We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet and Cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my girlfriend in September. No view of the canyon, but a very short walk to the south rim. It is very close to the cafeteria and the free shuttle bus is right in front.

Would stay here again if visiting the Canyon. Try and get the top floor though, as it squeaked every time we walked and I felt sorry for the people staying below us.

Room Tip: Try and get top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loosenut1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    1,166
    866
    222
    89
See reviews for
1,129
919
88
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

If you have no mobility issues it’s great! There are several little complexes strewn about, most have ice and vending in each complex. Located close to the dining cafeteria. There are no views of the canyon but the wildlife does roam about in the morning and evening hours. It’s a quaint place with a nice bathroom and an average sized room with a table and 2 chairs. They are mostly down hill from the cafeteria and the lighting is not very good at night. The housekeepers were very polite and attentive. Be aware that the Contracted company hires foreign exchange students in all facets of jobs it’s a nice experience for all.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a room closer to the cafeteria. If you want to see deer in the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipB955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I know they are going for a log cabin look and feel but overall the place is old, run down and in real need of a make over. It was barely tolerable.

However it was very nice to stay inside the park. Park shuttle bus stops right in front of the Maswik and restaurant on premise is convenient, fairly priced and good quality. Maswik also has pizza pub on premise.

Walking outside your room and being 5-8 minutes walking distance from Grand Canyon west rim would be only reason to pay for a room inside park. "2" for hotel quality, especially given $189/ night price, but up to "3" given convenient location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank befkatela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Mule deer and Elk wandering around the lodge in the mornings and evenings, combined with the proximity to the south rim, made this venue a perfect location. Close to the shuttle bus stops for both the Red and Blue lines. We traveled the complete south rim from Hermit's point to Desert View, and the scenery was breathtaking at every stop. Sunrise at Hopi point was awesome, although at 32F, we were happy we had warm clothes, gloves and knit hats.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBill217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

E X P E N S I V E. Far overpriced room for what you get. Door had poor seals / insulation, could hear everyone outside as they were coming and going. Heater / ac unit kept the room at an even temperature, but snapped on every 15-20 minutes with a loud clunk, waking you up just as you got to sleep. I liked the soap / shampoo dispensers and the ceiling fan, everything else about the room was fine. But man, I'll stay in Flagstaff next time and commute. Save myself $70-$80 a night, get a far better room, and a huge breakfast to boot. We were supposed to stay 3 nights, cancelled our last one and stayed a night in Flagstaff so we could check out Sedona. Great move. No cancellation fee, which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: North rooms are better, pick upstairs if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8Zebra211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Canyon National Park hotels

Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. He was very patient explaining to me where our room was. We arrived very late at night and we were all very tired. The place could use some lighting outside as it was very dark.

The food court was ok, lots of choices. Pizza place was very busy, nothing special here either, but you are inside the park. Not bad if you are very hungry!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank layas1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Would have given this another half star if able to. Rooms are located in clusters of buildings yards from the main office/gift shop/dining area. Room was very large and had a nice little balcony. Bathroom had fairly recently been renovated and tiled and was nice. The heat in the room was a little strange and didn't really keep a consistent temperature, but was adequate. If you are on the second floor you'll be carrying all your stuff up stairs, so be aware if that is an issue for you.

We saw a half dozen deer and a fox within 15 minutes of arriving and more deer and elk were visible from the balcony during our stay. The lodge is really close to two tram stations, one to the west end of the paved roadway and multiple trails and overlooks, the other heading into the village and other stations, trails and overlooks. There are also several trails and points of interest within walking distance of the lodge. You can walk to the rim in 5+ minutes.

Would stay here again next time at the Canyon.

Room Tip: We were in the Mesquite building, which was farthest from the dining/shopping and check-in building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomK959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Property: Maswik Lodge
Address: 1 Main St, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing