We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location”
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Tovar Hotel
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were fortunate to have room facing canyon. Views from room were great. Recomending requesting room adjacent to suites.

Sitting on porch with rockers having some wine and snack was fun. Watching people and viewing canyon from porch great. Good after long day walking.
Elk grazing in front of hotel. No fear of humans.

All in all great experience.

Room Tip: ask for room adjacent to suites for view of canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howard_dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,674 - 1,680 of 3,110 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were lucky to get a room for one night at the El Tovar during an anniversary visit to Arizona. The hotel is amazing. Our room on the 3rd floor had a view of the canyon. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was well equipped, and there was even a sitting area with leather chairs. The hotel concierge was very helpful and the bellman who took our luggage to and from the 3rd floor was pleasant and helpful as well. The gift shops have good merchandise and the public areas are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor overlooking the canyon was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trailman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you book at the El Tovar, you must remember that you are staying at a 100 year old hotel that is purposely maintained that way.
There is no elevator and rooms are small--consistent with the times.
However, the views are spectacular and service is excellent.
We had dinner at sunset overlooking the Canyon.
Elk stroll over the area, eat grass on green space just outside the restaurant and bed down for the night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed on the 3rd floor (warning! No elevators). Room number 6474. Room had a queen sized bed, walk in closet and rather large bathroom, considering the size of the room. The room was not large but adequate for 2 people.

The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We had a partial view of the canyon, but not a great one. Rooms were very quite. I don't remember hearing any of the neighbors and hardly the cleaning lady outside. I also thought the staff was nice but not overly friendly.

Best part of this hotel is, you step outside the door and you are on the rim of the Grand Canyon.

Room Tip: Book early. Like a year in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beauxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Fantastic location - you will sleep a matter of steps from The Grand Canyon. Comfortable bedding, roomy bathroom and friendly staff. I made a mistake with our check in date and after travelling from LA I was extremely relieved that they could accommodate us, nothing was a problem. We stayed in a ground floor room so access was easy. Shared room with my husband and my father for only one night and we were all totally comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ieatapepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Sipping a cup of coffee and walking out to look over the South Rim of the Grand Canyon just out of the front door is an unbelievable experience. The El Tovar is picturesque beyond imagination. If you have the desire given all there is to see in the Grand Canyon National Park, it is a great place to just hang out. The rooms are small, but the hotel was built in 1905 and you really can’t change a hotel on the National Historical Register. It is expensive but worth it to get at the sights of the Grand Canyon before the buses and the train arrives with large numbers of people.

Room Tip: Book earlier than you think. This place gets booked up months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

What can I say....there were some things I didn't like about this hotel, but what do you do? It's charming and in the perfect location. Here's the thing...it's an old hotel and I was a bit overwhelmed by the stale, musty, smell in our room and I was actually relieved we were only staying for one night. The air con was so noisy and didn't work well (it started spewing out hot air in the middle of a very warm night so we ended up just turning it off and sleeping without the covers.)

If you're traveling with a baby and you want to put the 'pack and play' in the bathroom (if you don't have a baby this will make no sense to you I realize!), it won't fit. Needless to say, we had a pretty sleepless night, but then again, that meant we got to watch the sun rise over the canyon (glass half full).

But look....it's a beautifully historic and quaint hotel. It allows you to stay right at the Grand Canyon and soak in the scenery at sunset, sunrise and all times in between. I can't NOT recommend this place, but do warn that it isn't the perfect stay. And if you have breathing problems you may find the musty-smell a bit hard on your lungs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Addison833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,753 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,032 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Address: 1 El Tovar Road, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $247 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Tovar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to pending renovations to guest rooms, public spaces, and the dining room, El Tovar is not available from January 25, 2018 through September 30, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing