We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Mountain Views, Re-engage with Nature”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the kitchen!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the kitchen!
Surrounded by elk grass and open space and facing a glorious mountain view. Unsurpassed views!  (Backside of The Mountain Star is at right)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
View from the kitchen!
Surrounded by elk grass and open space and facing a glorious mountain view.
Unsurpassed views!  (Backside of The Mountain Star is at right)
Early Winter
Spacious 2nd story, wrap-around viewing deck
Living Room ceiling, operable skylight and the music and exercize loft
Fully equipped kitchen with hand made, wrap-around maple bar with bar stools.
The kitchen bar
The Mountain Master
The Mountain Master
The Mountain Master
Large soaking tub with forest view in Mountain Master
The Sunset Master
Sunset Master
Sunset Master desk
The cozy Peak Room
Let your inner drummer and quitarist loose! Note: the congas are no longer available.
Elliptical x-trainer in the exercise/music loft
The craft corner
Firepit with a view!
Picnic table on front deck
Bistro with a view!
Beautiful skies are common
Life on this elevated deck is nothing short of wonderful!
The Milky Way and The Mountain Star - shot taken by visiting guest
The Milky Way from the front deck - shot taken by visting guest
The San Francisco Peaks with star trails taken from the deck by visiting guest
Library, sound system and board games
The main living area facing east
Enjoy a campfire in front of the mountain!  Wood is provided!
Main living Area
Main living area
The west deck
An Elk bull visiting the front yard
A great day to ski out and ski in
Bull Elk grazing out front
Panoramic views and wide-open spaces
The Mountain Star Shipwheel to help you set your course to adventure! :)
Late summer evening
A light snow cover day
A great day to ski out and ski in
Wintery Skies
Birds love the deck feeder.
A mountain bluebird graces the deck railing
Moonset over Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck
Moonrise over Saddle Mountain taken from east deck
The incredible night sky.  A 3-second exposure at 1am taken from south deck.
Lots of open land around the Mountain Star
Beautiful sunrises and sunsets are common - taken from south deck
Panstarrs Comet and Crescent Moonset - taken from west deck!
Panstarss Comet setting over northern ridge of Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck!
Crescent moon setting over northern ridge of Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck!
X-country skiing at your front door
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
Nearby aspen forest in winter
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
flamingo4...
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Mountain Views, Re-engage with Nature”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family recently stayed at the Mountain Star. What can I say? It was perfect. Rob the owner is a wealth of information and the cabin is perfect with just the right mix of home, whimsy and nature. The cabin is a bit off the grid which is a heaven sent gift.

It is everything excellent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea Su...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and comfortable, and close enough to many hiking trails and sights.”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay here. Rob had thorough directions and instructions at the house. We also took his advice of favorite excursions, and we loved them. The Grand Canyon is not too far away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPatel602
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restful Magical Escape”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our thanks to Rob and the Mountain Star. My family had a magical two nights at the Star that allowed us to regain focus and get grounded about what is important. Such amazing views and whimsical wildlife. Our kids had a momment to slow down from their technology filled lives. They continue to talk about how great the views were, how the family stayed up late to watch the stars, how we played board games and the conversations and laughs we had. We are grateful to have had this opportunity to relax and enjoy the time at such a great property. The Mountain Star is self-sufficient and this allowed my wife and I the opportunity to teach the kids about sustainability and resource management. All around a great trip...we're already planning our next one to The Mountain Star. Rob, thank you again for the service and hospitality. -RP

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings, inside and out!”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Mountain Star was exactly what our family desired--mountain views, cool weather, space for everyone, secluded, and within driving distance of the Grand Canyon. Quickly after booking, the owner, Rob, contacted me with pertinent information as well as very useful and helpful information regarding the area. This personalized care extended into our arrival and afterwards! His local advice on how to experience a great view of the Grand Canyon was greatly appreciated by our family. And the thoughtfulness of the many amenities that were provided in the home showed that he was aware of what a family of young children would desire. Board games, various books, a drum set, guitar, and a drawing room were just a few of the ways our children were able to explore and entertain themselves. They had never experienced a loft area nor the ability to freely play a drum set and guitar. Everyone in the family was enthralled with the telescope provided and especially enjoyed looking at the moon with it.

We hope that many other families enjoy their stay at The Mountain Star as much as we did. :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir1
Troms, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Rob's house is really a gem. Our family of six adults stayed for 2 nights while visiting the Grand Canyon. The house is spacious and fully equipped,so we never lacked a thing.
Rob himself is a great host. He gave us some great ideas about where to go for our trip to The Grand Canyon.
Would really recommend staying in Rob's house, The Mountainstar.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AERJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best family vacation ever! Great place in and of itself and great home base for exploring the area.”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is within easy access from Flagstaff and in close proximity to so many activities, including for families. The house itself is spacious and well-appointed while being so comfortable you'll feel right at home. The setting couldn't be better with fabulous views of the mountains. We missed a booking opportunity last year while doing our research in late December. Within days it was already taken and for good reason. This year we booked early and are so glad we did. The owner has anticipated what most people might need and then so much more. His tips, maps, and thorough instructions helped to make our vacation relaxing while making the most of our time here. The house itself boasts essentially anything you might need/want: quality knives (a rare find in a rental property in my experience), a kitchen a cook appreciates, comforts (extra throw blankets, extra paper goods), art/craft area with supplies, board games, a wide variety of books, and outdoor gear (flashlights, backpacks, hiking poles). The bonus area with musical instruments was also a high point for our kids. They loved it and told us they want to live there. Last, the owner's attention to detail also helps smooth both arrival and departure making for such easy transitions. Great, great stay. Book early!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lokibarne...
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Mountain Star is an amazing place with spectacular views all around. The house is very thoughtfully designed and totally relaxing. Although you could just spend all your time here, it is conveniently located close to the Grand Canyon South Rim, Sedona, Sunset Crater and Wupatki National Monument. A wildfire while we visited closed Highway 180 which increased travel time to the Grand Canyon, but seeing the mountain on fire and the firefighting activities was fascinating and did not disturb the tranquility of this special place. The night sky was more beautiful than any place I have ever been. We spent 3 weeks touring the southwest and this was our favorite of all the places we stayed. Thanks Rob for sharing your house; hopefully we can visit again sometime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing