We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“el tovar/grand canyon -fantastic!!!!!”
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Tovar Hotel
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just returned from the grand canyon and stayed for 2 nights at the el tovor lodge. our room was on the first floor, 6444, great view of the canyon. just a few steps out the door and you were standing at the rim of the grand canyon. the room was very comfortable. bedding soft and clean. bathroom was very clean but a little small. in room coffee was great. eat at the el tovar dining room. the food is GREAT!!!. prices average. parking is limited on site, but not a problem. the staff is very friendly and very helpful. book in advance this lodge is always full.

shuttle service around the village is a great way to get around. shuttle service every 10-15 minutes just a few steps from the lodge. highly recommend the lodge.

Room Tip: this lodge does not have an elevator. first floor is very comfortable. ask for a room facing the rim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveandlidia070585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,023)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,592 - 1,598 of 3,023 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

I made my reservations for El Tovar last August for my trip last week (thats 9 months in advance!) and was told that since I was such an early booking, there were plenty of rooms and I was guaranteed a view overlooking the canyon or the Hopi house. When we arrived, our room overlooked the dumpster in the back of the hotel and every morning at 5:30 the trash truck pulled up and emptied the dumpster. I was very disappointed. I also made reservations for dinner 6 months in advance and ordered the special which was prime rib. Our waiter was wonderful but the prime rib was tough. My friend ordered the roast duck and said it was delicious so I think it was just a fluke. The hotel is very conveniently located which was a good thing. Next time I will stay in Tusayan (15 mins south of GC) where there are more ammenities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked to stay for two nights during our honeymoon but the El Tovar fell short of our expectations.

Our greeting at the hotel was not very friendly and during the check-in process the gentleman forgot to give me the card I needed to charge things for the room. Parking is free but you have to wait for a space, still - we would rather it was free!

The room was small but the hotel was built a long time ago and the bathroom was large and well decorated. Unfortunately the room had two interconnecting doors so we could hear everything that went on on both sides of us. Housekeeping comes at 8.15am, loudly banging on doors and shouting 'housekeeping' so if you are not up early do remember to put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. There is free wi-fi and a fridge.

When I checked-in I was not advised to book dinner so we ended up eating at 9.30pm - the food is good but expensive. The bar in the hotel is very small and very crowded but we did get a seat outside and there is an amazing view of the canyon.

It is a very noisy and busy place and really not the place for a relaxing stay. We got the feeling that the staff didn't try hard because they simply don't have to. Because of the hotel's location they will always be full and for the money we paid I found that a great shame. It is really a lodge for walkers and groups not a wonderful 'hotel' experience.

For location you can't beat it - the views of the Canyon are breathtaking and there are free buses to take you for even more wonderful views. If you have the money then a hotel room on the 3rd floor seems to be the best plan but otherwise be warned, this is just a lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larkers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just came back from visiting the Grand Canyon and stayed at the El Tovar Hotel. It was truly awesome!! We had a room on the 3rd floor and a view of the canyon. I was suprised how upscale it was for a lodge. The staff was truly amazing and it was so nice to be able to walk steps outside to see the most glorious sunset ever! We loved the porch and swings and spent quite a bit of time there just relaxing. The breakfast was so good, I would definitley recommend that. Rob the waiter was the best...too bad the piano is broken though :(

Room Tip: Be advised there is no elevator so if steps are an issue, request a floor on the 1st level. If step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phillygal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in early June and loved the place. On arrival nothing can compare you for the view just 40 yards from the front door. Built in the early 1900's the place oozes charm from its wooden walls to the verandas, which provide a great opportunity to chill out whilst taking in the view. The rocking chairs are worth an hour or two of anybody's time! We booked direct with the hotel and chose to eat in the dining room on the first night, requesting a window seat at the time of booking. The hotel came up trumps as we were directed to a table by the window as the sun began to set. The rib eye steak was fantastic and went down down very well with a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon. My wife can also highly recommend the creme brûlée. We also ate a couple of times on the bar terrace - the home-made nachos were particularly good, washed down with beers from the Grand Canyon brewery. Again the view was amazing. On both evenings we were entertained by a family of Elk grazing on the lawns. We didn't pay for a room with a view and got one overlooking the car park - but that was no great problem when the South Rim was just 30 seconds away from the front door. We found the room a little small and the air conditioning a little loud. We also had a door which connected to the next room and this meant that you could hear the people next door even at a moderate volume. That said, if i were ever to return El Tovar would be top of my list. A great experience helped by the service, which was excellent throughout!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lambi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were fortunate to have room facing canyon. Views from room were great. Recomending requesting room adjacent to suites.

Sitting on porch with rockers having some wine and snack was fun. Watching people and viewing canyon from porch great. Good after long day walking.
Elk grazing in front of hotel. No fear of humans.

All in all great experience.

Room Tip: ask for room adjacent to suites for view of canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howard_dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were lucky to get a room for one night at the El Tovar during an anniversary visit to Arizona. The hotel is amazing. Our room on the 3rd floor had a view of the canyon. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was well equipped, and there was even a sitting area with leather chairs. The hotel concierge was very helpful and the bellman who took our luggage to and from the 3rd floor was pleasant and helpful as well. The gift shops have good merchandise and the public areas are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor overlooking the canyon was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trailman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.0 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,613 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,744 reviews
5.9 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Address: 1 El Tovar Road, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $201 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Tovar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to pending renovations to guest rooms, public spaces, and the dining room, El Tovar is not available from January 25, 2018 through September 30, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing