We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I recently did an impromptu drive to the Grand Canyon since I want to see the canyon in Winter with snow. I was lucky enough to get a night in Maswik Lodge. From an outer appearance, it looked old but inside it was perfectly neat and clean. The A/c took some time warm up the room but had a good night sleep. The restaurant is just stone throw away and it's a good walk to the west rim dr. Overall, I enjoyed staying here even though it was a short stay.

Room Tip: Try to stay in Cabin style rooms near to the railway tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgmkjsekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 2,982 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here during our Grand Canyon visit. I found the room to be comfortable and spacious. Good water pressure in the shower and I LOVED the lemon grass shampoo, conditioner and body wash they supplied. You could tell the that the beds were not new, but they were not bad- we slept just fine on them, no complaints.
All of the rooms seemed to be within a short walk to the main lodge where the gift shop, cafeteria and pizza pub was. We ate breakfast twice and lunch once in the cafeteria area and for supper one night we had a pizza- and it was great especially after a long day of walking all around and sightseeing. We were able to grab a beer too!
I would stay here again for sure. Slept great and the price was great too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bethany O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just arrived home from a trip to the Grand Canyon and since I didn't have a car this trip, staying at Maswik was most convenient. The shuttle from Phoenix dropped me off at Maswik's lobby. Once at the park it was very easy to use the Park Service shuttles or to schedule a tour bus to reach areas beyond the shuttle routes.

My room was in the White Fir building on the north side of the lodge, and I had a lovely view of the woods and wildlife.The second-floor room was very quiet, clean and comfortable. While I could not access WiFi in the room, it was a short walk to the lobby and food court area where complimentary WiFi access was readily available. I enjoyed a few meals at the food court and Pizza Pub and if I wanted something else, it was a five-minute walk to other dining options at the rim lodges.

Maswik was a great starting point to get where I wanted to go each day, and to return to during the day before heading out again. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and enjoyed this home away from home for my six-night stay.

Room Tip: I prefer second-floor rooms, and enjoyed my room in the White Fir building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have been to four the different lodging facilities at the Canyon over the years but found this one to be at the bottom of the barrel.

I get that they cater to tourists who come and go but it just seems they could do better.

A rehab of the rooms would help.

The setting is of course hard to beat.

The food is a bit overpriced but you expect that at a National Park.

The staff was slightly above average but honestly not as friendly as I have seen in the Canyon before.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

If you are on a budget and would still like to be on the Grand Canyon Village for your whole stay then this is the hotel you are looking for. Located just a few minutes from the rim. Stayed on the White Fir Building, room was comfortable and clean. Make sure you are on the ground floor if you have lots of luggages or bag to unload, as there are no elevators in here. Before you check in, Make sure that you have all the food, utensils and other stuff (flashlight/battery/firstaid) that you need, as everything closes at night and there are not too many options either for food within the Village itself. If you want a decent restaurant, you have to go out of the Village. Also, you might want to book early as rooms within the Grand Canyon Village seems to ran out quite easily. Would still stay here if ever given a chance to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mbkulafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I visited the Grand Canyon over Christmas and had a pleasant stay at Maswik Lodge.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and a decent size. It's a lodge like hotel and your at the Grand Canyon so what can you expect? It's not the Four Season's. I didn't eat at the cafeteria so I can't speak for the food there. It's close to El Tovar if you choose to go there (don't miss eating at the restaurant). There's not internet in the rooms, so be aware of that. Cell service is okay in the area with slow data service on AT&T.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WSG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

It is reasonable that this hotel is expensive but there is no wifi and the room is pretty small in the Great Canyon area. However, the room is still clean and warm. In addition, it is convenient to go to the Canyon from the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank trochanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,666 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,050 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 202 South Village Loop Drive, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $64 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing