We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Room, Hated the Prices”
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Tovar Hotel
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved the Room, Hated the Prices”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This grand hotel was very nice...helpful, friendly and comfortable. We had a deluxe double queen room and it was great. The room was spacious and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom was pretty big although they do need an additional shelf for toiletries close to the sink. The windows open so when it cools down at night you can get a fresh breeze. It sits very close to the rim and was great to sit on porch swing and just see the canyon. The thing I just couldn't get over was the price. Even if it was just $100 lower it would have been worth it. There was no breakfast offering...they do give you free coffee upstairs although both days we were there, they ran out of creamer. Perhaps some muffins or something for your guests for breakfast would be nice. We had to walk down to Bright Angel lounge to get continental breakfast items.

I really liked this hotel very much for a once in a lifetime trip, but would not be able to stay again as it's just too expensive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TK_jk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at El Tovar Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our El Tovar Hotel. We are proud of our commitment to quality facilities and customer service, which ensure memorable guest experiences. This commitment dates back to the Fred Harvey Company’s early recognition of the importance of hospitality in the travel industry. I am sorry you were disappointed in the room pricing. All of our pricing is established by comparing rates with hotels outside the park with similar amenities. The location does not factor into the room rate.

I will forward your comments to our senior management so they can share with our staff.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    1,059
    463
    203
    101
See reviews for
828
1,548
62
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Absolutely in to the wild... Great Place! With Scent of old age's... Immersive experience in the Grand Canyon...

To be come back to stay again...
--

Assolutamente immerso nella Natura... Posto Meraviglioso! Sensazioni che ricordano i tempi del Far West...

Da ritornarci assolutamente!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertow
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Staying just one night at the GCNP, we decided it best to go for location, and the El Tovar really is a great place to stay, if not THE place to stay. Our double-queen room was fine, if not compact. Yes, the rooms could never be described as spacious and the decor / finishes could do with freshening up, then again, we were there for the GC and not for the hotel room, so you can forgive a lot. Especially when you have deer walking around outside your hotel room, ever-so-friendly service, the South Rim just metres from your room and the perfect location for that early morning wake-up call for that perfect shot of sunrise.

Room Tip: No lifts, so try for a 1st floor room (i.e ground floor) or take as much baggage as you can carry wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugGotMeGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at El Tovar Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our historic El Tovar Hotel . Our commitment to providing quality lodging and food dates back to the Fred Harvey Company’s early recognition of the importance of hospitality in the travel industry. It is also gratifying to hear when our staff goes above and beyond to assist our guests. They truly make the difference between a good visit and a great one. I will forward your comments to our senior management so they can share with our staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We traveled in December, took a day trip down the canyon, and came to this place literally crawling, just dreaming of a dinner and a good night sleep. That we got -- the rooms are roomy, ceilings are high, the bathrooms are clean, and the sleeping quality was great. Nothing spectacular was offered on that day from the hotel itself.
On the other hand, this is probably the best hotel in the village, and the closest to the Canyon itself. Dine out on the terrace, or in the restaurant, and, unlike the food, views are spectacular! Wake up in the morning, walk 100 feet to the edge of the Canyon, and wow. There it is.

Room Tip: Try to get the third floor with the canyon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night just prior to a multi-day hike/stay at Phantom Ranch. It still maintained all the old world charm and elegance it had in its glory day. The staff were extremely helpful even with our 4:00am check out. We did not have to wait at all.
The view was impressive at the front and one side of the hotel - however, our room faced a parking lot for the hotel next door.
The funniest thing about this hotel is that every year we had hiked out of the Grand Canyon from Phantom Ranch - and especially this year when we were hiking out at night due to the heat and could see the lights of the hotel from Indian Gardens - it has always been a welcome "beacon of light" and we are glad we finally got to experience it.
We plan to come back again for a multi-day stay to try out the restaurants.
On the con side - there is very little parking and we ended up parked all the way down at Bright Angel Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashamew133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A historic landmark hotel in a prime location. If you like hotels with old-world character and a significant history there’s plenty to appreciate. If you detest dark wood, tapestry and chintzy decor or musty smells, you might find it heavy and gloomy. I’m inclined to the former view but I still felt the property needed investment to bring it up to scratch without sacrificing its character. During our stay my party had one double room and two suites. By modern standards the double room was dated (cramped room, small bed, small bathroom lacking surfaces to leave things on) but comfortable enough for sleeping. The a/c sounded like a jumbo jet. Fortunately, even during the July 2013 heat wave, I was able to leave it off at night and keep the window open instead because the altitude at south rim means it cools off in the night. By contrast the suites were very spacious, elegant and much, much better value relatively. The restaurant delivers formal silver-service dining of decent quality. It’s not a foodie destination - who would go to Grand Canyon for gastronomy? - but it caters well to guests who have opted for a traditional place to stay. Apparently it has a great view but not all the tables get to share it. (We never did). We were very pleased with the approachable, unstuffy service both at reception and in the restaurant.. Thank you, staff - you appear to take pride in the hotel and try to make guests feel special. The combination of historical cachet and unbeatable location means the hotel books up many months ahead. However, I noticed there is a lot of churn due to late cancellations so last-minute availability, even for suites, is generally good if your needs change.

Room Tip: Go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mladww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at El Tovar Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our El Tovar Hotel . We are proud of our commitment to quality facilities and customer service, which ensure memorable guest experiences. This commitment dates back to the Fred Harvey Company’s early recognition of the importance of hospitality in the travel industry. The hotel has endured through many renovations, the most major being the addition of private baths to all the rooms some time ago. This resulted in many different sizes and shapes, which is why there are so many room types.

It is also gratifying to hear when our staff goes above and beyond to assist our guests. They truly make the difference between a good visit and a great one. I will forward your comments to our senior management so they can share with our staff.

Thanks for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonogin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Words don't describe the feeling as you first see this magnetic hotel and soak up the history and the views. We stayed on the ground floor in the nd room 644 I think. We woke for the sunrise, opened the curtain & saw the magnetic Grand Canyon. We walked out our door onto the veranda and walked about 30 steps to the south rim. Later I grabbed a coffee and sat on one of the many rustic rocking chairs looking directly at the Grand Canyon. There are Elk & little squirrels everywhere. The rooms & bathrooms are smallish but comfortable & that's not what your there floor, with seating all around the verandah and walking paths. Staff were very friendly & organized a helicopter flight at the last minute for us. I booked the room about 12 mths ahead by email & made dinner reservations 6 mths ahead. Enjoy

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at El Tovar Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our Historic El Tovar. We are proud of our commitment to quality facilities and customer service, which ensure memorable guest experiences. This commitment dates back to the Fred Harvey Company’s early recognition of the importance of hospitality in the travel industry. El Tovar was one of the Harvey Company's flagship hotels when it was built in 1905, and it is for Xanterra today.

I will forward your comments to our senior management so they can share with our staff.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.0 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,439 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,891 reviews
5.8 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,710 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Property: El Tovar Hotel
Address: El Tovar Road 1, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Tovar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing