We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we got "upgraded"”
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Tovar Hotel
Reviewed October 3, 2013

COLD SHOWERS!
We hiked out of the canyon during the 48 hour notice and had an awesome experience of seeing an almost vacant park. Our original reservations got changed to El Tovar because there were no services running at Yavapai. I was first excited to be going to this hotel, but once in the room I just had to laugh at how terrible it was, mostly because I was to tired to complain. At first glance it looks like a neat historical building with clean rooms. But then the sheets had what looked like pine gum on them and the bathroom door would not shut tight, like it had swollen and would not fit in the frame. Also, my family had two rooms here and neither room could get warm water in the sink or the shower. I would have rather stayed in anywhere else as long as they had a modern upgrade of a water heater. This was incredibly disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at El Tovar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments on El Tovar. I am sorry that the stay did not meet your expectations, there is nothing worse than a cold shower. The hotel was built in 1905 and I know that sometimes we have operational issues. I hope you brought the cold water to the attention of the front desk and that they were able to fix it and address the problem at that time.
I will forward your comments on the linens to our Rooms Director as well .

We will be closing the hotel for renovations in January and look forward to reopening in April, 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,510 - 1,516 of 3,057 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night. Checked out the day before the government shutdown. Staying at the El Tovar has always been a dream of mine. I was not disappointed. We did the basic double bed. Room was small, but look at when the hotel was built, 108 years ago. Room was very clean. There is wifi in this hotel. Bed was very comfortable as is the pillows. Coffee and coffee maker provided and hair dryer. Extra blankets in the closet. The only negative item was the air conditioner/heater in the room. It was noisy. The staff are very friendly. Kudos to Scott at the front desk on our checking out. He is very friendly and knowledgeable. Thanks to everyone at the El Tovar for a great stay. I hope to stay here again, but will book the queen beds.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hondo49r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were quite impressed with El Tovar. We had eaten at their restaurant, but had not stayed there before. We booked in for two nights - one night before our hike down the canyon, and one night for the day we hiked out.

We were very impressed with the rooms. Ours had clearly been renovated fairly recently as the fixtures and fittings (if not the furniture) all looked brand new.

We had a few drinks at the bar served by the lovely Christina from Moldova. She made us feel like we were regulars. We had great service in the restaurant for all our meals and the food was excellent.

We will definitely stay at El Tovar again and recommend it to anyone hiking at the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Reserving this hotel 1 year in advance really did help us get a great room in a grand hotel at the canyon. You feel like you are part of the whole experience by living in the park. The room is quite small but adequate. It even has a TV which the lodge in Yellowstone does not. We saw the elk on the grass every evening in front of the lodge, but I understand they may be removing the grassy area so they won't reappear. What a shame, but I can understand the problems this may have caused. The free coffee until 11:00 was very good! Saved money on having to pay in the dining room! All in all a good deal.

Room Tip: do not choose the ground floor. much too noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Unfortunately we didn't stay there, but had a wonderful lunch in their main restaurant. What an experience. You feel like royalty when you dine there. The service is impeccable, the menu has many great selections and food is awesome.

I also bought a beautiful silver bracelet from their gift shop. Their jewelry selection was amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The only reason for staying here is the location and the experience.
The rooms are clean but alike the beds are way too small.
The hotel is also pretty noisy in general because everybody and his brother is allowed inside as if it is a museum; that's what it is actually.
We did experience the restaurant staff as tired and unfriendly.
The location at the edge of the canyon is really beyond imagination; what a wonderful location and that's actually making it worth to stay here.
But I am sure that the Santa Fe railroad had another experience in their mindset to pamper their travelers in those days. I have not seen any bright Angel here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is just terrific all around. It's location is unbelievable. You can walk right out to the rim of the canyon to see the sunrise & sunset if you like. The Elks come right up on the lawn in front of the hotel where you can sit and watch from the porch. The rooms are small and nothing to rave about but they are clean and comfortable. It's an. old historic hotel and just a perfect way to spend your visit. There is a restaurant and lounge on site as well which were both great and convenient to spend time there. You can walk right down a path to have breakfast/lunch at Bright Angel also and there is an ice cream parlor along the way If you take the train-the depot is right across the way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jom257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,993 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Address: 1 El Tovar Road, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $212 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Tovar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to pending renovations to guest rooms, public spaces, and the dining room, El Tovar is not available from January 25, 2018 through September 30, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing