We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colter Bay Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
Loveland, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed in our share of cabins and this one was just average. The drawbacks-you are connected to another cabin and yes-the walls are thin so you will hear your neighbors.
No coffee service in the cabin is kind of a bummer in the morning as it guarantees a trip to the store or gas station for a $1.89 cup of joe. We were not told on check-in there was complimentary breakfast so we missed that perk-ugh. We got it the second day though when we checked out when they finally mentioned this.
The rooms are large and cold and cavernous and the logs are little dirt/dust collectors inside so expect bugs and such.
Would not stay here again-may as well stay in a hotel room and be more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techblukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    440
    191
    63
    39
See reviews for
487
376
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second time staying in the cabins in Coulter Bay Village. We arrived on 8/19 and left on 8/24. We had a cabin with 2 full beds and a twin. //there were 3 adults and 2 children under 5. The cabin had cobwebs hanging from rafters and the vinyl tile floors looked like they were from the 50's and were permanently discolored. I myself think they floors would look better and be easier to maintain if they would clean all the glue and tile off of the concrete, stain the concrete and seal it. The floors would also be a lot easier to maintain and clean. The floors were not all that clean and there were clumps of dust under the beds. The shower in the bathroom had snot on the walls from somebody blowing their nose and the cloth shower curtain had mildew all across the bottom. They cleaned the bathroom better and replaced shower curtain the second day when they cleaned. The third day we came back and nothing was cleaned and all towels not replaced. It was about 10pm when we got in that night and the fellow from the office came right down and got beds put back together and clean towels delivered. The 4th day they left 3 towels and no washcloths for 5 people. They need to have their management staff supervise their college kids that they have cleaning the rooms better. The mattresses were lumpy and hard and pillows were very flat. Had to fold pillow over to get high enough to sleep. All in all it was very pathetic for the +$200.00 a night it cost us. Also the lake is extremely low due to the Idaho farmers making them release their water shares for the crops in Idaho. If they would of let us know or had something on their website when we booked the end of February we would of found other accommodations. There is hardly any water in the bay and they cannot even launch their boats that they use to give lake tours on. Most likely will not return here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdwar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Assistant General Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of Colter Bay. I would like to apologize that your housekeeping service was not up to our expectations during your stay. I have addressed your issues with the housekeeping management staff in order to correct these mistakes and ensure that no other guests experience these inconsistencies. The marina has just recently been closed due to low water levels, and I apologize if this was not communicated clearly to you in the last few weeks that this occurred. The marina portion of our website has been updated to reflect these changes. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip through the Tetons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in a cabin; not one of the tent cabins, but a real, honest-to-goodness log cabin. According to a history sheet posted in it, it was built in the 1930's on a nearby ranch before being moved to Colter Bay and reassembled into a unit with another cabin, with bathrooms in between the cabins. But there is precious little between the bathroom and the other cabin; while in the bathroom late at night, I could distinctly hear a woman on the other side of the wall sigh and turn over in her sleep. The cabin was far larger than we needed; there were two double beds and a twin bed for the two of us. But this was what was available. When we arrived, the floor showed footprints in dirt that had been tracked in. At our request, someone came promptly to clean the floors better. The cabins have been updated marginally; there is electric service, but not many outlets. There are few lights for such a large cabin, so the interior is somewhat dark. (In the bathroom, the energy saving bulbs they use take fully a minute to warm up and provide decent illumination if they haven't been on for a while.) Cabins are set among trees, so the shade helped keep the cabin relatively cool on hot days. There is a heater, which we used to take the chill off on the 40 degree mornings (in mid-August). Ice is available at several locations in the complex, and there is Wi-Fi service in four places. There are a restaurant and a casual grill located within the cabin complex, and a grocery and laundromat nearby. Colter Bay is a beautiful area, on Jackson Lake with, of course, mountains in the distance. Staying in a cabin was not our preference, but it was all that was available when we made reservations. Yet it seemed quite in keeping with the scenery all around us, and we enjoyed ourselves. If we return to Grand Teton National Park, we will try to reserve early enough to give ourselves more options. But I would not be all that unhappy to stay in a Colter Bay cabin again. I would just prefer a stand-alone cabin without people listening from the other side of the bathroom. The staff we encountered were uniformly friendly and helpful. When we arrived, my wife was unhappy with the cleanliness of the floor. When she brought it to the attention of the staff, they immediately sent someone over to clean it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredRNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a semi- private cabin for the nights of June 8th and 9th. It had a decent sized room with two twin beds and a bathroom down the hall. Although the bathroom was detached it was nice that it was under the same roof so you would not have to go out after dark or through the rain/weather. The shower was small and reminiscent of a college dorm room. It was adequate but certainly not something I would like to use too often. The room was fine although we did notice a couple of small spiders.

You are staying here for one reason - the price. I really cannot complain because we only stayed here to save money. If you want luxury you will have to spend more to stay elsewhere. We opted to stay here as we barely spend any time in the room anyway. Colter Bay was not particularly central to most of the overlooks or places you probably want to see in Grand Teton National Park. It was convenient to get to Oxbow Bend for sunrise though.

All in all, the accommodations were just adequate - it is a cheap place to lay your head after a long day of site seeing. If it is within your budget, I would stay at one of the other lodges in the park. The staff at the front desk were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DH6040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARPON SPRINGS
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently spent two nights in a duplex cabin at Colter Bay on our national park trip this summer. The staff at check-in were very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable and we shared the bathroom with my brother and his wife. The cabins are conveniently located near the general store where you can purchase any items needed, including ice, etc. They are also within walking distance to the two dining options available at Colter Bay. The only downside to the cabins in my opinion is the price. They are quite a bit more expensive than the price we paid for other similar cabins in Yellowstone and Glacier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

As the title says, we LOVE the Grand Tetons and we LOVE Colter Bay. It's a beautiful place to stay with nice, friendly staff. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that Jackson Lake was extremely low this year in mid-August which was somewhat disappointing. Hopefully, one day we'll be back there again for a third stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWatkinsVT1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Clean, cozy and affordable. Best of all, they allow dogs. The cabins are nestled throughout the pines and some of them actually have a view of the Tetons. There is a great store within walking distance for ice, snacks, coffee, etc. We saw deer early in the morning close to our cabin. Hiking, Jenny Lake and much more close by. The cabins and the nature experience exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
3.7 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
18.0 mi away
Grand Targhee Resort
22.6 mi away
Teton Teepee Lodge
Teton Teepee Lodge
#1 of 4 in Alta
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 14 in Grand Teton National Park
1,896 reviews
9.7 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#4 of 14 in Grand Teton National Park
422 reviews
11.7 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Property: Colter Bay Village
Address: Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing