We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location ....”
Review of Bright Angel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bright Angel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you want 5 star accommodation this is not the place for you .... the cabins are modest but it is all about the location. You literally step out of the door and the Grand Canyon is RIGHT THERE. It is stunning and takes away all thoughts of the not so comfy bed :) Great place to stay if you know exactly what you are going into before you get there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,522)
There are newer reviews for Bright Angel Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,242 - 1,248 of 2,522 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night when visiting the beautiful Grand Canyon. We got a cabin with a bathroom for just over $100 for the night.

We'd been driving a long time to get there and wanted to get some lunch when we arrived. We were directed to the restaurant who said it would be 45 minute wait or we could go to the bar and have a meal straight away. We went to the bar where they only had one worker on for a bar of 30 or 40 patrons. I stood at the bar for 15 minutes waiting to place an order and then was told I couldn't order a coke at the bar unless I gave them passport ID. It was a frustrating first experience when we had been driving a long time to get there.

The room was very ordinary. You could barely squeeze into the basin area to brush your teeth. The mattress and pillows were terrible and kept us up all night. The food options are very limited and very poor.

I wrote a letter of complaint about the bad experience several weeks ago but never got a response. I would not recommend staying here but would definitely recommend visiting the canyon.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank George_simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Bright Angel Lodge and the cabin we stayed in, are located next to what must be one of the most magical views in the world. I have waited over 50 years to see the Grand Canyon and I must say no photo of mine would ever do it justice. Our cabin 6169 was comfortable and warm for our January stay and conveniently located to the main lodge and a short 20-30M walk to the view itself.
The cabin while plain, was good for purpose, with private shower and lavatory, coffee maker, fridge and comfortable queen size bed. Our neighbours were quiet, but I can imagine noise could be an issue as there is just a door between cabins in the duplex.
The Bright Angel Lodge restaurant had good food and very cheerful and helpful waiting staff, and I consider good value for money.
Make use of the free bus service and free guided walks if able.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TontoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Bright Angel Lodge was one of the more reasonably priced places to stay within Grand Canyon Village. We booked a Queen Cabin quite close to the rim and needed some help to find it. It wasn't straight-forward to find at all....at least not to us! The room was right next to the current building work, so the noise and the view were not great, but we were out walking on the afternoon we arrived, and by the time we got back, it was dark and all the work had stopped.

The room was a decent size. The furniture was a little tired and the TV signal cut out quite a lot. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was well-equipped and absolutely spotless!

We didn't eat at Bright Angel. Instead we went to the restaurant at El Tovar, which was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazinDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The cabin was clean and had a very pleasant atmosphere, so historic. We enjoyed it very much. There was just one queen bed, but the mattress was good enough. Not too wobbly for two. The heater couldn't be regulated real well. It was a bit on the hot side. Like the hotels of the former Eastern European hotels: the heater was just hot and you had to open the windows to cool a little. We couldn't help but contribute to global warming!!! Not very much like Xanterra's philosophy I believe. We had dinner in the restaurant at Bright Angel Lodge. It was good. We were a little early to have dinner, before 7.30 pm. Before the large groups came in the servers could handle it, but later it was very difficult for them.
But the bad thing is the Internet WiFi connection. As international travelers we appreciate fast Internet. But here: no Internet in the cabins. Just in a small area in the hotel lobby. That's too much like in the Middle Ages!
But the location was perfect. We loved to stay here because of that.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

because we were excited about our hike into the canyon the room was clean but nothing more.. shower was adequate barely warm...mattresses old but this isnt the Ritz The rooms are close to the canyon so for this reason the location was great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isaac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Of course, as others have said here, it's all about the location of the cabins and lodge here, as you are right at the edge of the Canyon and it's so convenient for wandering out to get pics etc whenever the mood takes you. The rooms are clean, basic (with a nice bathroom) with a comfy bed which is really all you need. Also, we arrived when it was pretty chilly, but the room heaters were amazing and it was toasty warm inside (good job though, as only thin bedding provided). The facilities at the main lodge are pretty good too, with free wifi being available in the lobby (but not elsewhere throughout which you sort of expect in a remote location like this). Staff were polite and professional throughout. My only downside to the whole place would be the bar, as there is an awful smell pervading the entire place (septic tank or sewage type smell) which really made it difficult to spend any amount of time in there (which was a shame, as there was a good duo playing on the night we stayed and it would've been nice to stay a while longer to soak up the atmosphere.) Overall, i'd recommend to anyone, but avoid the bar area if you have a sensitive nose!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.3 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,528 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Angel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge

Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: $91 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bright Angel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bright Angel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing