We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western rustic history in your cabins”
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colter Bay Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Western rustic history in your cabins”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We have stayed at Grand Teton innumerable times; as we age we've moved from the RV campground to the Colter Bay Cabins. The cabins are the real thing, moved from settlers' spreads and dude ranches to this site, with a history of each cabin framed on an inside wall. After reading some of the complaints, I must say that if you are going to stay here you must do so with the attitude that you have come there to have the kick of staying in an old log cabin, but with the convenience of indoor plumbing (and in our case always lots of hot water) and enough heat from the electric heater to keep you comfortable.Our beds have always been great, the blanket and comforter more than warm enough. All one has to do is request more of what you need. I need several pillows and they were supplied immediately and without hesitation. Extra blankets are provided. Of course it is not the Ritz. This is National Park Wyoming, and it should stay as "natural" as they can keep it.
The Grill is reasonably priced and handy for meals. The restaurant is quite expensive, but you don't need to eat there. Their grocery store is well-supplied with necessities and extras.
The on-site Colter Bay Museum has excellent movies about the Park, information for the traveler, and currently has part of a wonderful collection of Indian artifacts, the rest now being refurbished but due to return soon.
A little roughing-it is a small price to pay for the privilege of seeing the almost unbelievable beauty and grandeur of the Tetons and Jackson Lake. It's great fun to step outside of your little log cabin in the morning, a Virtual Pioneer with electricity in your log cabin. If you decide you have to stay in Jackson, be aware that it is about an hour's drive from there up into the Park, and another good hour and more up into Yellowstone.

Room Tip: If you have sore feet, request an "easy access" cabin, whose short path from the road will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ierelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    426
    183
    62
    37
See reviews for
461
362
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Colter Bay is a CAMPING village. There are also cabin and tent-cabin options for people not wanting the full dose of camping. We were tent camping (the old fashioned kind) and did not see the cabins, but I would expect them to be pretty rustic, not cutesy with condo-like furnishings.

You don't feel like you're in a village with a lot of traffic,etc. But you do have easy access to a general store, showers (@$5, although there's a family rate of @ $15-ish for 5), laundry, a gift shop, a restaurant, a marina, and a visitors center. Gas station and convenience store nearby.

One word of caution. NOT ALL TENT SITES HAVE BEAR BOXES. We didn't realize our lack until we were already set up, and that was really inconvenient, but we otherwise loved our sites (B 42 and 44. 4 tents for our party).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

These are quaint, historic hotel rooms. Nothing like modern hotel rooms but very enjoyable nonetheless. We booked a two bedroom unit. It was much larger than a standard hotel room would have been that the price was right in line. They only unusual thing is that the rooms are all filled with full-sized beds. These were a little small for two adults.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the tent village at Colter Bay. The "tent" was sturdy canvas on 3 sides and fixed wall on 4th. Satisfied my husband's desire to camp. Bring sleeping bags and pillows. The tent has cots that fold out of the walls with mats. Each tent has a fire pit which the cabins didn't have so could grill dinner. Wood was for sale for the fire pit and wood stove in the tent--we did use it. Great location in the Tetons.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Arlingtongang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We held our family reunion in the shadow of the Grand Teton last weekend. Having grown up about 60 miles from Jackson, WY, I held great anticipation for the beauties of this valley. I chose Colter Bay for a couple of reasons. There are both cabins and campsites. You may reserve a campsite if you are needing a group site. The cabins are about .5 miles from the campground. I stayed in the cabin with my newborn granddaughter and her mother. It was great to be able to spend time with the family sight seeing, yet have the convenience of a comfortable bed and a shower in the evening. The cabin we stayed in was 801. It was on the upper end of the campground, and far away from the general store and restaurant, and about a half mile to Jackson Lake. I thought that we would enjoy the lake more, but the boat intake area was very small, and there really wasn't a great place to play at Colter Bay. We ended up driving to Jenny Lake every day, enjoying the phenomenal views, while our family swam, sunned and caught minnows. The cabins are very old. It is important that you realize that you are paying for location. The floors are old, cracked linoleum, the shower did not drain well, and we had a mouse in the house. There are plenty of cobwebs, so you are really roughing it when you stay here. If this bothers you, I highly suggest you stay at Dornan's, or some other cabin or hotel outside the Teton National Park. We were approximately 45 minutes from Jackson. This was fine with us, for we spent the majority of the time in the Park. The campgrounds were fantastic. We were very pleased with that aspect. However, if I would do it again, I would try to stay toward the South end of the Park. If you are heading to Yellowstone, you may consider staying here, but realize that it is still quite a drive to Yellowstone, and if you make a day of seeing that Park, you more that likely will be in the car for the entire day.

Room Tip: If you don't like to walk, stay in the lower numbered cabins, and request one close to the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1HotNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan R, Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your response in regards to your family reunion here in beautiful Colter Bay Village. Our Rustic cabins are conveniently located in the heart of Grand Teton National Park. I am also glad you were able to enjoy our wonderful campground here on property. I appreciate your comments about our cabins as we are constantly trying to improve the guest experience here. Thank you for your time.

Ryan Rhoadarmer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Comfortable beds and private bath. A authentic log cabin that is well maintained and hidden in the pines. A short walk to Jackson Lake. the dining areas and wifi. Perfect for a peaceful stay in the Grand Tetons which are a magnificent site.

Room Tip: no rooms have a lake view but request one closer to the lake and dining room. We were very disappo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funjione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We took the option to stay as a family of 4, in the TENT CABINS which are canvas/ hard sided tents which have a picnic table outside and located in a woody area. Just for 3 nights! Rustic- but too be expected and we loved the fact we were camping but not glamping! A fabulous location with grocery store and showers on site. We hired a motor boat to explore the lake for 2 hours which was fabulous. Not a bad price- just wished the toilets were maintained a little better on site. There is Wifi in the restaurants on site and in reception area :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizbyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
3.7 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
24.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
3.7 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#2 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#3 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
12.4 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
11.7 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Property: Colter Bay Village
Address: Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing