We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New rooms, great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kachina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kachina Lodge
Boston
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“New rooms, great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

A little funcky checking in at one hotel and going next door but other than that a great stay. Had breakfast at the El Tovar , big portions and nice staff. Room was smaller but very nice. Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goob007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    435
    164
    42
    14
See reviews for
382
310
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
470 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We wanted the El Tovar, but it was closed for renovation when we made the reservation. This is a light brick, 1960's-appearing two-story lodge just west of El Tovar on the canyon rim. We paid extra to have our room on the canyon side and were not disappointed. Decor is very contemporary; the room gave us everything we needed - comfort, warmth, cleanliness, and lots of outlets for charging all our gadgets. Parking is tight but we managed. I would definitely stay there again if we can't get into the El Tovar.

Room Tip: Canyon side is more expensive but worth it for sunrise and sunset if you don't want to go outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

not too bad at all, although expectations were low. Yes it's decorated in that dark grim way that seems to be how Americans like it, with beige nets hiding the view of the canyon!! but it is clean, with good views. checkin at el tovar is a nuisance as then had to drag bags 100m.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel is right on the rim. Our room looked out into the canyon -- it was amazing. The beds are comfortable. The space was on the small side but very clean. It had everything you needed for an adventurous day. The restaurants are close by and night too pricey. The tours were fun. The shuttle bus made getting around easy until the roads were clear of snow. It is older motel that has been redone, so it isn't as quiet as it could be. We really enjoyed our stay here. I would recommend this splurge to anyone.

Room Tip: Away from the exit doors to minimize the noise, higher floor has a better view of the canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mo11k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
191 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed for one night. The bathroom is extremely small for the room, have to back in and out of it. Reminded us of a 1960's motel, with face brick and all. We had a rim facing room but really can not see the rim from the ground floor. Bed was OK but could have been better. Noisy hallway. Parking was impossible though we did manage to get one in front of the Kachina Lodge. No dining facility so went to the El Tovar Hotel however the path lighting between to two hotels is quite poor, a bit dangerous with ice on the path.

Room Tip: Rim side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the kachina lodge with a partial canyon view. Our room was lovely with decor of the area. Great water pressure in the shower. They do a great job of lowering their footprint on the environment. I enjoyed my stay completely and recommend the Kachina Lodge.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank janojochal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for our family of 6, for 2 nights
Kachina lodge is an older building, with older style interior that could definitely user a little refurb
Rooms were small, and we felt slightly cramped with 3 per room plus our luggage
We also found the temperature control a little difficult and were cold in our rooms
Food was expensive (we ate at Arizona room, and El Tovar) and not great value for the price

On the plus side - we paid a little extra for the Rim View rooms and were lucky to be on the upper level - great views, saw deer out of our window, and a mere step out doorstep led onto the rim trail!

All this being said, there is not a lot of choice if you wish to stay right on the Canyon, and would probably stay there again, but if you expect the basics only, you will be OK

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa31jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.1 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge

Property: Kachina Lodge
Address: 10 Albright Avenue, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kachina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Kachina Lodge Grand Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing