We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cabins and Nice People”
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colter Bay Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Near the Colter Bay Marina where you can take trips onto Jackson Lake. Vintage, real log cabins but comfortable. Showers have very little light and no heat - the only downside in our opinion. Bed was comfortable and you park right in front of the room. Two types of restaurants within walking distance. We ate at the CBV Ranch House (the more upscale one).Salad bar and soup and very reasonable prices. Our Prime Rib was cooked to order and our server Joel was terrific. Wi-Fi is a bit spotty here. Great in the restaurant and bar though. The Bar is always packed.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the restaurants. You can walk to the Park Headquarters and the Marina with no effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

We loved our stay in a Colter Bay cabin at the end of May. My daughter and I were in a cabin with one wall of floor to ceiling windows (we never did figure out why that wall had windows because it only faced other cabins - no view). Everything was clean (except the floor). Beds were comfortable. No amenities, but that was well described on the website when we made the reservation, so we had no expectations of any. We could easily walk (or drive) to the office, store, restaurant, lake, gift shop. The view of the Tetons by the Lake was AMAZING! My daughter was unpleasantly surprised by an ice cold shower on the second morning :-(, and the lack of cell phone service around the property was a little frustrating, but overall, we really enjoyed our stay. Thankful for the recommendation of this place by friends who stay at this property each time they visit. We do hope to visit again in the future, and stay more than just 2 nights!

Room Tip: I would suggest that you stagger your showers; maybe one at night & one in the morning as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan R, Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your response, and I am very happy you had a wonderful time here in beautiful Grand Teton National Park. Our convenient location does make for a wonderful vacation. I am sorry your experiences with the showers were less than ideal. However, I can assure you we have made the appropriate steps to alleviate the issues and appreciate your feedback. We welcome you back soon and thank you again for your review of Colter Bay Village.

Ryan Rhodarmer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We recently spent 2 nights in a charming log cabin that had been moved from a "dude" ranch to Colter Bay. It was rustic, but clean and comfortable. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was perfectly clean. Staying in the cabins made an already memorable experience even more fun and were only a short walk from wonderful places to sit and enjoy the view. Be sure to take a flashlight for walking back to the cabin after dark.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Betty Mae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We loved our cabin!!we had a two bedroom, one bath for two families. I loved the quaint cabins that were really clean and comfy. It was a little rustics (no TV, no wifi in the cabins), but super welcoming and cozy. The staff was really friendly and welcoming - giving us lots of tips on things to do etc. staying here after a day in Yellowstone was great! It is a bit pricey - but that's just the way it is in national Parks. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jekela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our cabin was situated on the edge of the campground, so we had woods behind us, which added to the rustic charm of this place. The decor was really basic, and the bedding was cozy and warm. We were concerned about our heat in the cabin because temperatures outside were in the 30s-40s at night. Our concerns were unfounded, and we were all warm. There's no TV here, and no wi-fi (much to our children's dismay), so if you hope to unplug, this is the perfect location! With 8 of us in a cabin with one bathroom, it was a bit trying. There's a VERY rustic stand-up shower, and the bathroom is small. But, it's in the cabin (we had a two-bedroom cabin with a bath in between the two rooms). We were really looking for a "camping" feel with a little more protection than a tent would have given us with cool outdoor temps. And, this cabin gave us just that! Also, within about 100 yards of our cabin, there is a really nice bath house, that families could use. The marina is also within walking distance of the cabins, and has canoe and kayak rentals on the lake with an awesome view. We loved this, and even our sometimes hard-to-please kids (ranging in age from 10-20) liked the place. Check it out if you're looking for a rustic value in the Tetons!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Momand7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Cabin is an experience which is quite different from regular hotel room.

No Wifi, No internet, no TV, no telephone, poor cell signal which made you back to long time ago.

The cabin is not so big and was a little cold in May.

But I like it. It was natural.. Also the cabin is not far away from the lake. You can always do your walk or boating there.

If...if....you are really addicted to the internet... The lobby has it but need to re-authorize every 30 minutes?

The rate was a little expensive, so it is just for an experience...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Machilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan R, Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for your positive words in regards to our historic cabins here at Colter Bay Village. Part of the charm and experience of Colter Bay is the rustic atmosphere here in Grand Teton National Park. Our proximity to Jackson Lake and panoramic views of the Teton range are among some of the draws. Also, our lobby internet has since improved and no longer kicks you off after 20 minutes. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we welcome you back.

Ryan Rhoadarmer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

It is very rustic which is nice but bathroom is the worst, the toilet backing up, shortage of hot water, poor towel and holes in the walls make the room a haven for ants, spiders and who-knows what else. It was a little better then a tent. We decided to rent the cabin before we went over because it would be wormer then a tent and a bathroom, we were wrong in both cases the heater made so much noise and barely heated the room. The price was what hurt the worst, for a party of three it was ~167.00 to 175.00 a night. Very poor accommodation and pricing I would not recommend it. The Teton was nice!

Room Tip: No phones or tv in the room you needed to walk to the office to get service and very poor cell servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan R, Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and I am deeply sorry in regards to your less than perfect stay here at Colter Bay Village. Our cabins are indeed rustic, however the experiences you had are not reflective of what we strive to provide here in the Tetons. Our historic cabins are under constant improvements to ensure a positive guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback, as we are always looking to improve the guest experience.

Ryan Rhoadarmer
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
22.7 mi away
Teton Teepee Lodge
18.1 mi away
Grand Targhee Resort
24.2 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
3.7 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#4 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
2,038 reviews
11.6 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Address: 100 Colter Bay Village Road, Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range: $261 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think of Colter Bay Village as summer camp for the entire family ~ kayaking, canoeing, horseback riding, log cabins, and a general store. This resort village on the northern shore of Jackson Lake has it all, and provides affordable vacationing. It’s everything you would want in a genuine Grand Teton National Park vacation. Picture a bustling marina with everything from boat rentals and gear shops to restaurants and a visitor center. On the wooded hill nearby, you will find a variety of accommodations where families of all types prepare for the day’s adventure. Colter Bay is an endless, untamed, Jackson Hole type of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing