We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cabin was better than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bright Angel Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bright Angel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cabin was better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband reserved a cabin along the south rim of the Grand Canyon, and I expected it to be very old and basic. What we found was a comfortable bed and updated bathroom, and small fridge and coffee maker. We had no direct view, but we were steps from the rim, which was great for catching the sunrise over the canyon. One morning we walked out to find 4 elk munching on the vegetation outside our room! Overall, this was a perfect place for us - close, comfy, and cost-effective. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to call far in advance to reserve a cabin, but don't give up if they're booked up becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    954
    286
    72
    34
See reviews for
455
1,268
76
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed in a standard double bedroom with shared bathroom facilities. It was located in a accommodation block just a few hundred feet from the main lodge reception. The room was very good and ideal for a solo traveller or a couple. The bedroom was perfectly adequate size, clean and had a wash basin. The communial bath rooms, shower rooms and toilets were absolutely fine and very close to the bedroom. Good peaceful sleep. Lovely location right on the south rim. I would always use this place for future visits.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CB2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a partial view queen cabin. It is in a fantastic spot, only meters to the canyon rim. The room was better than we had expected - heating, fan, fridge, microwave, tv, comfy bed, great bathroom. Wifi in reception. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here in 2012.

Had a fantastic stay!
2 minute walk to the GC Road.. 5 minutes to El Tovar.

Very Clean.

Definatly will go back if i ever do the Grand Canyon again.

Expected very expensive food :) But price was very OK! and The Steak was very OK!

This is in my opinion to be the place if you are visiting the Grand Canyon!
Dont stay in Tusayan... Go here!

(Visited januari 2011 3 days)

Room Tip: I was here in januari.. Ok its not high season.. i know. But i had a splendid stay 3 nights! will d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nites in a rim cabin at Bright Angel Lodge. We were just steps away from the rim and the shuttles. Our room had a fridge, microwave, hairdryer...everything we possibly needed. We opened the windows and let fresh air in. It was fabulous. Would not want to stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at Bright Angel Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about Bright Angel Lodge. This historic lodge has been the hub of activity at the South Rim since 1935! Lacation is great and the room have been recently upgraded. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booked a room with toilet and shower about 6 months in advance as our guide book advised us to do this as and got a good rate at around $100 a night. We expected the room to be very basic and were very surprised to find that they were really nice and very comfortable. The rooms do not have A/C but a fan, however we didn’t need either as opening the windows cooled the room down and falling asleep to the sounds of the crickets was magic. The log cabin itself looks like something out of the films and added to the atmosphere. However the location of the cabin is the best thing about it which is basically on the rim of the Grand Canyon. You literally just walk out of the cabin and you had one of the most amazing views in the world. Some cabins have view of the cabin and we were a tad jealous of people staying in them! The restaurant serves good and wholesome American food at decent prices. There is plenty of walks you can do from the Lodge itself and we walked 1/3 down the Canyon and up which was an experience of a lifetime, and we regret not staying for longer and do the trip down and up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolfbusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at Bright Angel Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our Bright Angel Lodge. I am glad to here you enjoyed your stay and the meals. Thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level Contributor
184 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here as it was convenient to our shuttle pick up for the north rim. We had stayed here 7 years ago and the experience was not pleasant. This time, it was better. We did have a room with a bathroom and it was quieter than the last time we stayed. One needs to take into account the age and historic atmosphere of the place.

Room Tip: Try to be as far away from the ice machine and the showers that are for those who do not have shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trevelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.2 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 2,556 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.3 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 2,487 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Angel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge

Property: Bright Angel Lodge
Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bright Angel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Bright Angel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing