We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice 3-->4 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
El Tovar Hotel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice 3-->4 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This is the place to be if staying at the grand canyon. Right on the Canyon's edge, although the views from the room are away from the Canyon.

Hotel room is small and pretty basic . The hotel itself is fairly old but with heaps of character. The breakfast was amazing too!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalFairnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    935
    403
    169
    88
See reviews for
707
1,366
52
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We actually stayed at Kachina Lodge (right next door to El Tovar) but you have to check in at El Tovar. From the moment we entered El Tovar, we felt as if we were in a true one of kind place. It's virtually 20 feet from the canyon rim. The Christmas decor and burning fire were great additions, especially since the outside temperature was around 30F during the day.

Tips: Make sure to make a reservation at the El Tovar Dining Room well ahead of time. It books up fast. Make sure to get a drink at the El Tovar Lounge (try the Grand Canyon Pilsner!). Make sure to visit the Hopi House (right next to El Tovar) for some authentic souvenirs.

[I'll also be posting reviews of Kachina Lodge, El Tovar Dining Room. El Tovar Lounge, etc. on their respective TA pages.]

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We booked on line for a two night stay. We are a family of 4 and week given a room with two queen beds - we were allocated to a room upstairs, facing the car park. I assume it cost more for rooms with views to the canyon. The Internet rate for such a room was some USD220 per night plus tax and utility fee (????). The room was not big and with two beds, there was not much room to place 3 bags. The hotel does have a very nice cosy atmosphere to it, especially when it was snowing whilst we were there. It was nice to come in to a fireplace in the lobby area after spending a day out in the cold. The day we were there, it was -13C when we watch the sun rise and I think the high on that day was only around 3C. On this occasion, we really appreciated the atmosphere of the hotel that really blended in well with the cold winter temperatures. I would recommend a visitor to the Grand Canyon to experience this hotel for its history in the area. Having said that, because of its price range, we would choose another property when we do visit the Grand Canyon again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sknoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
227 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The hotel is expensive, the food at the restaurant is not worth the price, but it's all about the location and the experience. We truly enjoyed our two nights stay here and would do it again. The hotel is old and they definitely need to put some money into it, but the experience was priceless. Make sure you ask about the room location. We reserved online and once we arrived we were told that our room was downstairs, meaning the basement. They accomodated us at a ground floor room. The online reservation is not very specific. If you get a room upstairs, you have to climb stairs, no elevator.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa AZ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Lovely room and a great staff. Amazing breakfast very reasonably prices. Once in a lifetime event, but would love to make it twice in a lifetime. Everyone should stay here at least once. The room was very clean and the bed a dream. Brought my childhood girlfriend here who had never been out west. She was overwhelmed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SassySueaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

If you want to see Grand Canyon properly, you really must stay in the Park. The best parts of every day are around sunrise and sunset. Staying in the Park allows you to enjoy the quiet and beautiful light before the day trippers arrive. Having decided to stay in the Park, the best hotel accommodation is definitely El Tovar. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the staff is always friendly and helpful. It is a little bit expensive for the quality of the accommodation but it is a price worth paying for the ability to be steps away from the South Rim. Complimentary coffee in the second floor lobby for guests is a nice touch in the mornings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second floor room with a balcony facing east. Was really nice in the December morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Utah_fan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I ended our Arizona trip by staying at the El Tovar hotel right in the Grand Canyon National Park. Our check-in was quick and courteous. The lady at the front desk noted that the room we had reserved had two double beds instead of a queen or king size bed. She agreed to upgrade us to a room with two queen size beds at no extra cost. The room was beautifully furnished. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom quaint. You do feel that you are in a hotel with a lot of history. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel. One of the most enjoyable meals on our trip.
The hotel staff are extremely friendly and courteous. I felt as if I was staying at a luxurious hunting lodge. The best bonus is the view, steps away from the hotel and multiple choices for walks down beautiful trails. I am so glad we decided to stay at this hotel even though it was only for a night. A memorable hotel in a memorable location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.0 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 2,531 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 stars 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Property: El Tovar Hotel
Address: Apache Street and Center Road, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Tovar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing