We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the canyon”
Review of Bright Angel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bright Angel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Right on the canyon”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Simple and nice accomodation at a fair price - with a location you can't beat!
We chose this hotel because it allowed us to stay right by the canyon rim without emptying our pockets. Room was comfortable and clean, and we only had a very short stroll to begin exploring the canyon the next day.

A good budget lodge if you would rather explore the area than hang out in your hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thumbelina84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    1,046
    320
    81
    37
See reviews for
506
1,407
92
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I chose our cabin at the Bright Angel Lodge because it was just steps from the rim of the Grand Canyon! When we first arrived the snow was just starting to fall and the canyon was all fogged in; but after snowing all night, we awoke to a winter wonderland and out our window was the magnificent Grand Canyon in all it's splendid colors and shadows plus the addition of a pristine snowfall! I was just thrilled. The room was cozy and yet spacious. There was a desk, two comfortable chairs, queen bed and a nicely updated bathroom with a space heater that came in handy on the two mornings that were only in the 20's. The cabin wasn't much more expensive than we've paid at a Holiday Inn Express and it was so worth it. We were able to walk to the lodge on the rim path and got some amazing pictures because we were close enough to see the many changes in the canyon as the sun rose and set. Loved it!

Room Tip: We had a cabin with a "partial rim view" and it was worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Bright Angel Lodge seems to be the least expensive hotel at the Grand Canyon village. My small room was clean and comfortable. I had a corner room with two windows...very nice. The room also had a desk for my computer work. It was just steps to the dining room...very convenient. I would highly recommend the Bright Angel Lodge for budget minded travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

The cabin was spacious. Wifi available in the cabin. Bathroom was updated and not too small. Restaurant food was good and priced appropriately. This was a great location. You could walk right out your door onto the rim path. It snowed and temperatures were low. The room was drafty around the door but stayed warn enough for us. The bathroom had a wall heater which was great. The staff was great.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Warner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I decided to stay my last night in the Canyon at this hotel. It is not fancy, but clean and cozy. The cabin I stayed at was located right in front of the canyon. It is cold at night, but the heater is perfect. The room is smile but cozy. They don't have breakfast included on the price and it is more expensive than hotels outside the park, but is worthy. There is restaurant and coffee shops in the complex. The atmosphere is great.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thabata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed in Bright Angel Lodge for mule trip in the next day. I just booked a double + 1 single room, the room is nice with heater. Bath room is nice with bath tube. The best is that I can have free wifi in the room. For other lodging, you may only access wifi in the lobby.
The lobby is very nice and beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was a last minute get away and first time visit to the Grand Canyon for my wife and I while on business in Phoenix. Got lucky and found a room here at the Bright Angel Lodge on the South rim of the canyon visiting January 14-16, 2014. Was told that normally reservations are made a year in advance for this location so be mindful of planning ahead. Was not sure what to expect after being asked during the reservation process if I wanted a bathroom in my room. The Lodge is very quaint with a very friendly staff. Having the Grand Canyon as a back drop literally feet away is a nice bonus. I would highly recommend paying the extra $20.00 to have the bathroom in your room. The room was small but very clean with a mini fridge and very nice bath. The bed is a small double but comfortable enough. No TV's in this particular room, however, some rooms/cabins do have them. They have a great little bar for cocktails with very good appetizer's and great staff with occasional live music. The restaurant had very good service and good food. The lobby staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a bathroom in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.3 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Angel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge

Property: Bright Angel Lodge
Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bright Angel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bright Angel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing