We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a dorm room really.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kachina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kachina Lodge
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Like a dorm room really.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This place has location. That's about it really. We were carpark side but were also right on the edge of the South Rim. The views from out the front are breath taking and that helped us to forgive the other issues. Worth the stat just for the view.
We stayed 2 nights. We did get our towels changed but no coffee replaced? We tipped the cleaner but apart from the towels the room was NOT serviced at all for the 3 days we were there.
There was no info at all in the room. After check in you're on your own unless you go back to reception.
Luckily the view was great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    430
    159
    41
    14
See reviews for
373
306
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

So happy to be upgraded to a canyon view room via cell phone as we were about to enter the park! Comfy beds, nice coffee/tea service, convenient to good selection of restaurants, cantinas and gift shops. View was obscured somewhat by the snow and clouds, but hey... that's what you get when you go to the Grand Canyon for New Years! Parking wasn't easy, but we left the car when we checked in at El Tovar, and then moved it the next morning. Mucho $$$ but so worth it for the location on the rim. Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Upstairs view rooms on the North side are superior. We were in a downstairs view room and were awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen17175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a 2nd floor double queen room facing the canyon in December. If you put the magnificent canyon to one side for a moment, what you are left with is a very average and quite small motel room in a basic building with limited parking (at least 10 spots reserved for staff) and no balcony for $200 per night without meals. In the hotel world outside the canyon, such a motel would not last long. The El Tovar dining room is a similar story, steeped in the past, dark, overstaffed and with expensive, mediocre food. We were prepared to put up with service and room compromises in Monument Valley because the View Hotel there is Navajo owned, but lodge operators Xanterra should know better and are clearly resting on their laurels in the Grand Canyon. It would be really good if the parks service introduced a bit more hotel competition amongst the many accommodation buildings along the southern rim, since monopolies rarely lead to good customer outcomes. Yes we enjoyed our stay and yes we felt very fortunate to be so close to the rim, but I wouldn't return unless there was more accommodation choice.

Room Tip: second floor rooms facing the canyon give a bit more privacy than ground floor due to the (busy) rim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakelogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have visited the Grand Canyon previously but this is the first time that we stayed at the rim. I had concerns because of some of the experiences we have had with national park lodging, particularly at Yosemite. I was pleasantly surprised with Kachina lodge.
The room was as spacious as most hotel rooms and we had no noise problems. The refigerator and coffee maker functioned well and they had a good amount of Keurig type coffee packets and tea for us to make. I found it clean and we had prompt response to a ventilation question on the room.
The major complaint that I and a number of other guests had was the parking situation. There are not guaranteed spots for guests to park in and the first night I had to park across the railroad tracks and walk a great distance back to our room after unpacking.
The main draw, of course, is being right at the rim of the canyon your entire stay. I do not feel that the price of the canyon side room is worth the extra, because although these lodgings are very close to the rim, it is not that great a view from the room and we could be at the rim in a one minute walk.
Transportation by the park buses is a short walk and is the only way to get to the western rim drive. We rented bicycles on day and that was well worth it as a great outing to see the rim.
I highly recommend making a reservation at the El Tovar hotel dining room, right next door to Kachina Lodge, while you are there. We had planned a birthday dinner for me one evening but because we wanted to see the full moon rise at Kachina point opted for lunch instead. We were not disappointed. It was very filling and from my viewpoint, very reasonably priced for a fine dining restaurant in this type of location. We did one lunch and one dinner and both were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly fine except it's so expensive but I get it cause it's in the park. fairly updated clean rooms with amazing views of the canyon(but really who's in their room during the day to enjoy that view). Right next to el tovar which is also where you check in

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennDC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were very pleased with the room size and location. Note: check in is at the El Tovar and you have to go outside of the building to get to and from the two lodges. We ate and the Bright Angel Lodge...decent food at reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALi818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
429 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved staying here for several reasons:
1) You are right in the middle of everything - 3 minutes one way and you are at the El Tovar Lodge with gift shops, restaurants and a great lobby to hang out in. 3 minutes the other way you are at Bright Angel Lodge with more restaurants and great views.
2) Easy access to the bus system - there was a bus stop right in front of the hotel
3) Amazing views - our "partial view" was basically a straight on view of the canyon. From our back window to the canyon rim was about 20 yards.
4) Nice rooms - nothing amazing but a nice room that had a fridge and coffee maker in the room

We would stay here again in a heartbeat - you get all the views and amenities but is cheaper than El Tovar.

Room Tip: The entire national park sells no bottled waters - bring youur own refillable bottle as they have re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.1 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge

Property: Kachina Lodge
Address: 10 Albright Avenue, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kachina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Kachina Lodge Grand Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing