We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually somewhere between Average and Poor (AND expensive)”
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Reviewed December 8, 2013

$176 for a Room with en suite bathroom was in our opinion, taking into consideration he quality of the room, its size, location (nearest the railway line), its amenities, and awesome WiFi (non-existent, despite repeated assurances) was very expensive.

However as it was packed (The whole of the South Rim Lodgings, Camp Ground, RV Park etc) maybe they have grounds to believe they can charge what on earth they like. Value for money and Service appeared irrelevant considerations.

A view amply endorsed by our experiences at El Tovar (drinks) and Bright Angel for Dinner and Breakfast.

The Buses that drove one around the Rim were the only bright spot in what was otherwise a thoroughly disappointing 1st Visit to the Grand Canyon - just a big hole, as a friend described it. How right he was.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safariholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 2,958 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is the 2nd time I stayed in the park. The last time with Yavapai lodge which was more fancy than this. Maswik Lodge is not bad at all. It is a little small but cozy and clean! Its close to the cafeteria and not too far from the rim. Customer service was good!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MenglembuMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a no-frills place - nothing fancy -- but perfectly suitable for a family trip. It is comfortable with good heat on the cold mornings and well maintained. Everything worked. There was plenty of hot water and even a small fridge and microwave. The cleaning staff was friendly and efficient. It was close to the dining area. It was also very accessible to transportation and the rim. It was altogether satisfactory.

Room Tip: Try to arrive before dark, as it is somewhat difficult to find after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolegth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Rooms are ok, clean and just right for a family of 2adults and 2 kids. The lodge could be rated as a 1 to 2 star property. However, you can't beat it's location and since we only stayed overnight - the accommodation did not matter much. I liked the fact that when we entered our room the temp was set at a toasty 75C...it really helped a lot because the night we checked in, the temp was at 38C outside - so walking in to a warm room was heaven for our family... Our building number was 5 and unfortunately we did not get to see Elks outside our window...too bad my kids were really waiting for the elks to show up...The lodge was quiet except when people from above us walk inside their room - you can hear and feel every step they take...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDM1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Maswik Lodge is located in Grand Canyon National Park run by the Park and Xanterra Parks & Resorts.

Maswik Lodge is located on the west side of the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. This lets visitors to stay inside the park rather than staying outside in some chains or bb's few miles away from the park. It helped me for getting out and reaching my sunrise destination easily the next morning. Also we were able to watch some wildlife inside the park.

But the bedding and sleeping arrangements felt average ; I don't know if it is by design. The cabin feel to the exterior wall of the lodge gives it a nice touch with the environment. And the food court in the lodge is reasonable and nicely managed !

Room Tip: There are 2 other lodges run by same team in the park which is better than this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uraees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Although this lodge is not on the rim, we preferred these accommodations to the cinder block walls of the Thunderbird, where we stayed 10 years ago. The lodge buildings are quiet and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff are kind and helpful. I would recommend this location.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank AllisonFromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights, the first night our room was on the first level and we could hear a lot of jumping and running from the children upstairs so even though that room was very nice we asked if we could be moved to an upstairs room. I think the building we were in was named yellow pine. They were very helpful and accommodating and arranged the switch quickly, before noon we were in our new room. I had read a number of negative reviews about Maswik and their staff but we didn't experience anything negative, rather the staff was great, friendly and helpful. We thought the location was great too, just walk to the rim. We did see the mule deer one night when we went to dinner, that was a treat. We couldn't get wifi in our room but had no trouble getting it in the cafeteria. It is very dark at night so you do need a flashlight, had my phone with me, just used the flashlight feature it had, that was bright enough

Room Tip: An upstairs room is quieter. The ADA rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,611 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,022 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $86 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing