We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, nothing exceptional”

Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Okay, nothing exceptional”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Our food was okay and the prices were about what you would expect at the Grand Canyon. What more is there to say?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TxMelindaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    99
    76
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We ate breakfast and sat on a picnic table just outside the restaurant. It takes a little time to get your food, but it was not expensive and the food was good, better than fast food. The gift shop adjacent to the restaurant is a good place to shop for souvenirs. We tried the Fry Bread (Native American fried dough) it was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenBKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The food there was amazing”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice little store. Would get the sandwiches there before any place else. Interesting menu and little trinkets to purchase as you wait for you sandwich

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is one of the view points that is definitely worth stopping at, the scenery from the top of the tower is amazing and you get really good panoramic views. A nice shop and cafe are here with good overall facilities.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooners014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to have something to eat as you explore Desert View”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We drove the East Rim road to see as much of the Grand Canyon as possible. We stopped here to see Desert View and wandered into the Trading Post because we were starving. Given the location there was a good range of food and snacks. We both had a hot dog and they were very good, we also had a choc chip cookie and that was very very good. The soda is refillable across all sites so was very good value. The staff, who were all very friendly, made a point of telling us this. We much preferred this end of the Canyon and came back to watch the sunset. We went back into the Trading Post for a sandwich and another cookie, refilled our drink and sat on the rocks watching the sun go down with our makeshift picnic - perfect!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jod65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria also viewed

 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing