We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food at the bottom of the canyon”
Review of Phantom Ranch

Phantom Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food at the bottom of the canyon”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had two Stew dinners and two breakfasts booked for our trip. All meals were absolutely fantastic. Stew dinner included stew, salad, corn bread, and chocolate cake. Tea, coffee, iced tea and water were included, beer and wine were available for purchase. The food was surprisingly flavourful.
The breakfast had bacon, eggs, pancakes, and canned peaches. Also included a glass of orange juice, tea and coffee.
All meals were served family style, so you got to know your fellow campers. There was plenty of food to go around though, and they brought more out when needed. Don't be shy to make new friends, it makes the experience more enjoyable.
The canteen also sells a variety of other things, including ice (a large bag costs $3 - perfect for the hike up), souvenirs, cold drinks, and limited hiking supplies. We were able to send our families in Canada postcards from the bottom for less than $2. Definitely worth it for the "Carried out by mule" stamp.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank accm1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    53
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Phantom Ranch”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Less than 1% of the visitors at the Grand Canyon make it down to the Phantom Ranch. It is a quiet picturesque place and worth the exhausting trip. The food at the Phantom Ranch was exceptional and better than expected. Maybe it was from all the energy and exhaustion but the food quality and service were fantastic!
I will certainly return to the Ranch when I visit the canyon again! I highly recommend hiking or taking the mule ride down the Bright
Angel trail to the Phantom Ranch if you are in good physical shape.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Londabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui, hi
Level Contributor
114 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“We hiked through and it wasn't what we expected.”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We were happy there was water here each day we hiked through (we were told there would not be any water there). This is a very simple place. I guess I had something different in my mind after hearing so much about it. We did not stay there so I guess our review is based on what we saw while using their bathrooms and filling our water. It is probably perfect for those who don't want to do rim to rim in a day or would like to spend time exploring the bottom of the canyon. All in all the area is spectacular.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank scubamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, AZ, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“At the Sign of the Prancing Pony”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Hey, you are at the bottom of the Grand Canyon and you walked here, or rode a mule, or floated the mighty Colorado. How can this be anything but GREAT. It is like a busy traveler's pub in the Fellowship of the Ring. Who cares what the food is like (it is great)? Who cares what the service is like (it is great, and the servers walked here, too). And there is usually a guitar in the room. Kick back. Aragorn could be watching for you.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“dinning at Phantom Ranch”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

After hiking down we were dirty very tired and hungry. The hikers stew and salad that we had was really good. It was nice to sit with other hikers and compare stories. The big breakfast we had in the morning was everything you could want.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phantom Ranch also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Phantom Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing