We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cabins to stay in”
Review of Colter Bay Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colter Bay Village
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice Cabins to stay in”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I love to visit the Grand Teton National Park in Wyoming. We stayed at the Colter Bay village in a 1-bedroom cabin. We took the kids and had more room than we needed. The rooms and beds were very clean and comfortable. They have a dark look inside but they are cabins built in the 1930’s. the cabin cost us $170 per night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    433
    187
    63
    38
See reviews for
472
368
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our stay in two of the Colter Bay cottages was great: Cabins in the woods with deer right outside the window in the morning. Very comfortably furnished, pleasing quiet setting, and the Country Store is extremely well provisioned, including lots of goodies for breakfast and excellent coffee. Our stay in Colter Bay was planned to be an experience different from the other hotels along on this trip, including the Old Faithful Inn in Yellowstone and The Irma Hotel in Cody, Wyoming - and it proved very satisfying in just that different way. No phones, TVs, WiFi in the cabins, of course, but good WiFi access in the cabin office.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cm705cora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in a log cabin in Colter Bay Village in Grand Teton National Park in early September, and it was amazing. The accomodation is not lavish, all the cabins are in the woods, and are functional, but if you prefer luxury then I don't think you'd stay here. We stayed because we wanted to be close to wildlife, and relative wilderness. Easily accesible trails are close by, and a good road to access other places nearby. The food at Coulter Bay Lodge was a bit heavy, and not too much variety, although they do a good sturdy hikers breakfast, but overall it gave us what we needed, which was a convenient base to explore Grand Teton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_Ann29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were in a Colter Bay Cabin for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The cabins are nothing fancy. They are all log cabins moved here in the 30's and and surrounded by a pine forest. If you enjoy a natural setting, you'll love it. It's very quiet and relaxing. We were near the Guest Lounge, which has easy chairs for relaxing, desks for using your computer and accessing the free wifi, and tables where you can share a drink or play a game with friends. That location is also close to the lake and the restaurant, so it's ideal. The office, which also has wifi, is open 24 hr a day in case you have any problems. The staff were really pleasant and friendly.
The only think we would have liked to change was that they put coffee makers in the cabins.

Room Tip: When you book, ask to be near the guest lounge if you want to use wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We've just returned to England after spending time in Wyoming and this was our 2nd stay in the cabins at Coulter Bay. Just love the peace, quiet and the wildlife and all the wonderful trails. Friends staying with us saw a bear on the last morning returning from the store with their 1st coffees of the day. Maybe it is because we come from a small crowded island but we just love this area and the rustic cabins. If you want all mod cons stay in a motel but you will be missing out. We had one of the cabins built in the 1930's for a John Wayne filmset so some history as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky160851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Your view of the Colter Bay cabins depends on how you think of them. If you think of them as camping, you are in great accommodations (beds! linens! private bathroom! hot shower! Windows with curtains! A real roof! Cute log cabin! Ice machine nearby!) If you think of them as a motel you might think of it as the worst motel you have ever stayed in (No heat in the bathroom or entry! You can hear your neighbors in the bathroom! 40+ year old sink and fixtures! One towel rack! No blow dryer! No clock! No phone! No coffee maker! No fridge! No air conditioning! Curtains let the light in!)

Once I got my mind into “we are camping in the woods” mode, I liked it. For camping it was deluxe. Colter Bay is a great location. From the cabins it was an easy walk to the lake (and marina), the general store and the laundry (which was still open in September, unlike most laundry places in Yellowstone). It was an easy drive to Jenny Lake or the Jackson Lake Lodge where we went for hikes and lunch. There are also hiking trails at Colter Bay. It was expensive for what we got ($180 plus tax) for a cabin with unheated bathroom, but it was fun for a few nights, and I assume the high price goes to upkeep of the park and maintaining the wilderness (I hope). I was happy while I was there, but I was also happy to get to the next place so I could wash and blow dry my hair! Would I stay again? Sure, for a few nights. The lake and mountain were beautiful and the location was great. But I would go into it knowing what to expect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesignCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Expensive for RV hookup at around fifty bucks. But it had great amenities and was very quiet. Lovely proximity to lake and good walks. Would strongly recommend. Much better than the grant village noisy rv park.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Teton National Park
3.7 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
18.0 mi away
Grand Targhee Resort
22.6 mi away
Teton Teepee Lodge
Teton Teepee Lodge
#1 of 4 in Alta
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,829 reviews
9.7 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#4 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
414 reviews
11.7 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colter Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colter Bay Village

Property: Colter Bay Village
Address: Grand Teton National Park, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Grand Teton National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Teton National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colter Bay Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colter Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colter Bay Village Hotel Grand Teton National Park
Colter Bay Village Grand Teton National Park, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing