We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple yet adequate!!!”
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Very simple rooms - no air - generally not needed - fans are in rooms and windows open -- part of a complex very close to canyon rim. Quick walk down a trail, 1/4 mile. The main building houses a very nice large variety of cafeteria style foods, pizza to salads to meals to burgers etc. Serves all day long. Hotel check in is here - sign up desk for canyon tours and services - bus stops at front door - and a very nice shop for souvenir's. If only spending 1 night best value. Watch for wildlife around the area - Elk, Deer etc. nice location in the woods.
This was my 2nd stay here. Reservation and desk staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for building 1,3 or 5 -- 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,188 - 1,194 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Husband and i spent 2 nights here at north maswik bud lodge.
pros
back scene were trees nature
cool room
Ample queen beds
quiet at night
train rider just leave luggage in rm staff puts on train ensure you have tags on
feet away from canyon no need for transportation
shuttle bus is free even if not staying in hotel passes every 10 minutes

Cons
beds appeared to be worn
dim in room
Check in time is 4pm had to call aaa because even at 4pm our rm was not ready
Maswik cafeteria plain food not worth $
ac unit

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank believeingood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is very outdated. The room was dirty, the bed linens and towels were just awful. The sliding window to go outside to your "deck" was in such bad repair it was almost impossible to open! The a/c did not keep the room cool. We booked a package trip from the grand canyon railway with a train trip and bus tour of the rim. This was the only hotel that was offered to spend 1 night at the canyon. After a long day we had to stand in a long line to check in and then our room was not ready. The staff were not helpful or friendly at all. Our bus tour included lunch at a cafeteria at this hotel where once again we had to stand in a long line to get our food which could not be eaten. I am very disappointed that the AAA endorses this hotel for this package as there are several other hotels at the canyon that seem much better with decent food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vallirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our room was very outdated and had bugs, including some decent sized spiders. The bathrooms appear to have been updated in the last few years, but had not been cleaned very well. The bedspreads are very old and outdated. Didn't even want to touch them much less sleep under them.
The cafeteria had decent cafeteria style food.
Signs to denote where various rooms are would be helpful, as would lighting for people returning after dark from dinner or sunset tours.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BM8-11-1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

In a nutshell: I am giving this place 5 stars for location, cleanliness, friendliness of check-in staff, ease of reservations, and comfort. As long as you know that this isn't the Ritz, you won't be disappointed. It's basic and clean and you cannot beat the price or the fact that you are a few minutes walk from the GRAND CANYON!!

I have stayed at Grand Canyon lodges several times, always in the Maswik. This is a basic, super-clean, motel-styled lodge in a gorgeous setting. The rooms open to outdoor corridors like in the older hotels. The room is very functional, clean, and has everything you need. The beds were comfy, with clean sheets. The bathroom was small, but clean, with plenty of fresh towels. There’s a small frig, TV, coffee pot, and the heat works. There are 2 fans in the room, so I don’t know if there is airconditioning. There’s a little desk, but no wi-fi, except in the main Maswik area where you check-in.

LOVE the green aspect – shampoos and conditioners and body wash were in stationary, reusable containers, same with the hand soap and lotion at the sink (REALLY reduces plastic waste). I love staying in “green” hotels – but, unfortunately, they are few and far between; I appreciate that this place recycled and even had a recycle bin in the room!

What I love about this place, and other national park lodges, is dealing with the Xanterra Corp. Making reservations is incredibly easy and efficient. You have everything you need when you check in. The lady who checked me in at Maswik was wonderful – she was so nice and helpful, as are all employees from Xanterra I have come into contact with here and at other national park sites.

The rate was AWESOME considering I stayed a few steps from the Grand Canyon. The rate here was better that a rate I got an hour and a half away in Flagstaff, Arizona.

If you have ANY reservations about staying here, forget them. It exceeds all my expectations every time I stay here. Trust me!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent one night here to be near the rim of the Grand Canyon. Check in was easy and quick. The room was better than expected for park lodging. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Bathrooms appear to have been recently updated. Wifi was spotty in the room but got better the closer you were to the main building. Maswik has a nice cafeteria. Very short walking distance to Grand Canyon Rim and other south rim lodges.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gofar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We found the accommodation clean and comfortable. The rooms are large and close to the south rim, you can slip down and watch the early sunrise, just remember to take a jacket.
We found the food sufficient for what we needed. There was variety and whilst not an outstanding meal, it was fine for our needs.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marcelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,020 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $89 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing