We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Kachina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kachina Lodge
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We didn't have great expectations but the Kachina Lodge exceeded them. We only stayed 1 night and the location was great. Even though we didnt have Canyon views it really didn't matter since, other than sleeping, we barely spent any time in the room. The reason you stay here is the location! Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Only issue was the lack of parking near the hotel. Also the signs directing you to the all of the rim side hotels could be better marked. Keep it in perspective...this is not a luxury resort, the beauty is outside the hotel, not inside the walls.

Room Tip: Definitely book dinner at the El Tovar dining room. Excellent food and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 929 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nearly as good as it gets. Views are great, room (6325) Friendly check-in, arrived before 4pm and Leigh at the El Trovar, offered to take our number and called us when our room was ready. All the Xanterra staff were friendly which is such a welcome change; from reservations to checking out. Considering this is family vacation location, the room was very quiet! The biggest commotion were the all the people walking the path when they came upon the bull elk which hangs around after dusk. From our window it was So fun to watch them as they were startled. The best secret though, is that the Kachina was updated in 2012. This was not posted on the website at the time we booked a week ago. Reservations informed us. Please pay the extra for the rooms with a view.

Room Tip: Please pay the extra for a room with a view. Partial view just really means a tree might block a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have not had the best experiences staying at National Park Hotels- so my expectations were low. I was however, pleasantly surprised with the Kachina Lodge. We only stayed one night. We did not book early enough for a view room- so we faced the parking lot- but our room was recently renovated. All surfaces were granite, flat screen tv, fridge with Keurig coffee maker above( wish I had brought my own pods from home). Bathroom was small- very little counter space- but nicely appointed. Lotion and soaps smelled amazing. They sold those in the gift shops BTW. Was not super dark, or cave like. Two queen beds. No internet- or cell service in that location.
Check in at El Tovor was quick. We happened to find a parking space outside of El Tovor and at the suggestion of the desk clerk, we just kept our car there. It wan't a very long walk to Kachina.
We ended up not eating at El Tovar- we thought the options for our group were better over at Bright Angel DIning Room, where we did not need reservations. We had dinner and breakfast there. Food quality was better than I thought it was going to be ( again low expectations) but for both meals the service was very slow. Do not eat there if you are in a rush.
Since we ended up eating at Bright Angel, I was wondering if it would have been more convenient to stay there- but really, I think any of the lodging options along the south rim trail are great- at least in terms of location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you are one of those folks, like myself, who must see a sunrise or sunset over a beautiful landscape, then ensure a room at this Xanterra resort in the south rim. Make sure you get a room with a canyon view on the second floor. If you must be outdoors, then just make your cup of Joe in your room & walk out to the rim and get ready to take in the beauty. The price of $193/night is worth it as driving in & out of the park is a good 30+ minute ordeal. Have fun & enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatinaGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Travelling with teenagers, we booked 2 partial view rooms - as previous writers have noted 'partial' may mean a tree is between the window and the rim. Both rooms had fabulous views and the location cannot be beaten. We were on the top floor of the building nearest to El Tovar, adjacent rooms and check-in was easy, as was parking at the back of the building. We stayed for 2 nights, breakfasting in El Tovar (excellent food and service) and Bright Angel which was equally good but cheaper and offer a good range. In the evening we enjoyed both Bright Angel and Arizona.
The kids loved seeing elk and deer grazing outside the buildings in the evening.
The boys cycled the Rim - 21 miles - get to rental early to ensure you get a bike and take lots of water and snacks with you.The girls enjoyed the mule ride to Abyss Point, this was booked in advance and well worth the cost. Travelling in August was hot.
The teenagers quickly adapted to lack of wifi and mobile signal - what do people actually expect is a location like this!

Room Tip: Request higher floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise1960_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

caveat my review by saying that my wife & i are typically 5-star travellers, but were making an exception in order to do some family bonding time with pre-teens (so maybe our expectations were too high for what this place is)

POSITIVES:
- as advertised, property is right on the rim of the grand canyon in the national park
- overall, not terribly expensive (but poor value for money, see below)

NEGATIVES ... where to begin ...

- 1stly, make sure you confirm that you have a room facing the canyon, and cancel if you dont ... i think room rate is the same, yet some rooms face an active parking lot, whilst others face the canyon (completely ridiculous)

- rooms are shabby & dated ... furniture & fixtures are dated/worn

- rooms are poorly lit & the few lamps were dim (1 of the pre-teens in my group described the room as a cave) ... you dont want to open the window shade if you are on the 1st floor facing the active parking lot

- few modern extras ... no iPod dock (instead a $1 alarm clock), limited electrical outlets (actually had an extendor strip on the floor)

- NO INTERNET in the room!!! not only that, the adevrtised internet in the lobby was 2 hotels down & did not work poorly ... combine that with NO CELL SERVICE, and you have a real problem

- maybe you look past all this if the place was cheap, but that wsnt the case!!!

- if you manage to get past the room (and we really did try), activities are either outrageously expensive (200 per person for a 1hr heli ride OR 500 pp for a trip down the rapids with heli out)
... OR the activities were completely uninspired (e.g. 6hr roundtrip bus ride to float down a fly infested portion of the river OR resort recommended jeep tour which starts outside he canyon & takes to back to the rim) ... 1 caveat is the guided hike into the canyon, which was affordable & led by an excellent guide

- front desk staff was useless, though Manager got involved to sort out a problem we had

- 3 restaurants on-site, 2 of which didnt take reservations & had a horrifying smell (like a school lunch room) and the other was impossible to get a reservation & quite expensive (food OK, but too expensive) .. no room service & small town outside is equally limited


by day 3, we couldn't take any more disappointment & cut our canyon stay short to spend the last day in Sedona. The whole trip felt like a Griswald family vacation.

i would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: if you stay at any of the rim lodges, make sure you ask for a room facing the canyon ... not worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DQC_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Room Director at Kachina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear CQC76,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Kachina Lodge. It is reviews like yours that help us monitor the level of service we provide.

I was disappointed to hear your stay didn't meet expectations. To your first point, the room rate is higher for a canyon view. My apologies if this wasn't made clear when you booked your reservations.

The rooms at Kachina have new carpet, paint, artwork, lamps, linens, drapery, headboards and chairs that were added this year. Internet service is available in the lobby and mezzanine at El Tovar which is right next door, but please consider this, every year our guests come to enjoy the change of pace nature provides. It's an opportunity to unplug and step away from technology. We do our best to ensure each and every guest has a pleasant experience.

There are many activities at Grand Canyon that are free like hiking along the rim of the canyon and into the inner canyon, wildlife viewing, and photography to name a few. There is also a free shuttle service to get you around the park, it'll take you to the Visitor's Center, to the Kaibab trail head and Hermit’s Rest. And to your 7th point, yes, there are some more expensive ways to enjoy Grand Canyon as well. We do have six restaurant facilities located in the park and El Tovar does accept reservations 30 days out but you must plan in advance.

Again, my apologies your expectations weren't met.


Best regards,


Mike Harding, Room Director
Kachina Lodge
mkarding@xanterra.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Although dated looking from the outside, we were very pleasantly surprised by the updated, clean, large room we stayed in for our two nights at the Grand Canyon. Our room was two buildings down from El Tovar, the main lodge and a building up from Bright Angel lodge. We had the most incredible view and were only feet from the Canyon wall. Our party- myself, husband, two kids ages 9 and 7, and my mother, booked two rooms on the first floor, end of the hall. Each room had two double beds, a Keuring coffee maker, a fridge, a flat screen t.v. and a very clean and recently renovated bathroom. We expected spartan accomodations and Kachina lodge exceeded those expectations. We booked our room about 10 months in advance.

The rooms were quiet at night; early-rising hikers staying above us prompted me to sleep with earplugs. You could hear them moving about and hear the water pipes as they showered.

Check in at El Tovar was smooth. Most employees we encountered were friendly, professional, and helpful. Parking was the only negative-- you can park in the El Tovar lot and walk 5 minutes. If you are lucky, you can get a space right outside Kachina Lodge or on the street nearby. In high season you must stalk someone for a parking space. But, it's free, so that's a plus.

I asked a woman in check in what the difference was between staying at El Tovar and Kachina; she said most Kachina Lodge rooms have fews, and only a few El Tovar rooms have canyon views.

Breakfast at the El Tovar dining room was excellent and reservations are not needed. Reservations for dinner are a must-have and it took forever to be served.

The rim trail is excellent for young kids.

The Bright Angel restaurant was decent for a meal, but the service was sllowww and the only happy looking employee was an elderly gentleman with an accent-- he was smiling, happy, and friendly while the others working there looked and acted miserably.

Sitting in rockers on the El Tovar porch and watching giant elk literally feet away is a lovely memory we will have of our stay.

Room Tip: We had the last two rooms at the end of the first-floor hall. There was an unlocked, exit door right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSecretVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.1 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge

Address: 10 Albright Avenue, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $191 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kachina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Kachina Lodge Grand Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing