soon as we left IP, the crowds thinned way, way down!!!! This is a long hike, but the scenery makes it go by fast. We saw a huge moose and a black bear a few miles into the hike...the kids were sooooo excited! Bring plenty of water and snacks and enjoy the day. Lots of good stopping points to have a water/snack break.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“worth a stop”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

worth a stop, quite impressive as is every thing in Yellowstone. It has an overlook but the trees make it difficult to film the waterfall as I do.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ken j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascade Canyon also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to Cascade Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing