We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We drove from vegas, it can be tough to locate after sunset. Basic room with noisy heater, sounds like fan was on full whack.

Pity the rooms had no wifi. Had to walk 5 mins to main building for wifi and water.

Excellent location in the park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funnyloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    1,166
    866
    222
    89
See reviews for
1,129
919
88
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you want to stay in Grand Canyon Village on a budget. The staff were very welcoming at check-in and couldnt do enough to make your stay enjoyable.

The rooms are reasonably basic, but they are clean and comfortable, and given the price, they are more than adequate. The cafeteria was nice and offered a a wide range of cuisine for breakfast and dinner, and they have a nice little pizza pub if you want to partake of an evening tipple. They have quite a big gift shop on-site which stocks any kind of souvenir you might be looking for.

Most importantly, the hotel is a 3 minute walk from the south rim of the Grand Canyon. You just cant ask for a more convenient location at that price. I would have no hesitation going back to Maswik Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big_Lal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed one night, and the place is great because it is in the village. Too cold when we were there to walk anywhere. The room was tidy, did what it needed to do, as in daylight we were out looking at the wonders of the world outside.
Motel room near the canyon. It was not far to drive to see sunset/rise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was a great place to stay. Definitely one of my favorite locations to stay during our college trip studying sustainable public policy throughout Arizona. This was the most sustainable hotel we stayed in. The rooms were cozy. The lighting could have been better, though. The main lodge was nice and the gift shop was great. Xanterra is making a good effort to be more sustainable. The shuttle bus system was also very useful during our free time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Aspen building. I was impressed with the condition of the room, especially the bath area. My expectations were low, but the beds were comfortable, the temperature was easily controlled (there was adequate heat on very cold nights), and--if you're a walker--it's a great departure point for the trails and other lodges. I would definitely return and stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaMaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a true hiker's lodge. No frills, clean, very inexpensive, cafeteria dining and a pizza pub on-site, and the Grand Canyon just steps away. We stayed for one night during mid September; were supposed to stay longer but monsoon season kicked in so we moved on. Enjoyed entertainment at other hotels on the south rim - all within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieH0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We (husband, myself and 3 sons, ages 26, 23, and 16) traveled to the Grand Canyon just before Christmas and stayed in the Maswick Lodge. It was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and courteous. We asked for a roll away at check in and it arrived to our room before we did!!! The setting is beautiful!!! It was winter and there was snow on the ground so we did not get out on our balcony, but we had one that had a beautiful view. I have no desire to stay anywhere else when visiting the Grand Canyon. Cafeteria close and had great breakfast food for all of us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank momongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Property: Maswik Lodge
Address: 1 Main St, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing