We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”
Review of Bright Angel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bright Angel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

You don't need me to tell you that real reason to stay here is the location. It doesn't get any better than this. The sunrise alone is worth it.

We found the room to be quiet nice too! I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the other reviews here but it was very clean and comfortable. Admittedly it's hardly 5 star but for $129 a night (that's the winter/off season rate, I'm guessing it's more in the summer) it's not a terrible deal. We've paid as much for a regular room at a Holiday Inn Express before. You're essentially getting a private or duplex cabin for that price. True it's small, but the value of not having to share a wall/hallway with a hundred other people is priceless. It makes it so much quieter.

The room was tidy, if a little dated. They do advertise the cabins as "historic" so we were expecting that. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom looked as if it had been renovated recently. The room included a little fridge and microwave. They have Internet in the main hotel lobby, bar and restaurant if you really want it but you're in a national park. What do you need a computer for anyway? The staff at the front desk was a bit unfriendly but the people working in the restaurant, booking office and bar couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    1,060
    325
    81
    40
See reviews for
517
1,427
93
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent one night while visiting the Grand Canyon. Despite being off season, we paid more than our 5 stars hotel in Vegas, for much less. Even though the view is fantastic, I just can't understand paying that price for a room so basic, with no shower, no Internet. Hence my average rating. All hotels in the area seem the same way. So it is the best you can get for the value I guess.

The lobby could have been so inviting with it's huge fireplace. But the seating and display is so poor that you don't really want to stay. But this is the only place with WIFI in the hotel.

Staff was very nice. The Souvenir shop offer a wide selection of souvenirs and was very good too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I booked this cabin with trepidation after reading other reviews here on TA. I was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and coziness of the cabin we rented at Bright Angel. Our bathroom looked like it was recently renovated. Everything was clean, the room was all warmed up when we got in, lots of amenities such as coffee, tea, shampoo, soap, lotion etc. Granted, the cabin is small, but we did not come here to stay in all day. It was more than adequate for sleeping and showering. I think a lot of people come here with high expectations and need to realize that these are RUSTIC cabins to provide shelter to see the star of the show...the Grand Canyon. I could not believe the view from our window. We had a unblocked view straight into the Canyon. It was a wonderful, unforgettable, romantic way to spend Valentines Day. My husband & I want to come back during the warmer months to do the hike into the canyon with our daughter. All the Xanterra employees we came into contact in were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Cabin 6146 has the best view of the Canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank imso808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you're visiting Grand Canyon, you have to stay in Grand Canyon to get the sunset and sunrise views without the driving. You have to book way in advance to get the cabin right at the rim or you can keep checking Xanterra booking website as one might turn up at the last minute. The cabin with a queen bed was comfortable and clean, just a minute walk to the rim. There was construction going on in the park, but that should be done by now. Parking can be difficult. You'll just have to wait around for people to leave to get a spot rather than driving around to look for one.

We ate at the Bright Angel Restaurant which has good food and good service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familytravel04_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Qld
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visiting the Grand Canyon in October 2012 we stayed for one night in one of the cabins along the south rim. The view and location is the reason for staying at Bright Angel lodge. The rooms themselves although an okay size are quite basic. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed we have slept in and the linen looked to be years old - not very appealing. The room had a gas heater which kept the room warm - not sure how you would go on a really cold winter night though... Bathroom was clean, bath and shower in one (no separate shower). Room was equipped with a bar fridge and tea/coffee making facilities, tv and two arm chairs if i remember right.
As said earlier the view and location is what makes staying in the cabins worthwhile - you are only metres from the edge of the canyon allowing for 24/7 viewing - sunrise/sunset & all day what more could you want.......If visiting the Grand Canyon again we would chose to stay at El Tovar Lodge instead as the location is just as fantastic but the hotel is much more comfy....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beautifuleveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place was interesting because it was something lot different then average American hotel. I loved the lobby, there was a big fireplace, big wooden desk and huge souvenir shop! The room was old style like. There was no TV or microwave but it had a fridge. I loved the bathroom because of the retro bathtub! The only negative thing was that you could hear totally everything from neighbors rooms. And lastly as the name is Bright Angel Lodge it is very close to the Bright Angel trail and shuttles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Obviously, the location is awesome.
Stayed in a room not a cabin.
Very adequate. Bathroom was very clean.
Staff is okay. Friendly enough.
Think the place would be better if they played up the historic element a little more. There's weird paint on the floor in the lobby (may be some sort of required warnings or something- floor is uneven) Looks like a place from the 1970s not from the 1920s
The dining room is horrible. We got to the entrance and had to turn around because of the horrible smell. Ended up eating at the hotel down the road for all meals.
Think this would be a great place for a trip with the guys. If you're hiking the Bright Angel trail or going to the Phantom Ranch (at the bottom) this is the place to stay.
Reviews of places in National Parks are always on a sliding scale. The hotel will never be as great as one in Manhattan... but you're on the edge of the Grand Canyon!

Room Tip: I'd go for the cabin if I stayed here next time. They have amazing views of the canyon- Keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.3 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.9 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,692 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Angel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge

Property: Bright Angel Lodge
Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bright Angel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bright Angel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing