We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Compared to other GTNP Options”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colter Bay Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Compared to other GTNP Options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

If you don't already know you have to understand that everything in Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks are somewhat overpriced compared to what you get in most other parts of the country. That being said our cabin in Colter Bay Village while basic in ammenties was more than acceptable. When we first walked into the room I was somewhat taken back by the fact that the cabin was truely a log cabin with the inside walls being logs and the rooms are rustic and basic and the look was something I really liked. Our cabin had two double and one twin bed in a single room duplex cabin. The log wall must be very soundproof because we never heard our neighbors. The cabin was very clean, the beds were very comfortable, and while small the bathroom was worked fine for our family of 4 including 2 teenagers. The only real downside for the cabins was the lack of a table for eating on and the amount of drawer space for putting away clothes. We packed some extra hangers so the drawer space wasn't too much of a problem. We were glad that we packed an extension cord to extend blow dryers etc to mirrors within the cabin. The staff was very accomodating and quick to provide anything we needed which was just a couple of extra pillows. The maid service was always done well. The lodge office had wireless internet along with a computer for public use for checking email etc.
The Colter Bay location is somewhat north in GTNP but we were quickly and easily able to get most everywhere we wanted to go within GTNP for wildlife watching and hiking. We even mad e 2 drives to Jackson which was less than 45 minutes from Colter Bay Village.
While we loaded up on slightly less expensive groceries in Jackson before heading up to the parks the store at Colter Bay Village was very well supplied with everything from drinks, snacks, groceries, to souveniers.
There are nightly National Park Service presentations and events at the amplitheater next to the Park Museum in Colter Bay VIllage that are well worth checking into. There are different topics every night. The night we went was really neat because as we listened to the Ranger talk and watched a video on GTNP there was deer that kept wanding in and around the amplitheater giving us another neat experience.
We really enjoyed our experience at Colter Bay Village.
The only issue thoroughout Colter Bay Village, GTNP and Yellowstone were the swarms of mosquitos that would come out about sundown .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reikswons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    426
    183
    62
    37
See reviews for
461
362
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

Cabin was overpriced, had a musty smell and was filled with mosquitos. Linen was stained. Lighting was inadequate. Absolutely no amenities. The cabins we stayed in Yellowstone Park were much nicer and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet_Lieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed at Colter Bay Village in the cabins in July 2009. The cabin had two doubles and a twin bed. The cabin was very spacious and clean. We enjoyed having the basics and we did not miss the tv. There were two good restaurants and a grocery on the property. We enjoyed the area and would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tntravelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos,ca
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

My family (2 adults/1 child) stayed here based on the good reviews i read; it was at the end of our yellowstone trip. We stayed in a 2-room freestanding cabin, so it was one of the more expensive options - about $150/nt. That said, we enjoyed having the two rooms after 5 nights of sharing a room. These are authentic log cabins, built in the 1930s. If you walk in on a bright summer's day, it's still pretty dark inside the cabin, so you need to be up for that. Lighting could be improved. We stayed there after a lot of recent rain, so the mosquitoes were out in force, from dawn to dusk - be ready for that. Later in the summer this may not be an issue. We did use the wall heaters in the a.m. - the nights would go down to the 40s during our stay. The facilities in the area were great; The Colter bay marina had boat rentals; there were 2 very good restaurants within walking distance, There is also a corral for horseback rides; we did one and it was beautiful. The mountain views were stunning. The general store (also in walking distance) had very extensive groceries and a gift shop - more extensive than any of the Yellowstone stores. Also the visitors center had an interesting indian museum and excellent gift shop. There is wi-fi and a computer for the use of guests in the lodge lobby.
The other nice feature for kids is that by staying at Colter Bay, you can access the Jackson Lake Lodge which has a nice pool - it's about 10 minutes away. My son really enjoyed that.
All in all, i wished for a little more light in the cabin, and fewer bugs, but loved everything about the Colter Bay area. Very pleased we chose it over the Jackson Lake Lodge, as the lodge was very upscale/touristy and we wanted more of a rustic feel.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank aspalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed for four nights in a double/twin cabin and had a great time. They are rustic, but the beds are comfy and the heater will heat up the cabin very nicely. We had 1 1/2 days rain and it got cold so we know the heater works. No coffee pot, but Seattle Best is being sold in the store and in the coffee shop. The store has a fairly good selection for a campground store.
Internet only works in the front office. There are several small desks and a couple of sofas for the people to sit down and use their laptops. There is also one desktop computer that can be used. For a more comfortable place to use the internet go to the Jackson Lake Lodge lobby. It's a beautiful place with a never-ending view of the mountains and lots of place to sit down and use the laptop.
The visitor center is in Colter Bay with a lots of activities. There is also a coffee shop and a steak restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

We arrived at 4:45 to our cabin and was checked in quickly and given some additional dining ideas other then right at Colter Bay. The cabin was exactly what I had expected from the website descriptions. The bathroom is small. The heater was suffecient for warming the room. We had a 2 double/1 twin cabin. The beds were very comfortable. One couch. Overall the entire unit was clean - except we had a mouse leave some droppings behind. This does not surprise me as these are rustic cabins and are not completely sealed. But I know this would really bother others. We just cleaned the area up. Walking distance to the lake/swimming area. Very nice area. I truly believe they go above and beyond to make a rustic, lower price range setting as nice as possible. My son thought it was great they had made pretty towel animals in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parentsof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed inthe cabins for 5 nights. The cabin was very small. It was hard to get comfortable in the cabin. There was no coffee pot and only one heater. It was cold while we were there. it would have been nice to have heat in the cabin. The cabin was clean but for the price we paid we felt the cabin was a very bad bargain.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
3.7 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
24.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
3.7 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#2 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#3 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
12.4 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
11.7 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Property: Colter Bay Village
Address: Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing