We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Mountain Star gets 5 stars!”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the kitchen!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the kitchen!
Surrounded by elk grass and open space and facing a glorious mountain view. Unsurpassed views!  (Backside of The Mountain Star is at right)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
View from the kitchen!
Surrounded by elk grass and open space and facing a glorious mountain view.
Unsurpassed views!  (Backside of The Mountain Star is at right)
Early Winter
Spacious 2nd story, wrap-around viewing deck
Living Room ceiling, operable skylight and the music and exercize loft
Fully equipped kitchen with hand made, wrap-around maple bar with bar stools.
The kitchen bar
The Mountain Master
The Mountain Master
The Mountain Master
Large soaking tub with forest view in Mountain Master
The Sunset Master
Sunset Master
Sunset Master desk
The cozy Peak Room
Let your inner drummer and quitarist loose! Note: the congas are no longer available.
Elliptical x-trainer in the exercise/music loft
The craft corner
Firepit with a view!
Picnic table on front deck
Bistro with a view!
Beautiful skies are common
Life on this elevated deck is nothing short of wonderful!
The Milky Way and The Mountain Star - shot taken by visiting guest
The Milky Way from the front deck - shot taken by visting guest
The San Francisco Peaks with star trails taken from the deck by visiting guest
Library, sound system and board games
The main living area facing east
Enjoy a campfire in front of the mountain!  Wood is provided!
Main living Area
Main living area
The west deck
An Elk bull visiting the front yard
A great day to ski out and ski in
Bull Elk grazing out front
Panoramic views and wide-open spaces
The Mountain Star Shipwheel to help you set your course to adventure! :)
Late summer evening
A light snow cover day
A great day to ski out and ski in
Wintery Skies
Birds love the deck feeder.
A mountain bluebird graces the deck railing
Moonset over Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck
Moonrise over Saddle Mountain taken from east deck
The incredible night sky.  A 3-second exposure at 1am taken from south deck.
Lots of open land around the Mountain Star
Beautiful sunrises and sunsets are common - taken from south deck
Panstarrs Comet and Crescent Moonset - taken from west deck!
Panstarss Comet setting over northern ridge of Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck!
Crescent moon setting over northern ridge of Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck!
X-country skiing at your front door
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
Nearby aspen forest in winter
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tina C
1 review
“The Mountain Star gets 5 stars!”
Reviewed February 2, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Mountain Star was the perfect landing spot for our family of five! Close to Grand Canyon National Park and other natural attractions, the house was our home away from home. Rob, the property owner, was the perfect host – forgetting no detail and leaving no comfort unfulfilled. Best of all were views at The Mountain Star, particularly spectacular at sunrise and sunset, maybe only to be outdone by the magnificent night skies. We loved that the house is solar and wind powered too! We couldn’t have been happier with our stay there – unless it was longer.

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela S...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent Mountain Star”
Reviewed December 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Mountain Star was an amazing place . We truly enjoyed Rob's hospitality and help with planning our itinerary! It was spectacular inside and out!! We give it five stars!
My husband wants to look for land near this beautiful spot!

Thanks so very much Rob!!

Pam and Dave Miller

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cj0623
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Had a great time, perfect for my family of five. My son loved the drum set! Beautiful views, cozy and comfortable, would recommend.

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mountain Star Rocks!”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We travelled to the Grand Canyon area to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. From day one when we first started considering Mountain Star, the owner (Rob) has been the most responsive and prompt home owner we have ever worked with! All of our inquiries were responded to within 24 hours or less. Once we booked the Mountain Star, Rob sent us a great deal of information about the home and the multitude of activities that are nearby - and there are a lot! With his advice and the help from his activities/hiking guides that are provided, we visited amazing places at the Grand Canyon that had an unexpected level of privacy. We also experienced a beautiful scenic drive through Oak Canyon and Sedona. Additionally, we were able to visit places like the Lava River Cave and the Red Mountain (do not miss this!) that we weren't even aware of before we received the guides.

We arrived at the Mountain Star after a 2 day drive and Rob was there to meet us in person to walk through all of the amenities of the house, which was much appreciated. At the beginning of our stay, Rob provided us a weather forecast for our entire stay, specific to the elevation of Mountain Star. He also went above and beyond by texting us later in the week when the forecast changed and high winds were predicted to make sure we were aware and safe.

The mountain view from the house does not disappoint! Having a fire on the deck and being able to take in the stars (minus any light pollution) was beautiful! The house was well-appointed and very comfortable.

We can't think of a better place to have celebrated our 10 years together! Thanks, Rob!

I would like to note that this review is my husband's and my honest opinion of our stay and that no compensation has been provided for this review.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kearnsjpk
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location near the Grand Canyon with a very supportive home owner”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We’ve rented many homes but with the Mountain Star, Rob was the most helpful and supportive owner we have dealt with. From all of the detailed input to our plans as well as the comprehensive hiking information, Rob helped make our stay very comfortable and relaxing, knowing we had a resource to count on in unfamiliar territory. Mountain Star was like a home away from home, offering everything we needed and being a great hub for hikes, trips to the Grand Canyon, Sedona, and Page/Lake Powell. For those reasons, we would highly recommend Mountain Star to other visitors.

Date of stay: October 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect cabin for day trips to Grand Canyon and Sedona”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Rob, owner, is the real deal! He met us at the Cabin and spent an hour going over all the details with us, including his favorite off the beaten path hikes. His guidance was spot on and helped us avoid crowds and touristy spots. We can't thank him enough for helping us plan our perfect days to Grand Canyon, Sedona, and Flagstaff.

The cabin was so comfortable and had such a wonderful homey feel to it. We sure enjoyed the stocked kitchen and plentiful cut up wood for our fires on the deck. The night star gazing did not disappoint.

We hope to be back.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliza B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic vacation!”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Mountain Star for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time! We visited the Grand Canyon and Sedona and were glad the Mountain Star was waiting for us nearby when we were ready to rest. We could have spent our whole vacation in this house! There are many attractions very close by, which the owner (Rob) details in his guidebooks available in the Mountain Star. Rob has fantastic inside information on all the best attractions in the area, so be sure to ask him any questions you may have about the area. Very comfortable, bright light, great scenery out any window. Everything you need while on your Arizona vacation is waiting for you at the Mountain Star! We certainly will return again and again!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing