We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maswik Lodge serves us well.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Maswik Lodge serves us well.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

On our recent trip to the Grand Canyon, we stayed a t the park, in the Maswik Lodge, North. 2 queen beds, upper floor. Nice, clean, remodeled bathrooms, good distance from the shuttle and the Rim. Less crowds, wildlife right up near the lodge at night and in the morning. Pillows and mattress could be more comfortable, they were hard, but, it's the Grand Canyon...not a spa.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smhenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    1,169
    868
    223
    90
See reviews for
1,131
923
89
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

You really have to look at what you are paying for. The lodge is old and dated, no AC, dingy, but clean for the most part, but literally a 5 minute walk to the rim of the GRAND CANYON!! I consider this the economy room if you are visiting, bottom of the barrel. We visited July 27-29 of 2013, which was unusually cold for July. It never got above 75 degrees dropping to 50 at night. We all had jackets on for most of the day. I would say the rooms would be unbearable in extreme heat, but we were very comfortable.

The front desk was VERY helpful with all of our questions and concerns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

To get the most out of the Grand Canyon staying in the park is essential. Maswik lodge is a great value over places right on the rim. It is just a short walk and the buses take you everywhere. There is no reason to get in your car once there. We had the room with two queens and it was HUGE! A roll away bed would have easily fit in there, which is perfect for families. We had a relaxing balcony where it is super quiet in this area. The cafeteria is conveniently located nearby. The customer service from the phone reservation, to check-in, to housekeeping was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ctloog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great location but very basic and no aircon, meaning that if you go when it is hot, you cannot sleep. It's like being in an oven turned up to max heat. Horrible. Do not stay there in the summer for that reason.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoiAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grand Canyon National Park hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We got a last minute room for a few nights at Maswik lodge north. Check-in was smooth,and the front desk was helpful. The complex we stayed in was clean, large and had a great forest view out the window in which elk would at times would be grazing. The room also had air, which we thought we needed in July, but we really didn't because it cools down nice at night. The canyon is a five minute walk from the lodge. The food at the lodge was standard cafeteria at a higher price. If we had a choice we would choose a less pricey room at Maswik ( we paid 179, there are rooms for close to half that price as well) or at one of the other lodges. The beds were a little firm, and the cable was lacking, but hey, we didn't go to watch TV.

Room Tip: We didn't need the AC and the amenities for a big price tag
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familymann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family stayed in the Maswik Lodge for 2 nights during June of 2013 and we were very pleased with our stay. This was the Maswik South -- the section without the air conditioning. Some reviews which we had read had us a bit nervous, but we are rating our room and our stay as excellent! Sure, you can have room service and breakfast in bed in other motels, and maybe there are pools and hot tubs and other amenities at these places. But if you have traveled all the way from somewhere to the Grand Canyon, why would you be sitting in a hot tub or spending any time in the room anyway? See the amazing sights with the time you have! Our room was very quiet and allowed for great sleeping. It was clean, which is of utmost importance to us. Parking was simple and convenient. The location was nice -- it is a five minute walk to the actual Grand Canyon, but that means you are away from the confusion that is "over there." No air conditioning may be an issue if temperatures were really hot, but we found that we could take the fan that is provided and position it in front of the window or door to pull in the cool outside air, and that worked just fine. The Maswik South is half the price (or less) than all other lodging options in Grand Canyon Village, and it is worth every penny. Enjoy your savings! And don't avoid the cafeteria for your meals -- we were quite pleased!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBCBMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We visted the Grand Canyon for the first time in January. We intended to stay for one night but stayed for two. Facility very reasonable (read good value for money). Is more of a lodge than hotel type setting. The lobby and main building house a cafeteria style eatery, (actually eateries) and you have a variety of choices. This is not fine dining but very family freindly with something to accomodate different food preferences. Definitely would recommend for those looking for reasonable and family freindly environment.

Rooms again were not five star, but clean and comfortable and a decent size. Very suitable for the economical traveller and/or a family. We took the advice of freinds who stayed there in November and were glad we did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMax555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Property: Maswik Lodge
Address: 1 Main St, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing