We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory. Cheapest room in the park.”
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed in the the 'cabin' portion of Maswik lodge. Our cabin was one of four cabins sharing walls. Nothing special. No air conditioning. Ceiling fan. Two double beds. TV, small fridge, coffee maker. Small bathroom with shower. Small table and two chairs. I did like the fact that the bathroom came with Xanterras soaps/dispensers next to the sink and even in the shower. This was in walking distance to the Maswik lodge, where there is a gift store, registration, wifi and computer, cafeteria that includes a pizza pub that you can't see until you walk into the seating area. You will need to book these rooms (any lodging at the GCNP) atleast 4-6 months in advance. These were the cheapest rooms available for our family of 4. It was near the 'staffies' cabins. We did request more pillows and toilet paper and it was delivered promptly. It was fine for two nights...but might have been cramped if we stayed longer!

Room Tip: Book it early! Don't expect air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorgecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,440 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 3 week tour of the western US. This is the second time we have been here. The previous was in 1999 and we then stayed then in a deluxe room on the North Block, which was very comfortable and had air con.

We booked this tour through a UK travel agent who use Allied Tpro as their Ground Agents in the US and quite frankly our booking for this Lodge has been messed up. We asked our agent for a superior room but were given a “run of the house” room which as advised by the front desk is “whatever is available at the time and the cheapest”!

On checking in at Maswik, we were told that all the North Block rooms were full and that we had no option but to have a South Block room. We were assured by the front desk, that air con would not be needed, as it got very cool at night. Yeah right!

We did ask for a top floor room as we have had noise problems from people walking around on the wooden floors above, before. Unfortunately the top floor end room we were given was a room which had had the sun on it all day long. Despite two fans (one small one wall mounted and one larger free standing fan on continuously) the room was extremely hot. Basically the heat was trapped in the room because of the wall and ceiling insulation and there was no through draught/window at the back of the room to allow cooler air to circulate. The ceiling extractor fan in the bathroom at the back was useless and didn’t draw any of the heat out. The door and only window was at the front. The outside temperature during the day was in the low 90’s f but the temperature within the room was considerably higher and was probably in the high 90’ to 100’s. Basically we had two nights of unbearable heat within the room as it did not cool down, and the window was left open. This was despite the temperature outside dropping down to the low 40’s f. Severe heat warnings were being issued by the US authorities for the region when we were there and I’m glad we were not staying there a few days later when it must have been unbearable in the South Block Rooms.

In addition we found the room to be in need of modernisation. The décor in the room was very tired! One of the bed sheets had holes in them, the duvet covers were thin and worn, and the pillows on the two double beds were very uncomfortable. One of the bottom bed sheets did not fit. In addition the shower was set extremely low in height and the water jet hit you in the chest and you had to duck down to get a decent shower and the toilet seat and pan were extremely small!!

The TV was of an old type with very few channels available, although many are shown on the TV menu. Free Wi Fi is only available in the front lobby and café and was not very fast and dropped many times. Housekeeping was poor with some old towels that we put in the bath for changing were not removed, or replaced or even folded.

We have now stayed in a number of Lodges run by Xanterra in US National Parks and quite frankly this was the worst room, we have ever stayed in!

We did find the meals in the café to be edible and reasonably priced. The Pizza pub was pleasant.

Parking near to the Reception was a nightmare as the public, who go to the South Rim can park there as well! Parking by the Blocks was fine though.

As others have commented, try at all costs, if staying here during the summer months to get a North Block room with the air con. Don’t believe what the front desk tells you that air con is not needed for the South Block!

And Xanterra. – why don’t you refurbish the South Block Rooms?

Room Tip: Try & avoid South Block Rooms in the summer! No Air Con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I could have done without this place. I didn't sleep at all the one night we stayed here. The inside of the room was hotter than outside, and it was HOT outside. At night, it was about 95 degrees in the room, not exaggerating. We got a non air conditioned room thinking it would cool down at night- well it didn't. We had three fans oscillating the room and the window open. The screen on the window was bent, which made an opening, so bugs could easily get in. The way the room is set up, the sun is shining on it all day long. There is only one window in the front of the room so there is no way for the hot hair to vent out. The rooms were clean, but not that clean. Two of our pillows had huge blue stains on them. The pillows were tiny and not comfortable at all. The bed wasn't very comfortable, either. When I went in the bathroom to take a shower I thought I was going to pass hot. It was hotter than a sauna in there. People staying in the room next to us weren't happy either and were outside on the deck half the night. The rooms we stayed in were from walking distance to the maswik cafeteria, again not very impressed. Bland food and very expensive. Never again, what a nightmare.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fhv_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Maswik Lodge for 1 night as part of our Railway package. Our room was an "upgraded" room on the north side in the Juniper building. It had AC as well as a ceiling fan and temperature control was not a problem. The room also had a safe, and a mini-fridge. We were on the first floor so our room had a back "patio" with chairs we could go out a sit on to relax and watch nature (or the train go by). Lodging in the National Parks is in general rustic when compared to lodging on the outside, but you are in a Park and the point is to be experiencing that to some degree, even in your accommodation, at least in my view. Go in expecting rustic and you will be charmed rather than disappointed. We found this place to be a really nice stay, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aqlollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here for ! night as part of a tour. Temperature outside was 112degf but in our room was hotter. No air conditioning coffee machine still had coffee in it, fans were broken asked for another and it took 1 1/2hrs to get it and it didnot work properly. We couldnot sleep because the heat was unbearable and plugs on the wall didnot work. Others in the group had no fan, coffee machine didnot work and rubbish left in the room. would never recomend this accomodation to anyone. H and R N Z

Room Tip: Don;t bother go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Director of Sales at Maswik Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for writing about your experience in our Maswik Lodge at the Grand Canyon. I apologize that your expectations were not realized. These are our budget accommodations, and when we experience a heat wave, as we did during your stay, the rooms are difficult to cool. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate management for their information.

Thank you again for sharing your comments. It is guest comments, good and bad, that help us improve and keep in touch with what our guests are experiencing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Booked a North room and were glad as they are larger than the South rooms, also they are located further away from main house. The room was clean but it could do with a refurbishment, especially the carpet looked really old and worn. Also, there is no WiFi, which I think is necessary. We need WiFi to check emails, plan trips, check weather etc. There is a safe in the room which was great. We had problems with the door, which did not close very easily. You had to put all your weight in, to close and lock it. Our room was on the 2nd floor which we prefer as there is no noise from above. The lodge is close (walking distance 5 min.) to the rim. All in all it was a pleasant stay. Next time we visit Grand Canyon we will return to Maswik Lodge and book a North room. We would however, welcome a renovation of the rooms, especially replace the carpets with either new ones or even better replace them with floor tiles. This would make it easier to clean rooms.

Room Tip: North rooms are more spacious and they have air conditioning if you travel here in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southwest_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Mazwik Lodge is located in Grand Canyon Village.
We stayed there one night as part of a package from the Grand Canyon Railway so we didn't have a choice of rooms.
The main lodge houses the very busy front desk, a gift shop, a cafeteria and a pizza restaurant.
We ate one buffet and one cafeteria meal there.
It's noisy and can be crowded. The food was OK.
Our room was in one of several lodges spread out around the main lodge.
Ours was on the second floor of the two story "Redbud" lodge.
No elevators in Redbud. Don't know about the other buildings.
Our air conditioned room was spotless.
Two beds, a TV, and the standard motel room bathroom, but again, spotless.
The Mazwik complex is a short walk to the south rim of the canyon.
If we ever get back to Grand Canyon Village we would try to stay in Bright Angel Lodge or the El Tavor hotel/lodge.
Both are located right on the rim of the canyon.

Room Tip: There are some single story lodges if steps are a problem. You could ask for one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,020 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 1 Main St, PO Box 69910, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $89 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing