We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice spot”

Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria
Price range: $2 - $5
Restaurant details
Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“nice spot”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

nice spot for viewing point especally wth kids. We got hot chocolate and snacks here and it was a nice gift shop.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank EMurphyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    100
    77
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Given it was raining, overcrowded and there were building works going on an "OK" rating is probably pretty good.
Should be a lot better when the builders ahve finished.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank SEQldMalleeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This is the only 'restaurant' at the desert view point. I would strongly recommend you to eithet bring food or go to the general store. The servants were actually throwing the just prepared and wrapped burgers to each other. The burger itself was disgusting. Dry bread, undercooked meat, no greens or sauce. Don't go there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onderweggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanterra, Retail Director at Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Onderweggg,

Thank you for your review advising us of your recent dining experience at the Grand Canyon’s Desert View Trading Post. Comments from visitors assist us in monitoring the levels of service we provide here at the Grand Canyon.

The poor service and food quality you received during your visit was unfortunate and not consistent with the level of service we provide. We agree your experience could have been prevented with better attention to detail and service. We pride ourselves on enhancing the customer experience and apologize for failing to deliver. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences this caused, and be assured I have shared your observations with our management staff for their review.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope you will visit us again at the Grand Canyon.

Mike Freeman
Retail Director
Xanterra Parks & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location, very basic food”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The cafeteria is very small and basic. The service wasn't overly friendly but hurried the day we ate there.
There's not much choice of food : precooked hamburgers, cheeseburgers and hot-dogs. But there is a cooked to order Indian fried bread with salad, meat, tomatoes and onions topping. This was very simple but good.
The outside sitting area is huge with nice views but the inside sitting area is very small. That was a problem since it was freezing outside but we were able to sit down inside. There are only a few benches and tables but a great view on the watch tower.
The location is convenient. We were ending our visit to the Grand Canyon and continuing toward Page. Good thing we ate here since there is nothing for many miles after as all the stands along the road were closed in October.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Basic, but location is everything in this case.
Cheap,friendly people, and a nice souvenir shop.
You won't forget this place when it's the first time you see the GC.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zetep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria also viewed

 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Desert View Trading Post Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing