We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic charm makes these cabins a winner for families”
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colter Bay Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
Andalusia, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Rustic charm makes these cabins a winner for families”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our cabin was situated on the edge of the campground, so we had woods behind us, which added to the rustic charm of this place. The decor was really basic, and the bedding was cozy and warm. We were concerned about our heat in the cabin because temperatures outside were in the 30s-40s at night. Our concerns were unfounded, and we were all warm. There's no TV here, and no wi-fi (much to our children's dismay), so if you hope to unplug, this is the perfect location! With 8 of us in a cabin with one bathroom, it was a bit trying. There's a VERY rustic stand-up shower, and the bathroom is small. But, it's in the cabin (we had a two-bedroom cabin with a bath in between the two rooms). We were really looking for a "camping" feel with a little more protection than a tent would have given us with cool outdoor temps. And, this cabin gave us just that! Also, within about 100 yards of our cabin, there is a really nice bath house, that families could use. The marina is also within walking distance of the cabins, and has canoe and kayak rentals on the lake with an awesome view. We loved this, and even our sometimes hard-to-please kids (ranging in age from 10-20) liked the place. Check it out if you're looking for a rustic value in the Tetons!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Momand7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    440
    191
    63
    39
See reviews for
487
375
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Cabin is an experience which is quite different from regular hotel room.

No Wifi, No internet, no TV, no telephone, poor cell signal which made you back to long time ago.

The cabin is not so big and was a little cold in May.

But I like it. It was natural.. Also the cabin is not far away from the lake. You can always do your walk or boating there.

If...if....you are really addicted to the internet... The lobby has it but need to re-authorize every 30 minutes?

The rate was a little expensive, so it is just for an experience...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan R, Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your positive words in regards to our historic cabins here at Colter Bay Village. Part of the charm and experience of Colter Bay is the rustic atmosphere here in Grand Teton National Park. Our proximity to Jackson Lake and panoramic views of the Teton range are among some of the draws. Also, our lobby internet has since improved and no longer kicks you off after 20 minutes. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we welcome you back.

Ryan Rhoadarmer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

It is very rustic which is nice but bathroom is the worst, the toilet backing up, shortage of hot water, poor towel and holes in the walls make the room a haven for ants, spiders and who-knows what else. It was a little better then a tent. We decided to rent the cabin before we went over because it would be wormer then a tent and a bathroom, we were wrong in both cases the heater made so much noise and barely heated the room. The price was what hurt the worst, for a party of three it was ~167.00 to 175.00 a night. Very poor accommodation and pricing I would not recommend it. The Teton was nice!

Room Tip: No phones or tv in the room you needed to walk to the office to get service and very poor cell servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan R, Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am deeply sorry in regards to your less than perfect stay here at Colter Bay Village. Our cabins are indeed rustic, however the experiences you had are not reflective of what we strive to provide here in the Tetons. Our historic cabins are under constant improvements to ensure a positive guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback, as we are always looking to improve the guest experience.

Ryan Rhoadarmer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was the only place I could find near the park for Memorial Day weekend. Actually the location is great because it is in Teton park. I think if we stayed in Jackson, it would have been a bit far to drive back and forth. Our cabin was a side by side cabin and it is rustic. It was really too big for just my father and I. My elderly father wasn't happy because it was a little to outdoors for him. Here are my thoughts...

Good
- Large room (depends on which cabin they give you, some looked really small)
- Comfortable bed
- Nice location inside the park and by the water
- Close to general store, laundry mat, restaurants, visitor center

Other
- Room was really cold even when I found the heater and turned it on
- I could hear the Chinese guests next door talking loudly while I was trying to go to sleep
- I took a shower at 9 pm only to have no hot water
- No wifi in the rooms only in the check in area
- Cold floors bring slippers
- No free breakfast have to use the restaurant or go to the general store
- No hairdryers ( you have to go and ask for one)
- Rather overpriced for what you get

If you want to stay in the park and don't mind not having all the amenities of a regular hotel, then this is the place. It is really dark at night - be aware that there are bears around. We saw a family of bears just outside the entrance in a clearing. I wouldn't walk around there outside at night alone...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntlTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan R, Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback in regards to our quaint rustic cabins, we always appreciate feedback. Our cabins range in size, as they are part of the original homestead and settlement of Jackson Hole, WY. We strive to give genuine, authentic guest experiences through our piece of history. Thank you for staying with us and I welcome you back soon.

Ryan Rhoadarmer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We are in the Grand Teton National Park for the first time, and my sister and her husband booked rooms at Colter Bay. It is a place with about 165 cabins (some half of a duplex) in the middle of the Park and are just special. The cabins were most often built in the 1930s as parts of dude ranches that were purchased to become part of the park, and while rustic, have everything you need (though internet and phone services are limited). Great place to get away with a breathtaking view of the Tetons.

Room Tip: This place is a bit rustic, but the beds are good, the staff and other visitors have been special, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank del w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan R, Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
I greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback of Colter Bay Village. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our wonderful views and closeness to the wildlife of Grand Teton National Park. We look forward to hosting you again.

Ryan Rhoadarmer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayson
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a cabin in Colter Bay. If I could do it over again, I'd stay in Yellowstone or in Cody. This is a very rustic 100 year old cabin. The bed is very uncomfortable and the bathroom freezes, even with the heat on. But it really is way over priced. It's truly worth about $50-$60. The people are very helpful and friendly and the view you walk to at the water is truly amazing! We stayed in Mammoth Springs in Yellowstone in a cabin for $89 a night and we were much more pleased. I give Colter Bay such a bad rating b/c they charge you about three times what they should. Also, we stayed 2 nights and when we came back to the room the first evening, the room was how we left it. No clean towels for our showers the next morning. : (

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan R, Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Firstly, thank you for your response in regards to your stay here at Colter Bay Village. I am sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We do host our guests in rustic cabins ranging in age up to 118 years old, as they are apart of the original Jackson Hole homesteads. I appreciate your feedback and I hope you enjoyed the view and experience here in Colter Bay. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do to assist in the future.

Ryan Rhoadarmer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane,
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our cabin was basic but comfortable and perhaps a bit overpriced for what was there. A bit disappointing there was no fridge or kitchen facilities, but understandable with the bears foraging problem. On one of the nights there was a power outage, but it was repaired within a few hours after a courier was sent round the cabins updating guests about the problem. The range of food at the restaurants was not the best, but a good meal may be had at the Jackson Lake Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bksimon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan R, Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your response. I am very glad you were comfortable during your stay here at Colter Bay Village. Our proximity to wildlife does raise caution when dealing with cabin kitchen facilities, but I greatly appreciate your understanding. We do have a newly revamped menu at our Restaurant here, but I would always recommend a meal at our sister property, Jackson Lake Lodge. I welcome you back in the future and thank you for your feedback.

Ryan Rhoadarmer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
3.7 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
18.0 mi away
Grand Targhee Resort
22.6 mi away
Teton Teepee Lodge
Teton Teepee Lodge
#1 of 4 in Alta
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 14 in Grand Teton National Park
1,894 reviews
9.7 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#4 of 14 in Grand Teton National Park
422 reviews
11.7 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Property: Colter Bay Village
Address: Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing