We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old time graciousness in a magnificent setting”
Review of El Tovar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Tovar Hotel
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Old time graciousness in a magnificent setting”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not a lot to say about this one that probably has not already been said. We were fortunate in that we had booked a suite (about eight months ahead) and had a great room(s) with a terrific view over the south rim of the canyon. We were a little disappointed in the food service at the hotel dining room. The menu selections and the dining room settings and ambiance were top notch, but the service, while, fairly formal, seemed to lack warmth. The staff did and said all the right things, however, one sensed that they were somewhat inured to tourists and really didn't care because they knew you were only there for a day or so. We had a few small problems with the suite - heat, in-room coffee service, awkward bathroom arrangement - but the property is OK for a few nights. If we return, we would not spend the extra $$$ on a suite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed_and_Bonnie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    1,049
    455
    199
    101
See reviews for
812
1,536
61
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

When you arrive and stroll through the dark lobby you might think that you are back in the early 20th century - and that's because you are! The hotel does not appear to have been updated much since it opened a century ago which may put off some guests who long for the most modern amenities. But if you can imagine what if must have been like to arrive via train 100 years ago, you can certainly appreciate the extraordinary effort to provide such luxurious accommodations for those early travelers. There certainly are drawbacks for such an old facility and it could use a complete facelift but it should be viewed through the lense of the era in which it was erected to really capture the charm.

Room Tip: Don't choose the terrace level - the noise is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie44113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, NY
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful old updated hotel ...our room was spacious with with a flat screen TV, coffee maker , etc.. the bathroom could use a shelf or two, water pressure was poor.. Our room was on the 3rd floor which, second floor would have been better..less stairs.. highly recommend this hotel...

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyceinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The El Tovar is the lodge at the south rim of the Grand Canyon that boasts of being 100 years old. The two levels of rooms have small bathrooms but are cozy and always clean. Great pride is shown by all who provide a beautiful stay that you will remember. The dining room experience is first class, where delicious meals are served in a relaxed atmosphere. Much of the south rim can be toured by buses that are provided for the tourists' convenience. Be sure to plan ahead and make reservations well in advance of your intended stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abcdefghijk45953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stopped there to enjoy the view and lunch. What a lovely spot. The views are breathtaking in a serene environment. I think this is off season, so the crowds weren't bad at all.
Lunch at the El Tovar is a wonderful experience at very affordable prices. I highly recommend the Beef Stroganoff!
There is a good walking area along the rim to get out and stretch your legs. I wished we had a reservation to spend the night, I would have loved to have seen the sunset.
Lots of great musuem stores and Indian items to buy. I think if you are in the area, this is a must stop.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ExtensiveTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were able to get a room at the El Tovar Lodge in October. This historical hotel is worth seeing and although the room was small (as expected for an old hotel) the bathrooms were really nicely updated. The lobby is very spacious with lots of sitting areas and lots of animal heads adorning the wall. It also had a fireplace which was nice for guests to sit by and have a cocktail before dinner. Walking the property we saw Elk feeding right outside the lodge on the grass. Quite a sight to welcome us to the Grand Canyon. We had drinks in the bar (which can get VERY crowded between 5:00-8:00). We only had brkfst in the dining room but it was by far the best meal of my vacation. I had the steak & egg quesadilla w/red pepper cream aside. Great coffee too! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hardydesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful historical hotel right on the canyon rim. I was there with my family in April. Full of character and amazing views from the dining room. They were very accomodating when we had to check out early for medical reasons. Room was updated and nice. Bath was clean and bright. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horsemom1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.0 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,346 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,853 reviews
5.8 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,687 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Tovar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Tovar Hotel

Property: El Tovar Hotel
Address: El Tovar Road 1, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Tovar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Tovar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tovar Hotel Grand Canyon
El Tovar Grand Canyon
Hotel El Tovar
El Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon El Tovar
El Tovar Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing