We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Section Rooms”
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Family of six (4 adults and 2 children) on a road trip.

Booked two adjacent rooms in the north section for a night for $176.00+ per room. Contrary to most reviews, the rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet.

Upon arrival, we had the opportunity to watch deers linger a few feet outside our rooms.

The location is not far from information, general stores/souvenir shops, shuttle buses and some view points.

Room Tip: The rooms in the north section are pricier, but well worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWSYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,920)
There are newer reviews for Maswik Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 2,921 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

While I understand the predicament our National Park System is in, I do NOT hold them to the same hotel standards as I do other chains.
Understand that this park, as most of them are, is historic, meaning OLD. I don't expect a lot but I do expect things in the room to be in working order.
We waited several hours for our room to even be ready for us to move into. Once in, some lights did not work, the fan didn't work and the air conditioning was sub-par.
I must say, these are minimal issues when we were "out west roughing it", but at the end of a long, hot day in the park, we just wanted to get in our room and have things work.
Having said that, Maswik had the best park store for gifts and the best café/pizza in the park.
Overall disappointing. Would probably change dates of travel if Maswik were the only accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mibusyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I never expert much when staying at national park lodging, but this room was actually pretty nice. It was spacious, decent bed, and bathroom looked recently remodeled. Everything was very clean. Easy access to the shuttle bus. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris6998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked the Grand Canyon Railroad Pkg including overnight in the Canyon. Pkg did not give us a choice of Lodges but this was the worst room I've seen in years. It was ancient in every way, smelled, sheets and blankets were stained and torn, and the bedspread, OMG how old was that thing? We usually leave bathroom light on as nightlight but couldn't as the fan and light were one and noise was way too loud for sleeping. I don't really have one nice thing to say about the room (they told us we actually had one of the best rooms they offer) - the Lodge itself was OK, friendly, good food in the food court, nice gift shop, convenient to the shuttles. If given an option - we probably would have been happier at any of the other Lodges in the Canyon. The Railroad Package needs to rethink the Lodge they contract in the Canyon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjsanddvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We bought the Grand Canyon Railway Plus package for my husbands 60th Birthday on August 26th overnight. All in all it was a wonderful time.... however once we checked into the Maswik Lodge it was disturbing. The room was a good size, bathroom was clean, descent hot water, but the bed sheets and bedspreads were disgusting!!! We were in the Yellow Pine building bottom floor. There were stains on the sheets and it wasn't a fitted sheet, just a flat sheet that you could see through. The bedspreads were from 1970 and dirty looking. I slept on a towel and luckily my husband and I always bring our own pillow. This is unacceptable!! I didn't' expect a 4 or even 3 star hotel, but I DO expect clean sheets and bed spreads. I have and will continue to NOT recommend this lodge! Stay at the Bright Angel or if you can afford it the EL Tovar, you will thank me.... trust me.

Room Tip: Choose another lodge or make sure you bring your own sheets!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennysheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked on somewhat short notice since we wanted to stay in the park so I was thrilled to get a room. The Maswik was the only place with availability so I took it. The online room pics made me think this might be an adventure (and not necessarily a good one). But I was pleasantly surprised. The room was basic but clean. And the location was a brief walk to the rim and two main bus lines. Overall, thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m3sulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Realise that we were in the Grand Canyon and not a city but we almost felt like a tent would have been better.
Accommodation was really BASIC with a NOISY portable fan that just moved the warm air around we sweated all night in our box and was glad when morning came so we could move onto our next hotel.
This is just a place to lay your head with absolutely no frills whatsoever

Room Tip: I don't think that exists here
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famousactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,520 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,986 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,724 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $89 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing