We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but.............” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maswik Lodge
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, but.............”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Ten minutes' walk takes you to the rim of the Grand Canyon. So nothing wrong with the location of this hotel, but not much else to recommend it. Our room was rather dingy and depressing, the corridor outside did not get swept properly during our three day stay, and the tour service desk oftern appeared overwhelmed. The catering was a very basic cafeteria. True, there are other restaurants within walking distance, but these are not great either. When we stayed it was very hot, and we tried to get walking by about 0600. Unfortunately, breakfast did not start until 0700, and you could not even get to the free water tap before then.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    1,143
    851
    221
    87
See reviews for
1,101
910
87
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Left Vegas 4 in morning,5 hour drive, unable to check in until 4 so rented bikes (Bright Angels Bicycles) rode the rim if ur only here for a day best way to see the canyon .The room is ok motel style, good price and only 1000 feet from the rim

Room Tip: Eat at the pizza pub not the best pizza but not the worst
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here two nights in late November. I am glad that I have chosen Maswik Lodge and not others in Grand Canyon as it is centrally located. It is within walking to the rim, a cafe in the premise, shuttle bus stop is just nearby and very importantly, it is very quiet. It is really worth every cent that you paid for. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3yj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cocoa beach
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Can't add much to the recent reviews except that visiting in November and December can be lovely. My husband and I made 3 previous visits here staying other places and this was by far the nicest for the price! The food at the lodge is decent but the staff are very kind. The pizza cafe was cheap and had lots of different beers. We found that coming in the late fall means that more of the roads are open to the public. Also the general store is not crowded and you can store cold food in the room's refrigerator or heat up food in the microwave at the cafe in the store (if you plan to eat it right away.) Many previous comments on TA have suggested staying outside of the park. I think these people are wrong because of the ease of staying where you can walk to so many things (like El Tovar and Bright Angel Lodge for meals) can't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryantl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Located inside the park! 5 minute walk to the Canyon each day. Modest clean hotel room. Stayed here for New Year's 2 of the past 4 years. I really like it here. No complaints, except that the food at El Tovar leaves much to be desired (but their picture window in the lounge is to die for - sipping craft beers in a wooden lodge, looking over one of the 7 Wonders of the World. Excellent).

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Like going back in time. This lodge hasn't changed much in 12 years since we were last there. The room had a recent bathroom make over so that was great. New curtains and beds were also welcome. A bit of a walk to the lodge but the kids enjoyed watching the squirrels! The pizza pub in the lodge is definitely worth a visit nothing better than a fleshing cooked pizza and a cold drink. Only wifi in the lodge so that's a bit of a pain and it is very slow. If you want to see the sunrise only a short walk to the rim..

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rynell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Pleasantly suprised with this facility. November was a great time to go to the Grand Canyon. The South rim was still amazingly busy but not nearly as much as in the summer. The weather was beautiful and the sunsets and sunrise were incredible! The Maswik lodge is a very large facility and I didn't expect much. I wanted to spend the time at the canyon and couldn't afford El Tovar or any of the other facilities so Maswik it was! Really nice update room - make sure to pay the few dollars extra for the more spacious north rooms at least with the winter rates it was most affordable. We stayed at in the Juniper Lodge which is just off the train track (didn't have any issues with train noise since train travel is limited into the park) Only issue we had was that the heater was rather difficult to keep regulated. The cafeteria in the main building is a bit chaotic and nothing special but it does offer a place to get food at a nearby facility and it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.7 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Property: Maswik Lodge
Address: 1 Main St, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing