We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute awesomeness!”
Review of Kachina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kachina Lodge
Reviewed December 31, 2012

So happy to be upgraded to a canyon view room via cell phone as we were about to enter the park! Comfy beds, nice coffee/tea service, convenient to good selection of restaurants, cantinas and gift shops. View was obscured somewhat by the snow and clouds, but hey... that's what you get when you go to the Grand Canyon for New Years! Parking wasn't easy, but we left the car when we checked in at El Tovar, and then moved it the next morning. Mucho $$$ but so worth it for the location on the rim. Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Upstairs view rooms on the North side are superior. We were in a downstairs view room and were awake...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen17175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for Kachina Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 922 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a 2nd floor double queen room facing the canyon in December. If you put the magnificent canyon to one side for a moment, what you are left with is a very average and quite small motel room in a basic building with limited parking (at least 10 spots reserved for staff) and no balcony for $200 per night without meals. In the hotel world outside the canyon, such a motel would not last long. The El Tovar dining room is a similar story, steeped in the past, dark, overstaffed and with expensive, mediocre food. We were prepared to put up with service and room compromises in Monument Valley because the View Hotel there is Navajo owned, but lodge operators Xanterra should know better and are clearly resting on their laurels in the Grand Canyon. It would be really good if the parks service introduced a bit more hotel competition amongst the many accommodation buildings along the southern rim, since monopolies rarely lead to good customer outcomes. Yes we enjoyed our stay and yes we felt very fortunate to be so close to the rim, but I wouldn't return unless there was more accommodation choice.

Room Tip: second floor rooms facing the canyon give a bit more privacy than ground floor due to the (busy) rim...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakelogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have visited the Grand Canyon previously but this is the first time that we stayed at the rim. I had concerns because of some of the experiences we have had with national park lodging, particularly at Yosemite. I was pleasantly surprised with Kachina lodge.
The room was as spacious as most hotel rooms and we had no noise problems. The refigerator and coffee maker functioned well and they had a good amount of Keurig type coffee packets and tea for us to make. I found it clean and we had prompt response to a ventilation question on the room.
The major complaint that I and a number of other guests had was the parking situation. There are not guaranteed spots for guests to park in and the first night I had to park across the railroad tracks and walk a great distance back to our room after unpacking.
The main draw, of course, is being right at the rim of the canyon your entire stay. I do not feel that the price of the canyon side room is worth the extra, because although these lodgings are very close to the rim, it is not that great a view from the room and we could be at the rim in a one minute walk.
Transportation by the park buses is a short walk and is the only way to get to the western rim drive. We rented bicycles on day and that was well worth it as a great outing to see the rim.
I highly recommend making a reservation at the El Tovar hotel dining room, right next door to Kachina Lodge, while you are there. We had planned a birthday dinner for me one evening but because we wanted to see the full moon rise at Kachina point opted for lunch instead. We were not disappointed. It was very filling and from my viewpoint, very reasonably priced for a fine dining restaurant in this type of location. We did one lunch and one dinner and both were excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly fine except it's so expensive but I get it cause it's in the park. fairly updated clean rooms with amazing views of the canyon(but really who's in their room during the day to enjoy that view). Right next to el tovar which is also where you check in

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennDC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were very pleased with the room size and location. Note: check in is at the El Tovar and you have to go outside of the building to get to and from the two lodges. We ate and the Bright Angel Lodge...decent food at reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALi818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved staying here for several reasons:
1) You are right in the middle of everything - 3 minutes one way and you are at the El Tovar Lodge with gift shops, restaurants and a great lobby to hang out in. 3 minutes the other way you are at Bright Angel Lodge with more restaurants and great views.
2) Easy access to the bus system - there was a bus stop right in front of the hotel
3) Amazing views - our "partial view" was basically a straight on view of the canyon. From our back window to the canyon rim was about 20 yards.
4) Nice rooms - nothing amazing but a nice room that had a fridge and coffee maker in the room

We would stay here again in a heartbeat - you get all the views and amenities but is cheaper than El Tovar.

Room Tip: The entire national park sells no bottled waters - bring youur own refillable bottle as they have re...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a great location next to El Tovar, which is the check-in location (3 minute walk). However, park at Kachina or as close as possible before going to the front desk. If you can get there at 11:00-1:00 when others are leaving. If you drive to the El Tovar circle or lot you will get traffic. WE reserved in Feb. for Oct. and got a partial view which looked full to me from our second floor room. The bed and room were similar to a Marriott room, but it was a little smaller. We sat on our bed and could see the canyon straight on. We had a refrig and and a Kurig coffee maker, a nice flat screen. I'll come here again.

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a second floor room if you have booked a partial view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drwayneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.1 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge

Address: 10 Albright Avenue, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $191 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kachina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Kachina Lodge Grand Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing