We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't ask for anything more”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the kitchen!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the kitchen!
Surrounded by elk grass and open space and facing a glorious mountain view. Unsurpassed views!  (Backside of The Mountain Star is at right)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
View from the kitchen!
Surrounded by elk grass and open space and facing a glorious mountain view.
Unsurpassed views!  (Backside of The Mountain Star is at right)
Early Winter
Spacious 2nd story, wrap-around viewing deck
Living Room ceiling, operable skylight and the music and exercize loft
Fully equipped kitchen with hand made, wrap-around maple bar with bar stools.
The kitchen bar
The Mountain Master
The Mountain Master
The Mountain Master
Large soaking tub with forest view in Mountain Master
The Sunset Master
Sunset Master
Sunset Master desk
The cozy Peak Room
Let your inner drummer and quitarist loose! Note: the congas are no longer available.
Elliptical x-trainer in the exercise/music loft
The craft corner
Firepit with a view!
Picnic table on front deck
Bistro with a view!
Beautiful skies are common
Life on this elevated deck is nothing short of wonderful!
The Milky Way and The Mountain Star - shot taken by visiting guest
The Milky Way from the front deck - shot taken by visting guest
The San Francisco Peaks with star trails taken from the deck by visiting guest
Library, sound system and board games
The main living area facing east
Enjoy a campfire in front of the mountain!  Wood is provided!
Main living Area
Main living area
The west deck
An Elk bull visiting the front yard
A great day to ski out and ski in
Bull Elk grazing out front
Panoramic views and wide-open spaces
The Mountain Star Shipwheel to help you set your course to adventure! :)
Late summer evening
A light snow cover day
A great day to ski out and ski in
Wintery Skies
Birds love the deck feeder.
A mountain bluebird graces the deck railing
Moonset over Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck
Moonrise over Saddle Mountain taken from east deck
The incredible night sky.  A 3-second exposure at 1am taken from south deck.
Lots of open land around the Mountain Star
Beautiful sunrises and sunsets are common - taken from south deck
Panstarrs Comet and Crescent Moonset - taken from west deck!
Panstarss Comet setting over northern ridge of Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck!
Crescent moon setting over northern ridge of Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck!
X-country skiing at your front door
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
Nearby aspen forest in winter
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mr Ian T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Couldn't ask for anything more”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

After a long flight and 5 hour car journey we were greeted with relaxing music and warm welcome messages. Rob made sure our stay is as comfortable as possible and provided lots of extras with thought and consideration. The view from the sitting room and kitchen was an amazing sight each day and we couldn't take enough photos, particularly when the sun was rising and setting and the moon and stars at night. Its a great central position particularly for the grand canyon, words cannot express how amazing that was, and we packed in a lot of hiking, thanks to Rob for providing us with excellent maps and information,as to where to go and what to do. We had such a good time, Rob provided a great insider knowledge to the area and we had a better holiday for it. I would highly recommend The Mountain Star, it was our best holiday by far!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning. Will definitely be back!”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Mountain Star has a certain magic to it that words can't justify. From the drive to the property offering small hints of what the local area will unfold in the coming days, to the ambience of the music and lighting greeting you as you enter The Mountain Star's doors - this is a property that ticks the boxes for every type of traveler.

Rob was an amazing host, with every detail positioned with thought and purpose. The home was inviting, the backdrop stunning - a true treasure.

We will be back, but next time we will spend at least 1 week.

Thank you Rob :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to get away”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The rental was fantastic. It's perfectly located 30 min from Flagstaff, and about an hour from the South Rim of the Canyon. Rob was super professional throughout, and just a genuinely nice guy, who seemed engaged in making sure you had a good experience. The location is gorgeous, quiet, and comfortable. It was great for an outside campfire, and coming in from the cold to relax, put some tunes on (the whole house has speakers) and enjoy some solitude.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We just came home after a week spent at the Mountain Star. The location is simply superb. The welcome from Rob was great, with perfect suggestions. The house has everything you need. Open space with mountain view for amazing sceneries with beautiful sunrises and sunsets. We were 50 miles from the Grand Canyon and 40 miles from Sedona with many options as far as trails and nature discoveries. Rob has a wealth of knowledge and a real passion for the Mountain as for sharing. He is great guy with a wonderful place. If you are looking for a place to find your inner peace, that's Mountain Star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jl2112rus...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Mi casa es su casa”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Awesome experience, from the start Rob made us feel at home. "Mi casa es su casa" my parents won't forget his greetings. Beautiful cabin with views from all angles, from music instruments to movies. Comfortable beds and really cozy. We'll definitely be back. feel fee to ask rob for any tips on fun things to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando P
1 review
“Escape to paradise”
Reviewed January 25, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What can I say about this amazing place? You will love this cabin and the scenery it comes with. For those of you coming from big cities, the clarity of the night sky will blow you away. On clear nights, you will be able to see every possible star you can imagine. The location is great. Isolated enough to escape the day to day hectic life, but close enough to places where you can get food and groceries. It has rooms and themes for all ages and styles. I mean rob even has a drum set in this place! It's awesome. And speaking of Rob, you will never find a more accommodating owner. He walks you through everything. Andddd unlike many of the other cabins I've ever stayed in, you can always contact him with questions throughout your stay. We got unexpected snow (lots of it) and Rob actually came out to plow the driveway. I mean seriously? Where in the world do you ever see that. Nonetheless, I loved our stay here and it was that much more special because I proposed to my girlfriend while vacationing in the beautiful home away from home. I will never forget this experience! Thanks again Rob, you're the man!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet F
United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful house”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a great stay! Family of 4 with two teens. Could not have been more perfect in setting.attention to detail and amenities. Sunrise and sunset in this wonderful setting and then off to the Grand Canyon for each day. We will be coming back soon and telling all of our friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing