We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright Angel historic cabin suite”
Review of Bright Angel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bright Angel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bright Angel historic cabin suite”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our family of four spent two nights in a historic cabin suite. It had a living room area w/ mini fridge and a bedroom w/ 2 queens. While the cabin could be considered to be in the parking lot, it was like all cabins and lodge rooms at Bright Angel, a stones throw to the rim and the beginning of the Bright Angel Trail. It was clean, comfortable and roomy with the living room space. The wall/doors are very thin and you can hear everything in the attached cabin. There was also a locked door linking to the attached cabin, so I guess you could rent that also if you needed more room.

It was really convenient being so close to the trail/rim and not having to drive anywhere to hike/sightsee. Me and my girls (11 & 14) hiked to the 1.5 point (3 miles round trip). It took us under 2 hours. My husband went to the Plateau Point (12 mi round trip) and it took him around 5 hours. We also walked the Rim Trail that went up along the rim with a great view into the canyon and of Bright Angel Trail.

We ate dinner at the Bright Angel Lodge Restaurant the 1st night. It was ok – good service. We had lunch at the Arizona room – also ok. The 2nd night we had pizza at the Maswik Lodge(a super short drive) – pretty good. We made our reservations a year in advance. We went on spring break in April and the weather was perfect in the day; chilly at night. I recommend staying on the rim to experience the Grand Canyon in a short stay.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sancam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    1,052
    324
    81
    39
See reviews for
512
1,417
93
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barwell, Nr Leicester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in a lodge with a view of the Canyon. It was fantastic and we thought it was great value considering the location. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vince_sutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a queen cabin. As others mentioned, accomodations are basic but clean and comfortable. It was well below freezing (early Nov), and the heater kept us cozy. We did the unadvised "turn and burn" hike -- down south kaibob to Phantom Ranch and back up Brovht Angel in the same day. The cabin's proximity to the shuttle stop let us make it to South Kaibab at daen, and when we finally made it back to the top of the Bright Angel Trail (we had no business doing this hike. We were NOT in good enogh shape and were 100% exhausted), we were literally stumbling-distance from our cabin. Between that fact, the deer hanging around at twilight, and the breathtaking view at dawn, this was worth EVERY PENNY. Wish we had stayed longer, and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the Bright Angel Lodge the night before our Mule Ride to Phantom Ranch. The accomodations were old, as were the beds, but you can't beat the location. It met our needs and gave us a nights sleep near our destination.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you choose to stay inside the National Park, you enter an effective tourist machine. We stayed at the historic cabins. Our family of 4 had two cabins. 2 people/cabin is a definite max. Dated, but nice, just don't expect luxury. Excellent toiletries. Effective system regarding meals - you charge everything to your room. We had dinner and breakfast at the Bright Angel restaurant. Decent prices, considering the location. Dinner ok - go for the basics, at peak hour the kitchen staff is overloaded. Excellent breakfast. The closeness to the Briht Angel Trail a definite plus - enjoy it at sundown! We got up early to see the sunrise. Nice and almost solitaire experience on the patio.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrittR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights in one of the cabins in late April. Facilities were basic, but fine, we were in a National Park, not Las Vegas. Located right on the rim and very convenient for the shuttle buses the Lodge is perfectly placed.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdrianK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Worth booking a year ahead to get rim cabin for views. Historic cabins (which we stayed in 3 years ago) have problems with car and pedestrian traffic noise and dust. Rim cabin facilities are good but no air-con (has fan) with little space around the furniture. You are paying for the view and convenient access to trails. Other tourists on the rim trail can be annoying but it quietens down overnight. Mule deer feeding and resting behind our room. Car park for cabins is still rough stony dusty ground and not reserved for guests so can be a problem to find a space, hotel say they are upgrading this. Bus service so good, no need to use car once parked. Bright Angel trail starts from here so hikers park here.
Reception can get busy, and their check-in computer unreliable (we were asked to go away and return later) but luckily the supervisor managed to book us in manually.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmilingSixties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.3 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,898 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,817 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Angel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge

Property: Bright Angel Lodge
Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Location: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bright Angel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bright Angel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing