We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We found the accommodation clean and comfortable. The rooms are large and close to the south rim, you can slip down and watch the early sunrise, just remember to take a jacket.
We found the food sufficient for what we needed. There was variety and whilst not an outstanding meal, it was fine for our needs.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    1,168
    867
    223
    90
See reviews for
1,131
921
89
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in the cabin area of Maswik Lodge. the cabins were neat and clean. They had ceiling fans and heaters . Also coffee makers and a frig. Parking was at your door. The cafeteria had good selections at resonable prices. The walk to the rim was about 5 minutes.
A pleasent surprise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mslbwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Husband booked a room for June 13th-We checked in our room on June 13th and found out the air conditioner did not work-staff told us it takes about 10 minutes for the air con to turn on-After 15 minutes we complained to staff-the room did not appear clean and the queen beds had dirty bedspreads, took bedspreads off the bed only to find the blankets were not clean either. Called the registration office and staff agreed with me that the bedspreads do not get cleaned often(mostly never)--yuck--we canceled our reservation but staff was nice enough not to charge us for the room--and they re-booked us at the Yuvapai lodge. If you like a clean room and clean bed--this is not the place to stay

Room Tip: we left before we could comment on sleep quality but the mattresses appeared to be well worn out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajunandmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Canyon National Park hotels

Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This place looks straight out of the 70's. Broken down and old facade that has not been updated in decades. The rooms are tired and gross. Sheets had holes in them, bathing towels so rough you could exfoliate with them. Moldy smell in rooms. Blanket is paper thin. I can go on and on and on. The front desk staff is not overwhelmingly helpful and the dining options are terrible. Oh the TV is from the 90's a 25 inch tube TV which kept getting pixelated signals in. Come on this place was BAD.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rustinkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Front Desk Staff seemed uncaring for client needs. Food in the cafe was consistently of a poor quality; either dry or cold. And then, one had to walk from afar to reach the main building to eat. The room was small, dark, and had a noisy a/c unit. The grounds at night could be dark as there did not seem to be appropriate lighting. Poor planning on my part here will not be repeated. This was a less than pleasant resort stay.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We choose the Maswik lodge because of the lower rates than other hotels located along the Rim. After all when going to the Grand Canyon will you really be in your room that much??

I would highly reccomend getting a room with AC no matter what time of year you travel. Our trip was in March 2014, it was in the 30s at night and 70s during the day. Having AC after a long day of hiking really helps out.

The room was tremendous by today's standards. Vaulted ceilings were 14 feet high and a fan that helped keep the entire room cool. Overall I would say the room was 'rustic' but again you are at the Grand Canyon the scenery outside trumps everything. Beds were comfortable, bathroom clean.

There is a cafeteria there serves a wide variety of food just steps away from the lodges that we enjoyed eating.

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who wants to be in walking distance to the Grand Canyon and have a great price. Would not change a thing!

Room Tip: Choose rooms with Air Conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vulcanfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

So, this is the least expensive lodge at the South Rim; one therefore expects that it will be a bare bones kind of place. It is. It's the kind of place that needs updating desperately - where you clean it and it still doesn't look clean- especially the shower area. The beds were okay - mattress were a bit uncomfortable. Still, it was as clean as they could get it. The other negative is it's away from the rim of the canyon, unlike the other lodges at the South Rim. Even the outside landscaping looks run down and haggard. Oh - and NO air conditioning. Just fans. yikes. A step up from camping, I suppose. We wouldn't stay here again. The price is the positive. Very low. So you get what you pay for, which make sense.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Property: Maswik Lodge
Address: 1 Main St, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing