We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colter Cabin Spacious/Quaint for family of 6”
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colter Bay Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Colter Cabin Spacious/Quaint for family of 6”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nice place to stay for our family of 6 -- two teens, two adults & two kids. 4 beds. what a treat for two of us!

the cabins were built in the 30s, and were very rustic and clean. The kids all liked how spacious the cabins were and how there was so much room to spread out!! we did not miss the tv and phones. it was relaxing without them.

We got a two-room, 4-bed cabin with a basic bathroom and small hallway connecting the two rooms. it was not deluxe, but it came with towel service and housekeeping every day. Info written and posted on the history of the cabins which we enjoyed.

my husband can remember staying there as a child. thank you for such a nice time, and now our kids will remember their time staying at colter bay!

Room Tip: book early. located decently to yellowstone, and throughout grand tetons
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGBG4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    430
    185
    63
    38
See reviews for
468
367
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent an all-too-short one night at the Colter Bay RV Park during our trip out west this summer. We would have definitely stayed longer, but we did not plan far enough ahead and the campground was -- understandably -- completely full.

Colter Bay Village is very large, with a large section of cabins and two campgrounds. The "RV Park" of the campground has full electric and water hook-ups, the other section does not. We were traveling with a pop-up camper and wanted the hook up. I will admit to being skeptical of the name "RV park," but I was very pleasantly surprised. Though the campground is huge, it is HEAVILY wooded and the sites are very good sized. Especially nice is the layout, which means that every site is a pull-through. Even with all this, you get a definite camping feel. It is very quiet, rustic and woodsy. The only downside would be the lack of fire rings, but I fully understand their exclusion due to fire concerns.

You should note that there are only bathrooms in the RV Park area -- showers are located in the launderette building. You have to pay separately for them BUT they are very nice. You also have the option of "renting" a towel, which was nice.

Though the campground was full, our night was very quiet and extremely relaxing. As I noted, we could have easily stayed much longer, had we planned ahead

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellieVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Assistant General Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Colter Bay Village RV Park! The RV Park does stay relatively full throughout the summer, but we do take reservations through our Reservations department. The RV Park is located in a very wooded area next to the Colter Bay picnic area and beach. We don't allow fires in the RV Park, but there are many beautiful spots for campfires along the beach and picnic area. I'm so glad your stay was relaxing and peaceful, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
261 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in a small cabin that had a double bed and a desk. Our cabin had a 'shared bathroom'. This was a little confusing: it truly was A bathroom with a toilet, sink and shower. So, are you supposed to 'share' as you would a bathroom with more than one of each of the aforementioned...like in a campground? Or, is it yours until you are done? Anyway, our bathroom was acceptable and we were to share with 4 other cabins in the same 'unit'. You unlock/lock the door as you enter or exit the Bathroom. There are linens provided and the bed is fairly comfy. It is an OLD cabin, so DO not expect new, or the look of clean as we know it!! The cabins are close to all other activities at Colter Bay. For the price to be in the park, I think I would stay again.

Room Tip: Keep your expectations in line. This is not a hotel!! This is more of just a place to sleep as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammak61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We arrived early at Colter Bay and requested a detached cabin, as recommended by a previous reviewer. We were given one at the top back corner - it was quiet and reasonably private. Having just come from Canyon Lodge in Yellowstone, we were pleasantly surprised by the more upmarket cabin here. Clean, spacious, pleasant decor, and not as spartan! Certain amenities were missing but we had all the basics we needed - it is a national park, not a city hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here - we walked in great weather, picnicked on the lake (what a setting!), shopped at the best grocery store we had yet come across in a national park. One downside was the construction work on the road with a stop/go arrangement which meant the traffic backed up. However one just had to be patient! We ate at the Ranch restaurant which was really good - delicious soup, fresh salad and wonderful slow-cooked chicken! Also very efficient friendly service. Buffet breakfast the following morning was of a similarly good quality. The maintenance standards and general upkeep in Grand Tetons NP impresses us more than Yellowstone - we would definitely stay at Colter Bay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary689_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Assistant General Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Colter Bay Village. The grocery store has a great selection and the Ranch House has something for everyone! We strive to upkeep the area in a way that preserves the natural environment around us, but continues to enhance the guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had 3 nights here as family of 5 (kids 11, 9, 7). We wanted the cabin experience rather than resort. Our room had two doubles and one twin. Doubles are small for two adults sharing but were great for kids. Loved our cabin. Parking right outside. Quiet. Restaurant and café suitable. Very well situated with visitor info, activities booth, small store. View of the Grand Tetons from the shore was priceless. Very calming. We drove up to Yellowstone two days in a row from here and it isn't that far. Maybe an hour to get into the park but there's so much to see and look out for that you don't notice the distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandmwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Assistant General Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of Colter Bay Village. Our two-bedroom cabins are great for families as is the Marina and the surrounding area. One of the nice things about Colter Bay is that it's in the heart of Grand Teton National Park, but also not very far from all Yellowstone has to offer. We hope you will come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in the Colter Bay Cabins. The first stay was over 20 years ago- not much has changed. But the cabins are intended to be rustic. They are clean and functional and located in the middle of one of the most beautiful parks in the world. If you are looking for luxury you will not be happy but if you want the feel of camping out without really having to rough it then you will enjoy the simplicity of the cabins. There is no TV, or telephone. Even wireless reception is difficult unless you go down to the office. We had a great cabin with two beds, a shower and toilet. It was clean and the heater worked. What else do you want in the middle of the Tetons? I look forward to staying there again. The only negative is the price. Even though they are in a highly coveted location I think the cabins are slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPB627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Assistant Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Colter Bay and visiting us again 20 years after your first trip! One of the great things about Colter Bay is that the beauty of the cabins and the area stays very much the same year after year. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
394 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I didn't rate them excellent as they are not as centrally located as I would like - northern end of the park. I made my reservations a year ago, but if I recall, this was the cheapest option to get 2 rooms and a bath. The bedrooms are good size and the bath very simple...think rustic cabin with the luxory of a shower, sink and toilet, and heat. Which we used both nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nav1go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly C, Assistant General Manager at Colter Bay Village, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for joining us at Colter Bay Village! We are located in the north end of Grand Teton National Park, which allows for easy access to both Grand Teton and Yellowstone. In the beginning of the season, it does get chilly, but all cabins are equipped with heaters and plenty of blankets. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in the Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
3.7 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
18.0 mi away
Grand Targhee Resort
22.6 mi away
Teton Teepee Lodge
Teton Teepee Lodge
#1 of 4 in Alta
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#2 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,823 reviews
9.7 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#4 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
412 reviews
12.4 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Property: Colter Bay Village
Address: Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing